1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.24

Buy for $20.24

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

'Just for a moment, I was young and invincible again, back before I made the decision that changed the rest of my life....'

Susie did something that she knows she will always regret: giving her baby son up for adoption, to keep her infidelity secret from her family. Louise, Susie's daughter, feels the effects of that decision echoing down through the years - her mother has always been difficult, too strict with her but not strict enough with her sister, Grace, who is wild and out of control. And Danny, Susie's husband, adores her but has always sensed something wrong at the heart of their marriage.

When tragedy strikes the family, and a chance discovery threatens to bring the truth to light, the sisters' relationship is put to the test as they are faced with an impossible choice.

From the best-selling author of The Silent Wife, The Secret Child is a heartbreaking novel about family secrets and lies. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Jojo Moyes and Diane Chamberlain.

©2018 Kerry Fisher (P)2018 Audible, Ltd

What listeners say about The Secret Child

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    996
  • 4 Stars
    411
  • 3 Stars
    166
  • 2 Stars
    35
  • 1 Stars
    21
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,063
  • 4 Stars
    320
  • 3 Stars
    92
  • 2 Stars
    22
  • 1 Stars
    9
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    921
  • 4 Stars
    359
  • 3 Stars
    153
  • 2 Stars
    46
  • 1 Stars
    22

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I liked it WAY more than I thought I would

I almost stopped after the first hour. I found the main character to be whiney and I couldn't bear a whole book of it. I'm so glad I stuck with it! I loved it! So many complicated emotions. Beautifully done.

60 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

I've found a new favorite author!

This was a truly lovely book, filled with a roller-coaster of emotions and wonderful, engaging characters. I alternated between choking up at the touching interplay of the family, and laughing at the snarky wit so liberally sprinkled throughout. I immediately bought everthing of Kerry's I could find, and can't wait for more.

53 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

I use to foster babies from an unwed Mothers home. I picked them up when they were 3 days old and kept them for 6 weeks to maybe 2 months. the home gave the mother 30 days to change her mind, then the adoption proceedings would begin. This book was very emotional for me because I did not consider what the mother had gone through to give away her baby. This was in the mid-1980s. After thinking back on that I can't imagine the hurt on the other side of that door that I never experienced. I shed quite a few tears listening to this book and I do really like the reader.

31 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful story

A very emotional book. I loved how well developed the characters were. It is a very realistic book. Kerry Fisher is a very good writer. The book didn’t have any unnecessary details. It flowed beautifully. I highly recommend this book.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Kerry Fisher is absolutely marvelous

After reading my first Kerry Fisher novel, I immediately looked for more. She has a way of writing that is completely relatable to the human spirit. This one is no different. A full range of emotions, internal conflict, and a wonderful understanding of the complexities, and dynamics of every family.
I’m sure I’ll be recommending this one to family and friends for years to come.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful book

I enjoyed the characters and the story. I was so sad to have this end. I can really recommend this book

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Can-You-Say Tedious?

This book is essentially about a married woman (Suzie) who - while her husband is deployed for more than a year - has a one-night-stand that results in a pregnancy. Suzie leaves her legitimate daughter with her mother while she hides-out at her Aunt's house and eventually at a home for un-wed mothers. She gives birth to the illegitimate child (a boy) and 3 months later he goes up for adoption. She then returns home to her daughter a few days before her husband returns from deployment. From that point on the entire story is a nauseating, tedious lament on Suzie's part about how the boy might look, about how she buys a birthday card for him on every birthday, about what his hair might look like, etc. This is all at the expense of her husband (now home for good and unaware) and daughter(s), who suffer from Suzie's prickliness and lack of attention. It's one of the most frustrating books I've listened to, and unless you can relate to Suzie I suggest you save your point for something with a broader story. I suspect that for many people the decision to give a child up for adoption is gut wrenching and results in a life-long battle with "I wonder". But at some point Suzie needed to embrace the life she had with her husband and her legitimate children (giving him up was her choice). A couple of hours of lamentation and gnashing of teeth would have been more than enough - this book contains nothing else. The reader is very good but sadly she couldn't elevate this story beyond tedius.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Moved to tears.

A mother’s love is so intense, so simple but with so many facets. How I miss my own Mom.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love it

This is the second book that I’ve read by Kerry Fisher and absolutely loved it I will definitely be reading more

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My first audible book

This was a good book and the story is one I have some knowledge of. I have adopted brothers and the nature/ nurture idea is one I have thought about often. The narrator was perfect for this book. I will check other books by this author.

5 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Frances Locke
  • Frances Locke
  • 02-25-18

A really thought provoking story

I truly loved this book and need to get friends to read it so that I can talk about it. I have three adoption experiences in my family - all from the 1960s too - so was very interested in the exploration of all the impossibly difficult issues surrounding whether or not to trace, either way round.

Kerry Fisher’s observations of parenting are so true - or so like mine! How you can love a child so much and it all go wrong...

This was a great story and rang so many bells with me. Thank you. I must find and read some others by this author.

27 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 02-21-18

absorbing

great story but sad reflection on humanity years ago, the struggle to hide and keep secrets from those around you.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-17-18

Decent story - terrible narration

This story was seriously let down by the dreary narration with no differentiation between characters. I am an avid audible listener but this story was made boring by the expressionless reader. The story itself was fine but I will be avoiding anything else read by Emma Spurgin Hussey.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Trina
  • Trina
  • 02-21-18

Unputdownable

Well written, gripping and thoroughly enjoyable. A good discovery.
Good characters and well developed plot.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Penelope
  • Penelope
  • 02-28-18

Easy good feeling read

I really enjoyed this book, easy to listen to, great story, one of those cant put down cause I need to know the ending...

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Lindy SH
  • Lindy SH
  • 02-25-18

So real could be a biography

Emotional insight into giving up a child for adoption and the effects this has on the rest of a family and a persons life. Fiction but could be a biography. Reflects on the changing times and the cruelty inflicted on unmarried mothers in the 1960 s

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan
  • Susan
  • 03-07-18

Susan

What a truly wonderful book, it had me laughing and crying. A joy to read.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Pimak
  • Pimak
  • 03-03-18

Very Real

Fascinating, found it very real and right at the heart of so many questions I have hears about adoption

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for A Nurse
  • A Nurse
  • 02-25-18

Excellent

I really enjoyed this book showing the personal agony of giving a child up for adoption and how damaging secrets are within families. Good pace. Great read. Could stop listening.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Oscars mum
  • Oscars mum
  • 04-01-18

Oscars mum

I have loved listening to another of Kerry’s fantastic stories. So well written and I can’t wait to find out what happens but equally don’t want to finish the book. The narration by Emma is fantastic too. Looking forward to my next Kerry book.

4 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Allayne Catlin
  • Allayne Catlin
  • 11-19-19

Human feelings at there best and worse loved it

Loved this book. Found i had tears. Its wotth the time and makes you think