The Secret Keepers

Narrated by: Cameron Brown
Length: 15 hrs and 45 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (398 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

Acclaimed New York Times best-selling author and E. B. White Read Aloud Award winner Trenton Lee Stewart returns with a captivating, heart-stopping adventure about thrilling secrets and dangerous mysteries - and the courage to reveal the most frightening of truths.

Eleven-year-old Reuben spends his days exploring, hiding, and practicing parkour among the abandoned buildings of the Lower Downs as a way to escape the rough times that have befallen him and his mom - but his discovery of an extraordinary antique pocket watch changes everything. When Reuben finds that the watch has the power to turn him invisible, he's propelled on the adventure of a lifetime.

Now Reuben is being pursued by a group of dangerous men called the Directions, and someone - or something - ominously called The Smoke. They all want the watch, and with the help of new friends it's up to Reuben to unravel the mysteries surrounding it and protect the city from evil.

New York Times best-selling author Trenton Lee Stewart's latest novel will enthrall old and new fans alike with the twists and turns of an inventive and compelling adventure reminiscent of The Mysterious Benedict Society series.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2016 Trenton Lee Stewart (P)2016 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Real flashlight under the bedclothes material...this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes." ( Horn Book)
"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears." ( Booklist)
"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure." ( School Library Journal)
"Cameron Brown's narration enhances the story's atmosphere. He employs clear enunciation and expert pacing to immerse the listener in Reuben's mind as he puzzles his way through the mystery. Brown's performance will engage young listeners who enjoy being on tenterhooks and feeling deliciously scared as they inhabit a dark world. He uses inflection to give unique voices to the many characters. Mrs. Genevieve, Reuben's moral compass, is especially well voiced with an appropriately foreign but grandmotherly accent." ( AudioFile)

What listeners say about The Secret Keepers

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    271
  • 4 Stars
    82
  • 3 Stars
    28
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    253
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    249
  • 4 Stars
    61
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book—BEST narrator!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I have read Trenton Stewart's other books to my 8 and 11 year old boys and enjoyed them. However, I think the Secret Keepers may be our new favorite. The story is great, but really the narrator is amazing. Probably the best reader I've heard on an audio book for the kiddos. Definitely holds your attention through a long and complex story. Great voices, great suspense. Definitely recommend!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read for the whole family

Our family enjoyed listening to this book together on a recent vacation.
The story is creative and suspenseful. it made us laugh and made us think.
Would recommend this book for kids around 10 years old.
Trenton Lee Stewart is an excellent author.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

loved the story

It took me a while to get used to the narrator's voice, but such it is with audio books! Trenton Lee Stewart is a favorite author of mine (Mysterious Benedict Society), and this story did not disappoint.
I appreciate his use of adults as being important to children and adults as allies. Yes, some adults were "bad" and untrustworthy, but it is clear. I like Jack. He represents so many of us.... do you do something "wrong" for a greater good? Sometimes, yes. Anyway, it was a great story and I really liked how Mr. Stewart wrapped it up. He didn't leave us wondering how on earth life would go on after the primary conflict was solved. Reuben is a sweet, mostly believable, kid. I can think of at least one "tween" who could do what he did!! Well done, Trenton Lee Stewart and Cameron Brown!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Long drawn out story

My kid enjoyed this book but man it took forever to get through. Very long and drawn out.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

It

Is aweso.e I love it please make a nother pls pls pls it would be coo?

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Hopefully there’s a book 2 coming! My whole family enjoyed it. The narrator was wonderful.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good, but...

We absolutely loved the Mysterious Benedict Society, and the rest of the books in that series. Therefore, it was natural to get this, too. While it was enjoyable, in paled in comparison to the others, unfortunately.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

absolutely fun!

I enjoyed this book a lot. my kids are enjoying listening to it too. check it out.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • HT
  • 12-12-19

Great story

This was an excellent mystery story, though it would have been much better without the dramatic music spread throughout the book during suspenseful parts of the story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Lord of the rings, but without the hobbits or wizards or magic

So the premise of the story is essentially a reworking of the LOTR story. A kid finds something magical that someone super powerful is looking for and he has to undergo great risk to resolve the situation. This isn’t necessarily a bad thing, just a connection I made.

All of that aside, it’s a nice little story. The characters are mostly well realized and fun (the mom is maybe a bit too whimsical). The book’s hooks are strong and moments of tension are palpable.

It’s biggest flaw is in exposition. There’s just so much of it. So, so much. Every little detail or question that the reader might have is explained, sometimes a bit clumsily.

Regardless, this was a book I enjoyed and would happily recommend.