The Recipient

Series: Emerald City Thriller, Book 1
Length: 6 hrs and 39 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (48 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Sergeant Wade McKinnon knows who killed Samantha the moment he arrives at her crime scene. Problem is, he watched her killer die a year ago.

A year after serial killer Michael Rhodes is executed and allowed to donate part of his brain as an organ transplant, Wade gets called to a murder scene that shares uncanny similarities to those of the late Michael Rhodes. Other similar killings happen around Seattle, and Wade seems to be the only person still alive who knows enough about Michael Rhodes’s murders to be able to replicate them. When evidence found at one of the crime scenes points to Wade as the killer, he races to find the real culprit before it’s too late to clear his own name.

Elle is overjoyed when her husband receives a partial brain transplant and gets a second chance at life. Until she learns that his brain cells came from a serial killer....

The Recipient is a chilling crime thriller mixed with domestic suspense that will leave you on the edge of your seat until the very end.

Praise for The Recipient:

"A chilling debut suspense thriller that blends a clinical murder know-how with riveting characters against a brooding Seattle backdrop. Audrey J. Cole squirrels deep into a serial killer's mind and the at-times fractured minds of those who seek justice for the killer's crimes. A perfect listen for fans of Rachel Abbott or The Couple Next Door." (Lizzie Harwood, Amazon best-selling author).

©2017 Audrey J. Cole (P)2019 Audrey J. Cole

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    34
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    33
  • 4 Stars
    9
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great book

The author does an amazing job of detailing the story. Great plot and engaging characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent thriller with various twists!

A copycat serial killer is on the loose and detective Wade McKinnon must find him. Elle's husband received a partial brain transplant and notices strange changes in his behaviour. could these events be related?

Audrey did an amazing job building up a suspenseful plot with twists throughout. It was creative and unique and kept me glued to my earphones to hear the full story. The characters were interesting and well portrayed. The brain transplant idea really got me thinking and has so much potential!

I really liked that there was both a male and female performer as it helped navigate the story and point of views.

This is a must read, along with the others in the series, all equally as enthralling!

Note: This book was given to me for free at my request and i provided this objective review voluntarily.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Chilling, shocking and all-around exciting........

The Recipient is an amazingly entertaining mystery/thriller. The book starts with two seemingly completely separate stories. The first story follows a Seattle police detective, Wade McKinnon, as he investigates a recent string of murders which perfectly mirror the victims of a serial killer from years ago. McKinnon investigated these murders, arrested the suspect and watched him executed the previous year. The second story follows Elle, the wife of a man who suffered severe mental and physical disability as the result of a stroke when he was only 39 years-old. He was the recipient of a new and highly experimental partial brain cell transplant one year earlier. Elle has spent the last year watching her husband grow more withdrawn and moody, and she begins to suspect that he is having an affair. Watching the author draw these two protagonists closer and closer to an intersection is fascinating, and her use of foreshadowing made me shiver. Although I thought I had everything figured out towards the beginning of the book, I was not only wrong but blown away by how it all came together in the end. I can't believe this book is the author's debut, but I certainly hope that she has many more in her imagination to continue the series for a long time.

The performance both in style and choice of narrators is phenomenal. The book is told in a form of dual narration, but it is one in which both narrators read all parts of the story - Catalona whenever a male character speaks and Pace whenever a female character speaks. Both narrators are incredibly talented, and their delivery and synchronization are perfect. Although this book would be good regardless of the quality of the narration, combining the writing talent of Cole and the harmonic narration of Catalano and Pace makes this audiobook award winning.

I received a copy of this audiobook at my request in exchange for this honest review.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good story & Narration

Too short, but I enjoyed it. I was very impressed with the narrators as well.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • SD
  • 01-19-20

Great twist that I wished it lasted longer

Amazing story that seems a bit obvious until we finally are introduced to the twist. I just wished it lasted longer but it is a great thriller. The dual narration for the point of view of the detective and the judge wife is perfect.
I do recommend.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent in every aspect

Audrey Cole does great story telling and the 2 person narration is perfect for this novel.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unexpected turn

The small synopsis I thought was really all the book was boy was I wrong. Great story and told very well. I really liked having more than one narrator.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The story is ok, but...

.... personally I did not like the voices of the narratots too much. This is a matter of personal taste of course, but I hardly got through the book at all. It is told like a dialogue going back and forth between the two.

Maybe it was just not what I eypected. The story is ok. I guess you can give it a try and see if you like it. I am Glas if you disagree with me :-)

This book was given to me for free at my request and I provided this voluntary review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Recipient

Excellent whodunnit book!I totally enjoyed this one! Narration by Marcio Catalano and Veronica Pace was perfect!I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.'

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Awesome... I loved this!

I loved this!! When I first figured out where this book was going, I was a little worried. The plot just didn't seem to original at first. But the more I read/listened the more I fell in love with this. I can't wait to read the next book in the series. Oh the the narration was awesome. I love when there are two narrators, one for the guy voices one for the girls. I feel like it makes it so much easier to listen to and I feel like it helps me focus better on whos who. When the book isn't in front of you, sometimes it can get confusing. The Dual narration really fixes all of that. Anyways, such a good book! I cant wait for more.

This book was given to me at my request (Thank you!). I am providing a voluntary and honest review.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Julie
  • Julie
  • 09-16-19

you don't need to be a brain scientists to like

Wow, this is the first book I have read/heard from this author but it won't be the last. I loved it even though I suspected who the killer was the author was still clever enough that she still got an 'a har' moment out of me. I liked the characters and it did keep me guessing if I was right. The story is told by several of the characters but it worked and wasn't jumpy in the telling.
Sergeant Wade McKinnon is called in to look at a dead body found in a hotel room. As soon as he enters he know this is not going to be an ordinary or easy case because he had all ready caught the killer and watched him die by leathal injection.
Battling demons of his past he once again has to catcher what he hopes won't be a prolific serial killer and re visit the worst case of his career. Then another body is found, closer to home this time but with no evidence and the killings exactly the same he starts to wonder if it's a copy cat or did they get the right man in the first place.
At the same time Elle is worried her husband is having an affair, late nights at work and smelling perfume on him. When she talks to her sister we explains that after a brain transplant it is normal for the person to be different and give it time. Elle can't give it up he is just acting to weird, then she discovers who the transplant came from and being afraid of an affair is the least of her worries.
I really liked the production of this audio book with the use of a male and female narrator it really made the story enjoyable and brought the characters to life in my mind.
Over all a great book and a must listen.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Angelbear
  • Angelbear
  • 02-15-20

Gripping

I really enjoyed the book and loved the story line.
The writer has made it easy to identify with the characters and therefore get lost in their world.
I would recommend this audio book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Aggie
  • Aggie
  • 11-24-19

Great read

Loved this book. The story was captivating and I just couldn't stop myself from listening to it. enjoyed the narrating by Marcio Vatalano and Veronica Pace. This book is worth listening or reading.