Regular price: $22.67

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family - by the international best-selling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again - tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband, Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.

Charlotte Dacher is 11 when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.

Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting - and an unexpected road home.

When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis - and to open their own broken hearts - as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final minute.

©2018 Kristin Harmel (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    254
  • 4 Stars
    108
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    12

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    236
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    47
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    14

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    230
  • 4 Stars
    106
  • 3 Stars
    45
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    9
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was okay

Any additional comments?

The connection/similarity to Kristin Hanna's The Nightingale is weak - yes, there are common plot lines - WWII at the fore, an escape line out of Nazi occupied lands, and a love story - but I found the story and characters to be lacking development and not nearly as intruiging as the Nightingale. The story is okay and it has good entertainment value - but it really doesn't rival Hannah's book of the same genre.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Written by Capt Obvious?

I made myself finish this book, but it was painful. The dialogue was so stilted and predictably obvious and banal, it had me screaming at my iPhone at times. Of the dozens and dozens of audible books I have purchased and read (some great and others not so much) this is the first
one I’ve ever returned.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible ending

Good story, but no NIGHTINGALE. VERY SIMILAR PLOT BUT ENDING WAS TOO SAD AND UNSATISFYING.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • LNash
  • Birmingham, AL, USA
  • 04-02-18

The Room on Rue Ame’lie

I loved the book listened to it on Audible which makes book come to life. The book had many sad events, i know there had to be many good hearted Germany’s living during War World Il And this book tells that story. But i was somewhat disappointed with the ending. I hate when characters in books die. I will probably listen to the novel again. I always read my books many times. Very good read (listen)

5 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Narrator

I loved this story, it was so beautiful. I was teetering on returning it because of the narrator, but I’m so glad I didn’t!! Definitely a must read!!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Another WWII historical romance

Honestly, aren't there enough stories set against the atrocities of WWII ? This is another. It's ok, sort of a light version of "The Nightingale". The narrator (Madeleine Maby) was good with accents, but didn't have quite the right inflection for the non-accented characters.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing through paths of lives lived bravely!

Great read... such purpose and heart. The ending will take you to a place you don’t see coming! Splendid.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderfully narrated and lovely story!

If you enjoy historical fiction, this is a great easy to listen to story. It's a lovely story line and hard to stop listening. I really enjoyed the characters and the historical setting.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

If you like the Nightingale you would love this book.

I have read a lot of books that pertain to the era of World War II. This book is a great read and if you’ve read the Nightingale and loved it you will love this book as well. It is beautifully written and a page turner.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KK
  • 08-02-18

Resilience

I still can’t believe what happened during WWII, the horror of what other humans did to each other is beyond words. Must never let this happen again