adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.35

Buy for $21.35

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times best seller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure! But the adventure they get isn’t quite what they had in mind. 

Mr. Penderwick’s sister has decided it’s time for him to start dating - and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan - a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It’s high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.

©2008 Jeanne Birdsall (P)2008 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"This is a book to cherish and to hold close like a warm, cuddly blanket that you draw around yourself to keep out the cold." ( School Library Journal)

What listeners say about The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1,021
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    814
  • 4 Stars
    83
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    838
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

grate book

I loved the book it has a great storyline. This is one of my favorite Jeanne birdsall books.I highly recommend it.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet fun

What a sweet, fun, joy-filled story! Great narration maximizes the enjoyment, bringing forth the individuality and personality of each character.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Great story, family friendly, just plain fun. The whole series is fantastic and I recommend them.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Very good and wonderful. I loved it❤️ the narration was great!!❤️❤️ I give it 100 stars

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!

very funny
great sense of humor
I have listened to it 3 times

highly recommended
🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

The Penderwicks on Gardam street

It was good and it was mostly entertaining. I like pie! Book was like pie.🐉

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Penderwicks on Gardam Street

I love this book so much !!!!!!i love every one in this series but this one the best !!!!! I especially like Sky in this book because she is loves math and Science

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series!

My 8 yr old boy, 9 yr old girl, and 11 yr old boy and I are listening to this series together. We all love it. My 16 year old boy even gets sucked into the story when he's around.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The penderwicks on gardem street

This book is a masterpiece and magnificently and beautifully written packed with family fun and mischief and wonderful but funny and family friendly

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good story for little girls

What made the experience of listening to The Penderwicks on Gardam Street the most enjoyable?

My two daughters 10 and 12 love to listen to stories and particularly enjoyed this one. The characters are engaging and they keep quoting things they learned from Mr.Penderwick.

Who was your favorite character and why?

They seem to love batty and Sky the best but really they love them all, except Mrs. Tipton and Baxter.

What about Susan Denaker’s performance did you like?

She does a great job capturing the characters with different voices and good pacing.

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Yes, but it was too long.

3 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Caron Chester
  • Caron Chester
  • 03-01-20

A beautiful, gentle tale....

Loved this (and I am definitely an adult!). Lovely characters, great story and beutifuuly narrated.
Highly recommended!