Your audiobook is waiting…

The Room on Rue Amélie

Narrated by: Madeleine Maby, Jacques Roy
Length: 10 hrs and 7 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (673 ratings)
Regular price: $22.67
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Kristin Hannah's The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kelly's Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and family - by the international best-selling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Again - tells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.

When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband, Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.

Charlotte Dacher is 11 when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte can't imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.

Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if he's really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fighting - and an unexpected road home.

When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazis - and to open their own broken hearts - as they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final minute.

©2018 Kristin Harmel (P)2018 Simon & Schuster

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    384
  • 4 Stars
    166
  • 3 Stars
    87
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    15

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    365
  • 4 Stars
    144
  • 3 Stars
    64
  • 2 Stars
    34
  • 1 Stars
    19

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    346
  • 4 Stars
    163
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    19
  • 1 Stars
    11
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was okay

Any additional comments?

The connection/similarity to Kristin Hanna's The Nightingale is weak - yes, there are common plot lines - WWII at the fore, an escape line out of Nazi occupied lands, and a love story - but I found the story and characters to be lacking development and not nearly as intruiging as the Nightingale. The story is okay and it has good entertainment value - but it really doesn't rival Hannah's book of the same genre.

8 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Written by Capt Obvious?

I made myself finish this book, but it was painful. The dialogue was so stilted and predictably obvious and banal, it had me screaming at my iPhone at times. Of the dozens and dozens of audible books I have purchased and read (some great and others not so much) this is the first
one I’ve ever returned.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible ending

Good story, but no NIGHTINGALE. VERY SIMILAR PLOT BUT ENDING WAS TOO SAD AND UNSATISFYING.

6 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

I wanted to like it but...

I had great hopes for this book - I enjoy historical novels. This was just awful. The last few chapters were not too bad but the rest of it had no character development, the dialogue was weird and stilted, and there were very few descriptions of the physical surroundings or people. The dialogue didn't just ring false, it was embarrassingly bad. What made it even worse was the narrator - sounded like a high school student named Siri trying out for the school play. I kept waiting for it to get better, to justify the time I wasted listening to it. I returned it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story, bad narration

The story ended up being really good but I almost stopped listening because of the narrator. The inflections in her voice we unnatural and reflected the wrong sentiment. I eventually got used to it but would have enjoyed the story much more if it weren’t for that.

All-in-all, it was a good book. Not quite as gripping as some of the other WWII books I’ve read but I still enjoyed it.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • LNash
  • Birmingham, AL, USA
  • 04-02-18

The Room on Rue Ame’lie

I loved the book listened to it on Audible which makes book come to life. The book had many sad events, i know there had to be many good hearted Germany’s living during War World Il And this book tells that story. But i was somewhat disappointed with the ending. I hate when characters in books die. I will probably listen to the novel again. I always read my books many times. Very good read (listen)

6 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Unrealistic

It seemed like a fairytale set in Nazi-dominated Europe. I’m afraid that it will give people the wrong impression about what life was like. And that’s a big problem because the reality of the holocaust needs to be maintained in people’s minds. Unlike some other reviewers, I liked the ending. I just feel like the whole problem could’ve been solved the author had done more research or vetted the narrative with experts about that time in history

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

WWII LOVE STORY

Perhaps I would have this book more if I had read it instead of listening to it. The unusual cadence of Madeline Maby was very distracting. A lack of editing for grammar was overwhelming. This story is about a serious situation and I felt like the characters were oblivious about so many things. You

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it! The story is beautiful and very sad.

Loved it! The story is beautiful and very sad.
The story made me cry and end.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • AJ
  • 01-12-19

Excellent historic fiction

The story is well constructed and beautifully performed. In brief, this is the story of life in Paris during WW2. Although the story takes unrealistic turns of survival at times, the meaning of the French resistance and how people become caught up in events before they even know what is happening comes through clearly. If you enjoy historic fiction and love stories, this one can’t be beat