The Third Option

Mitch Rapp Series
Narrated by: Nick Sullivan
Series: Mitch Rapp, Book 4
Length: 11 hrs and 45 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (9,145 ratings)

Audible membership

$14.95 a month

Free with a 30-day trial
1 audiobook of your choice.
A monthly selection of Audible Originals.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.30

Buy for $28.30

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

CIA counterterrorism operative Mitch Rapp falls prey to government forces with an agenda of their own after Dr. Irene Kennedy is named the successor to dying CIA Director Thomas Stansfield—a choice that enrages many inside the world’s most powerful intelligence agency. Her detractors will resort to extreme measures to prevent her from taking the reins—which makes Rapp an expendable asset. But Mitch Rapp is no one’s pawn, and he will stop at nothing to find out who has set him up.

Hear Mitch Rapp, the CIA's top operative, battle global terrorism in more of Vince Flynn's political thrillers.
©2011 Vince Flynn (P)2011 Simon & Schuster

Critic Reviews

"Flynn hits his stride in this thriller about high-end Washington politics...[he] has an exciting, Ludlum-like series going here." ( Booklist)
"Flynn's latest thriller...is an old-school spy story...updated with heavy helpings of international intrigue and domestic politicking and betrayal." ( Library Journal)
"Fans of Ludlum and Clancy will want to check it out.' ( Pioneer Press)

What listeners say about The Third Option

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6,090
  • 4 Stars
    2,384
  • 3 Stars
    543
  • 2 Stars
    80
  • 1 Stars
    48
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5,112
  • 4 Stars
    2,071
  • 3 Stars
    664
  • 2 Stars
    182
  • 1 Stars
    108
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5,461
  • 4 Stars
    2,043
  • 3 Stars
    494
  • 2 Stars
    74
  • 1 Stars
    28

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

If it had an ending, I'd give it a 5.

I can't get enough of the Mitch Rapp series, and this is no exception. My only complaint is that I could not believe this installment ended when it did. I was convinced that I failed to download a segment. Alas, the narrative was at an end. Fortunately, I have already downloaded Vince Flynn's next book. Great series Mr. Flynn!

30 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great novel nearly ruined by the reader.

Would you listen to The Third Option again? Why?

Yes.

What didn’t you like about Nick Sullivan’s performance?

He sounded like he was narrating a science text book.

Any additional comments?

Vincent Flynn novels not read by George Guidall should be re-recorded by George Guidall.

45 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

why no ending???????????????????

book was great all the way to the non ending. left a big hole, felt like a jigsaw puzzle with the last piece missing.

28 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Please put a hit out on Anna Rielly

Ok, Mitch Rapp has an attempted hit on him again, so one would think circling the wagons and keeping quiet would be in order, right?
Not if you're Anna, Mitch's girlfriend. Considering he's a top-secret "spook", she sure loves to let people in on the secret. What an idiotic milksop. I was getting ready for her to give out various aliases of Mitch on her live TV broadcast. Better yet, why doesn't she put a marquee out on the White House's front lawn that says,"I'm Mitch Rapp's girlfriend. Please come make me a hostage or just kill me.Oh, by the way, Mitch lives [here]."
Spoiler:
Excluding Mitch's girlfriend, this book was much better than the last one. Losing THE CIA Director was hard. He will be greatly missed
I also enjoyed "The Frog." He was a great wiley character and I hope we see a beautiful Mossad agent again. Hey, we could get lucky. Maybe Mitch will leave Anna for her.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

"Non" Ending and Basic Pronunciation Errors

First, the pros. The story is good and the character development is what you'd expect from the series. Listening to the book is helpful if you want to follow the Rapp story arc sequentially. Now the cons. The book ends with no resolution, which is very unsatisfying. Had I not read other reviews before listening, I would have been certain that it was a download error.

Nick Sullivan's voice is fine; it's what he does with it that had me wanting to correct him in my head. For example, the character Anna Reilly comes from a family of Chicago cops. Is it at all reasonable to think it would be pronounced "Reelee"? Flynn writes the name Reilly countless times in the book, and every time Sullivan mispronounced it it was like nails across a chalkboard in my skull. I thought it was ridiculous that he kept pronouncing McLean, Virginia as "Macleen," but that only comes up a few times in the book. You'd think the production team would at least get the pronunciation of the main ensemble's names right.

The problem with those type of "unforced errors" is that they take the reader out of the story, dampening the fun of escaping into the author's world.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book but rough performance at times

I've read the entire series before and as always I enjoyed this book. I struggled with the narration. The fake voices were unnecessary and the mispronouncing of extremely common names became grating. That being said I enjoyed the story but I won't listen to another book narrated by Mr. Sullivan.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Bad Third Option...

I have really enjoyed Mitch Rapp until this book. The reader was very disappointing and I found Flynn's writing on this one to be absolutely sub-standard, bad grammar, repetitive and predictable.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Third Option

Started off a bit slow but I couldn't stop listening by the time I hit the chapters in the late-teens. The ending is phenomenal!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • RB
  • 03-14-12

Very Poor Narrator, but the Story was Decent

Is there anything you would change about this book?

I wish the motives of the

Who would you have cast as narrator instead of Nick Sullivan?

Anyone else. He has a really amateurish style and is quite stilted at times.

If this book were a movie would you go see it?

Maybe

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

no part 3???!!

There must be a part 3 somewhere. It couldn't possibly end at the end of part 2. What gives, Audible?

10 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for George A Bear
  • George A Bear
  • 01-07-16

The Third Option

I read this book back in the early 2000's and enjoyed it then. I have just purchased the audio version and have again found the characters engaging, the story intriguing and the political infighting very disturbing!

If you are new to Vince Flynn read the books in order. He is a writer who will be missed.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for B
  • B
  • 06-19-15

Thoroughly entertaining

Loved this book. Clever "political" thriller revolving around the secretive world of the CIA and the protection of "the Land of The Free". While dirty deeds and treachery are the corner stones of the "Intelligence" world there is a clear distinction made between the " baddies and the good guys" . A thoroughly entertaining yarn not as cerebrally challenging as a John le Carre but more substantial, believable and rewarding than a typical James Bond.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for gunner548
  • gunner548
  • 01-30-15

Not bad!

A little too intricate in the upper levels of Washington and not enough Mitch Rapp action! Still a good story though!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lotus
  • Lotus
  • 03-11-13

Another great Mitch adventure

Another fast pace adventure for Mitch, found myself driving the long way home just to be in the car longer.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Churchill1940
  • Churchill1940
  • 07-10-20

Another outstanding novel by Vince Flynn

Reading the majority of the series I returned to an early book. Sullivan does not compare to George Guidall one of the best narrators. The story impeccable. A must read filled with amazing intrigue.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for David Smith
  • David Smith
  • 01-18-20

I have fallen in love with this series

The Characters and story line are fantastic, so much so you are really captured and taken into the world.

You need to start from Book one really and it is so good You won't be disappointed.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-21-18

A very good listen

I love these type of reads and Mitch Rapp is up with best of them

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paul Y.
  • Paul Y.
  • 08-25-17

another fantastic book by Vince Flynn

I am totally engrossed in these stories and Mitch Rapp is the ultimate warrior and is a fantastic character. can't wait to start the next book as this was left on a cliff hanger