adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"I just want to be your friend." She smiled at Lily, her dark brown eyes impossibly sincere. "And to be a mother to Emma too, of course." Her gaze flickered to Lily’s sister, but only Lily saw her expression momentarily change - from warm and loving to something else. Something Lily didn’t trust....

Lily has always had a simple dream: to be happy like her parents were. Content in their sweet suburban home, nothing in life had phased her mother and father, not even when they’d had a "surprise" second child, Emma, nearly 20 years after Lily. 

But their love story was cut tragically short when - after a devastating battle with cancer - Lily’s mother died. Lily was heartbroken, but also desperately worried about her grieving dad, not to mention five-year-old Emma. 

So, Lily is shocked and concerned when he suddenly decides to remarry, less than a year after her mother’s death. It feels far too soon, and Lily finds herself furious with him - and his new wife, Maria, who can apparently do no wrong. She seems madly in love with Lily’s dad and instantly bonds with Emma. 

It’s only Lily who can’t trust her. 

Who won’t trust her. 

And when Emma goes missing - could Lily be right? What if the greatest danger to them all is the woman now living in their family home? 

A totally gripping and unmissable psychological suspense novel about dark family secrets, perfect for fans of Shalini Boland, Claire McGowan, and Gone Girl.

©2021 Karen King (P)2021 Bookouture, an imprint of Storyfire Ltd.

What listeners say about The Perfect Stepmother

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    11
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sarah Brackenbury
  • Sarah Brackenbury
  • 06-24-21

Very far fetched and awful accents!

First off, (and this is not the author’s fault), the narrator doing a terrible brummy accent nearly sent me over the edge. So grating! And the crime that the main character was accused of was ridiculous. It was clearly an accident. I won’t say too much, as it may be a spoiler. All very easy to guess though. No twist or shocks.

Another thing that got me was the repeated, puke inducing, ‘I loved her as my own’. We get it! But do you have to keep saying it over and over again? All in all, a very far fetched and disappointing read.

1 person found this helpful