Regular price: $28.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Acclaimed New York Times best-selling author and E. B. White Read Aloud Award winner Trenton Lee Stewart returns with a captivating, heart-stopping adventure about thrilling secrets and dangerous mysteries - and the courage to reveal the most frightening of truths.

Eleven-year-old Reuben spends his days exploring, hiding, and practicing parkour among the abandoned buildings of the Lower Downs as a way to escape the rough times that have befallen him and his mom - but his discovery of an extraordinary antique pocket watch changes everything. When Reuben finds that the watch has the power to turn him invisible, he's propelled on the adventure of a lifetime.

Now Reuben is being pursued by a group of dangerous men called the Directions, and someone - or something - ominously called The Smoke. They all want the watch, and with the help of new friends it's up to Reuben to unravel the mysteries surrounding it and protect the city from evil.

New York Times best-selling author Trenton Lee Stewart's latest novel will enthrall old and new fans alike with the twists and turns of an inventive and compelling adventure reminiscent of The Mysterious Benedict Society series.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

©2016 Trenton Lee Stewart (P)2016 Hachette Audio

Critic Reviews

"Real flashlight under the bedclothes material...this story flies past, thrilling us as it goes." ( Horn Book)
"Tackles personal concerns: abandonment, family, loyalty, and facing one's fears." ( Booklist)
"Fans of Roald Dahl or Blue Balliett will find a familiar blend of kid power, clues, and adventure." ( School Library Journal)
"Cameron Brown's narration enhances the story's atmosphere. He employs clear enunciation and expert pacing to immerse the listener in Reuben's mind as he puzzles his way through the mystery. Brown's performance will engage young listeners who enjoy being on tenterhooks and feeling deliciously scared as they inhabit a dark world. He uses inflection to give unique voices to the many characters. Mrs. Genevieve, Reuben's moral compass, is especially well voiced with an appropriately foreign but grandmotherly accent." ( AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    163
  • 4 Stars
    65
  • 3 Stars
    22
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    159
  • 4 Stars
    55
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    48
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A great read for the whole family

Our family enjoyed listening to this book together on a recent vacation.
The story is creative and suspenseful. it made us laugh and made us think.
Would recommend this book for kids around 10 years old.
Trenton Lee Stewart is an excellent author.

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Jamie A.
  • Nancy, KY, United States
  • 02-20-18

Great book—BEST narrator!

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I have read Trenton Stewart's other books to my 8 and 11 year old boys and enjoyed them. However, I think the Secret Keepers may be our new favorite. The story is great, but really the narrator is amazing. Probably the best reader I've heard on an audio book for the kiddos. Definitely holds your attention through a long and complex story. Great voices, great suspense. Definitely recommend!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it

Hopefully there’s a book 2 coming! My whole family enjoyed it. The narrator was wonderful.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good, but...

We absolutely loved the Mysterious Benedict Society, and the rest of the books in that series. Therefore, it was natural to get this, too. While it was enjoyable, in paled in comparison to the others, unfortunately.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great!

Great story! We liked the beginning the most, and it kept us entertained over a long summer car trip!
Similar to the Mysterious Benedict Society books, but with enough originality to keep us interested

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JJ
  • 05-23-18

So cool!😍I love Secret Keepers!💛

I think that people of all ages should have the opportunity to listen to this book, because it is so stinking awesome!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

Exilent

Exilent book very good listen grate narorater i will most certainly recommend this book. Very good

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome!

This was great for people that are pretty old. There are a lot of mysteries in this book. I recommend this book to people who are interested in mystery books. Also very detailed and the Arthur is very creative in like finding a watch that belonged to Penelope and other things like that.;~)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book. Very long

I liked the book. It's very long and has spots where it lags but overall I would recommend it.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Needed editing

The overall story here is interesting but the main character is not especially likeable, in fact was quite infuriating at times! and there were long passages that could have been tightened. It seemed to need a stronger editing hand. Suspenseful though and maybe likeable by someone less picky than this family!