adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

From the acclaimed, international Thriller Writers Award finalist and author of Murder Board and Bleeding Blue, comes a searing case that will drive Detective Michael Kelly to the brink and make him question whether it’s the badge or blood that will push him over, once and for all.

“Brian Shea is the real deal,” (Steve Konkoly, USA Today best-selling author of the Ryan Decker Series)

Michael Kelly, Boston homicide detective, can’t seem to escape his tough Dorchester upbringing or the lifelong bonds it forged. When he's called to a church where a priest has been murdered, his bosses see a media circus in the making, but Kelly sees a connection between this victim and a cold case that he’s been trying to solve for years.

Closing one case might answer the questions that have haunted Kelly for almost his entire career and finally bring him a measure of peace.

But when the FBI gets involved, Kelly has to stay one step ahead by, again, relying on the streets where he grew up to provide him with answers.

Because, the priest was just the first step on an unrelenting path of vengeance, and this killer isn’t going to stop until his own twisted brand of justice gets served.

Brian Shea brings his background as a former detective to write propulsive, tautly plotted thrillers, and The Penitent One is his most intense book yet.

Fans of Connelly or Carson will become immediately engrossed with the streets of Boston and the detective who speaks for the dead, always at the risk of becoming the next body to fall.

©2020 Brian Shea (P)2020 Severn River Publishing

What listeners say about The Penitent One

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

decent story

The story was better this time. Definitely kept me wanting to know what was happening next. Unfortunately the narrator was stop and go every now and again which would disrupt the flow of the story. I would recommend this if you are enjoying the series. It is better than the last book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mangankillarney
  • mangankillarney
  • 01-31-21

Brilliant

I throughly enjoyed listening to Corey M Snow. I believe perfect for the series.

I have to say I enjoyed the other books in this series, but this one is my favourite. Each book is a stand alone story. The characters are carried forward and their background stories are briefly retold. We are interdouced to FBI agent Grey in this story. I do hope he reappears.
We have strong family and friendship loyalty. A lovely father and daughter relationship.
A murder of a Priest, a gangster and a Old case of a murder of a police officer...are they and how they connected.
Brilliant told story.