• The Stolen Boys

  • Jackman & Evans, Book 5
  • By: Joy Ellis
  • Narrated by: Richard Armitage
  • Length: 11 hrs and 29 mins
  • 4.7 out of 5 stars (6,169 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Stolen Boys  By  cover art

The Stolen Boys

By: Joy Ellis
Narrated by: Richard Armitage
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $16.35

Buy for $16.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

From number-one best-selling author Joy Ellis, a totally absorbing mystery full of stunning twists and turns. Discover the author everyone’s talking about. 

A mystery which will captivate you till the stunning ending.

A crime wave has hit town. The target is a highly sought-after brand of streetwear called Hybird X, clothing that costs a fortune and resells for unbelievable prices. Houses are burgled, kids mugged on the streets...and finally a young man dies, all for the sake of his shoes. 

Then another boy’s body is found in a pile of rubbish. Meanwhile illegal steroids are flooding the streets. And there are dark movements on the marshes. 

Clothes that people will kill to own.

A shadowy figure called Darke and his teams of young criminals seem to be behind it all. 

Detectives Jackman and Evans must take on a fiendish criminal, while still haunted by Alistair Ashcroft, the serial killer they never caught. 

Who is Darke and what does he really want?

Full of twists and turns, this is a crime thriller that will grip you until the shocking ending. Set in the atmospheric Lincolnshire Fens whose towns and isolated villages hide many dark secrets. 

Perfect for fans of Rachel Abbott, Sarah A. Denzil, Robert Bryndza, Mel Sherratt, Angela Marsons, Colin Dexter and Ruth Rendell. 

The detectives.

DI Jackman leads the investigation. He is extremely smart and has a knack for bringing out the best in his diverse team. DS Marie Evans is haunted by the loss of her husband in a motorbike accident. She is fiercely loyal to her friends and colleagues. 

©2018 Joy Ellis (P)2019 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Stolen Boys

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,612
  • 4 Stars
    1,242
  • 3 Stars
    251
  • 2 Stars
    47
  • 1 Stars
    17
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,912
  • 4 Stars
    707
  • 3 Stars
    100
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4,162
  • 4 Stars
    1,177
  • 3 Stars
    281
  • 2 Stars
    71
  • 1 Stars
    19

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Join the fan club!

I think that I was a little bit sceptical about this books premise, so I didn't exactly jump on it when it first came out, a week or so ago... But ever since then, it's been calling to me by My First Name. Who was I kidding?!?? It's a Joy Ellis novel, and a DI Jackman/DS Evan's police procedural thriller!!
I already knew how much I enjoyed Ellis' twisty, plot driven writing, and I'd already fast-tracked her to the top, as one my favorite mystery authors! Another plus? I love all the characters so much so that I almost feel like we're old friends! True to form Audible chose Richard Armitage to tell us this story, and I Looooove Richard Armitage voice acting, he's just a master at his craft, and as far as I'm concerned he is DI Jackman! (It's such a good partnership, Ellis and Armitage). So inspite of any misgivings, I had about the blurb, I took the plunge, and got it! Upon "opening" the audio book, I immediately felt as if I were being embraced by Richard Armitage's warm voice, and I was welcomed back by this close knit group of investigators, like a family member, or at least a close friend, whose always invited to ride along! I Loved, the Book! This story, takes off right where the last book ends, where the team is still feeling the effects of not quite being able to collar the slippery perp, and in fact I think that Ellis may actually be grooming us to accept that character as a Moriarty type arch-villian. There's also plenty of other cases to keep them busy, and us guessing. So grab the Audio book and see if you don't become a member of the Ellis/Armitage fan club! Lol

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

better and better

this series just keeps getting better and better...eventually careening to the scorching end with Jackman and Evan's getting what they came here for. With Marie exiting on her bike with Jackman riding behind her, arms wrapped around her waist. together, safe, loved and at ease. cant wait for the next book. Well done Ms. Ellis!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Underdeveloped

I like Joy Ellis. I find her writing light, but entertaining. This one was very disappointing. Characters were not developed, story was not developed.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

95%

Good story, but next time pls put longer gaps between sections. It's confusing sometimes when the story jumps do fast between characters.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love Richard Armitage narration

Stolen Boys is an excellent story kept me captivated. Love the Jackman and Evens books,

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

OMBRE of Misappropration

Joy Ellis's storytelling combines real world issues with the human condition. The gluttony of a material item ,and the wide range symbol given to it by the privilege and the forgotten poor is clearly depicted. The story reminds the reader of the classic tale with a twist. Unfortunately , real life events(in the US with the M.Jordan shoes) show unhealthy need for these items to give relevance(rather than profit).This story is more than the act of thievery. It paints a picture of child abuse, loneliness, and strife. All results in a stolen childhood, peace, love, and trust. The characters are well develop and show an aspect of life's stolen moments and chances. The what-ifs verses the what-is. The description of the police work and camaraderie between colleagues is well written. The debauchery of the villain is clearly written, and generated a genuine disgust. The insight to the mind of each character is interesting . Love the Jackman and Evans relationship. Of course, I would like more but that is my crazy world. Richard Armitage's (aka Jackman)voices are so well done. He is a master.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story!

I had one problem with the story, and it was the editing. A scene was often changed with new characters without a pause. It was a little confusing.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Cripping

As always incredible narration from Richard Armitage. can't wait for the next installment of Jackman and Evans.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Taking the Clothes off Their Backs

Wow! This one is different, scary and wild. Book five in the Jackman and Evans series makes you think about what young people find valuable and what they will do to get their hands on it. I listened in amazement at The Stolen Boys. Several things were going on, designer clothing that rich kids (and some adults) were willing to maim and kill for, illegal steroids on the streets, and Alistair Ashcroft, the serial killer still on the loose. Another interesting bit was DS Vic Blackwell joining the same station where Jackman and Evans work, and the tense past that Marie Evans had with him. As always, Joy Ellis did a great job with this book, no overt sexual scenes or language, while still keeping you on the edge of your seat, and all the characters I’ve come to love. And the ending, Wow, AGAIN! Don’t miss this one!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Yep They Did It Again

Another brilliant story by Joy Ellis brought to life by the incomparable Richard Armitage. I loved getting reacquainted with these amazing cast of characters. This collaboration of Ellis and Armitage has become one of my favorites. I'll be counting the days until the next.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

3 people found this helpful