Regular price: $21.31

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The best-selling author returns with her second novel, The Secret - a beautiful, tear-jerking novel which will be cherished by all those thousands of fans who lost their hearts to The Letter.

From the Number One best-selling author of The Letter comes The Secret - a heart-breaking novel of tragedy, hope and second chances. Fans of Jojo Moyes and Amanda Prowse will love the moving human drama of Kathryn Hughes.

Mary has been nursing a secret.

Forty years ago, she made a choice that would change her world for ever, and alter the path of someone she holds dear.

Beth is searching for answers. She has never known the truth about her parentage, but finding out could be the lifeline her sick child so desperately needs. When Beth finds a faded newspaper cutting amongst her mother's things, she realises the key to her son's future lies in her own past. She must go back to where it all began to unlock...the Secret.

©2016 Kathryn Hughes (P)2016 Headline Publishing Group Limited

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    182
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    176
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    152
  • 4 Stars
    67
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Good read

I enjoyed this book. Not as much as the previous books (The Key and The Letter), but it was all in all worth the credit and time spent listening.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Surprised

It’s not often that I get surprised with a twist in a story but this one got me! Loved it to the end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Amazing story and the reader is amazing

I live Kathryn Hughes books so far. I think this is the second I i have read and also enjoy Rachel Atkins narrating them

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very intriguing!

I enjoy the way Kathryn writes. You have to pause a bit to remember the characters. I enjoyed the way the scenes unfolded from earlier years to the present. As was The Letter, this book is definitely a page turner. The narration by Rachel Atkins is spectacular. I highly recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautifully done!

I have just recently discovered this author and I am enthralled. I especially appreciate the audio version because the reader transports you to the scene. I have read two books and will read many more as they are available on audio.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not the Letter

Enjoyed The Letter immensely. Was hoping for as good a read in The Secret. It just didn't come close. Thought about giving up but keep plodding through hoping it would get there but never did. Too many characters that did not add value to the story line, lack of clarity on why they were all in the story, and an uneventful ending.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narration is bloody perfection!!

A bit sappy, but generally held my interest throughout.
I really enjoyed first 1/3 and last 1/3
Middle I found a little tedious
The narration is excellent.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

just as good as The Letter

This book is on par with The Letter, beautifully written with realistic events and characters and a satisfying ending.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not as good as the Letter

I read the Letter and couldn't get enough. I bought this hoping for a similar style. The story was ok, but not as good. Not a waste of time, but not the greatest either.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Good read not great.

The story was interesting. Some of it to long to develop. Tying it together at the end was good but I must of missed something in the middle.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • M.A.
  • 07-22-16

Very good book. Recommended.

After reader her previous book The Letter i searched out more from this author and narrator, i was not disappointed.
Both the storyline and the characters soon came alive. Loved the ending too.

14 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Miss Book Worm
  • 09-30-16

A well versed story

First and foremost I enjoyed The Letter and because of this bought The Secret. A good read with an in depth knowledge of human behaviour.
I gathered the secret towards the middle of the book but another part of the story was a complete suprise.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 08-27-16

plenty of twists and turns

loved this book, kept me interested all the way through, not many books surprise me, but this had a few surprises in it. could relate to the characters and in places i had a tear in my eye.

10 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Avril
  • 10-06-16

Good beginning predictable ending

I loved this book at the beginning but as it went in I got really bored and really struggled to keep going. I much preferred The Letter and would recommend that book over this one.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 07-22-16

Enjoyable

narrator was good very well read....good storyline.....good twist in story....really enjoyed first audible story ☺

10 of 11 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • MARLENE
  • 09-30-16

THE SECRET

Beautiful story set in the North of England. . This story spans over the life of an unwanted baby, from her birth and then takes you on a journey through to her discovery of her family. Beautifully read by Rachel Atkins. I would highly recommend this book. Well worth a read.

9 of 10 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • BettinaP
  • 08-16-16

Better then her first book!!

loved it! I found at first I was a bit confused, as you go to the past I couldn't work out the link between the characters... but once I got into it I ended up hooked. The story was much better then the authors first book, and I loved the dynamics of the characters and how well developed they are so you really care about them.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Robert Mara
  • 10-20-16

Wonderful

Gripping story, beautifully written., The narration added depth to this audio experience. More please from this writer.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Letty
  • 01-04-17

Good but very depressing!

All I can say is don't ever listen to this book if you are depressed!
It is pretty much non stop gloom......disease, suicide, unwanted pregnancy, bullying, car crash, death, child neglect, injuries, fire, lies and worry to name a few.
Narration was good, there thankfully was a happy ending, it had a good twist to it and I listened to it to the end but there was just too much relentless gloom and despair for me.

18 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Sydie
  • 10-15-16

Brilliant!!!

Loved it + loved the narration!
Highly recommend this if you like a story that is present day and past. If you are in your 40's or older you will undoubtedly enjoy!

2 of 2 people found this review helpful