Your audiobook is waiting…

The Point of Light

Historical Fiction, Book 1
Narrated by: Adam Verner
Series: Historical Fiction Series, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 51 mins
4 out of 5 stars (22 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of All the Light We Cannot See, Beneath a Scarlet Sky, and The Nightingale comes a historical novel about one woman’s gallant, fearless search for war-crimes evidence during the most terrible times of World War II. 

May 1940 - Paris. On the eve of her 18th birthday, Claire hears the devastating news: the German army has invaded her homeland, and her beloved Paris has fallen. Within months, her life is turned upside-down. She takes in an orphaned Jewish toddler only days before her beloved German-born husband Remy is forcibly conscripted into the Nazi army. In desperation she connects with other young members of the French Resistance, determined to fight back in whatever way she can. Armed only with her wits and her 35mm camera, she looks for the one photograph that will expose the Nazi horror for what it is. 

When her rebellion is discovered and Claire is sent to Auschwitz, she knows her moment has arrived. A Nazi officer, hiding in the shadows of Auschwitz, commits an unspeakable atrocity, a war crime. Can Claire help bring down the beast who emerged from Auschwitz? Or will her secret evidence die with her as the SS hunts her down? 

The Point of Light is part of the Historical Fiction series, a collection of John Ellsworth wartime novels. If you love thrills, clandestine plotting and a dash of romance, dive into these books today! From USA Today best-seller John Ellsworth.

©2019 John Ellsworth (P)2019 John Ellsworth

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story with some problems...

I thought this was a good story and it certainly kept my interest throughout. However, there were some inconsistencies in the story and some poor WWII research that was distracting. Had the narrator been a better actor I would’ve found the book more fulfilling. I felt his reading style was ill suited here. I’ve heard him voice female characters in the past and he voices women immaturely and as whiners when the scenes do not lend to the same.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

I love reading about strong amazing women. We could learn from their strengths. Amazing story.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great narration. Heart breaking story with some justice

I had a hard time listening to the story when in the camps. I put it down for a week several times. Mans cruelty to man is almost unbelievable
A very courageous protagonist and good descriptions of places and events. I learned a lot Will get more audiobooks by this author The narrator was multidimensional in his characters made it scary at times and it came alive