The Promise of Home

A Mill River Novel
Narrated by: Amy Rubinate
Series: Mill River, Book 3
Length: 11 hrs and 28 mins
4 out of 5 stars (21 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In cart

Publisher's Summary

Writing in the tradition of Jan Karon and Maeve Binchy, New York Times best-selling author Darcie Chan returns listeners to Mill River, the charming town whose residents experience surprises and sorrows, witness acts of goodwill and kindness, embrace family love and friendship - and uncover age-old secrets and heartaches.

These days, Mill River, Vermont, is a hub of activity. Karen Cooper and her son bid a temporary farewell to husband and father Nick, off to Saudi Arabia to work as a contractor. But when he goes missing, Karen turns to the beloved nonagenarian priest Father O'Brien for counsel.

Kyle Hansen and Claudia Simon blissfully prepare for their wedding - until a part of Kyle's past arrives in town and shakes up their solid romance.

Emily DiSanti, still haunted by a tragedy that tore her world apart a decade ago, is renovating the old McAllister mansion, eager to restore it to its former beauty and to find peace in the intense workload.

All of these lives - and the lives of others in this sleepy small town - move forward, bump up against one another, and intertwine. But when a cache of hidden letters is discovered, a decades-old secret comes to light - one that is rooted deeply in the childhood of the longtime resident who has touched the lives of everyone in town, and that will change his own life in a powerful and unexpected way.

©2015 Darcie Chan (P)2015 Random House Audio

What listeners say about The Promise of Home

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Cute, light, refreshing!

This is the third in the series ... It is a cute little story with sweet characters..
You get to know the whole village.