The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Narrated by: Susan Denaker
Series: The Penderwicks, Book 2
Length: 7 hrs and 41 mins
4.8 out of 5 stars (946 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $27.93

Buy for $27.93

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

With over one million copies sold, this series of modern classics about the charming Penderwick family from National Book Award winner and New York Times best seller Jeanne Birdsall is perfect for fans of Noel Streatfeild and Edward Eager.

The Penderwick sisters are home on Gardam Street and ready for an adventure! But the adventure they get isn’t quite what they had in mind. 

Mr. Penderwick’s sister has decided it’s time for him to start dating - and the girls know that can only mean one thing: disaster. Enter the Save-Daddy Plan - a plot so brilliant, so bold, so funny, that only the Penderwick girls could have come up with it. It’s high jinks, big laughs, and loads of family warmth as the Penderwicks triumphantly return.

©2008 Jeanne Birdsall (P)2008 Listening Library

Critic Reviews

"This is a book to cherish and to hold close like a warm, cuddly blanket that you draw around yourself to keep out the cold." ( School Library Journal)

What listeners say about The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    845
  • 4 Stars
    72
  • 3 Stars
    13
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    683
  • 4 Stars
    70
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    5
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    703
  • 4 Stars
    59
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

grate book

I loved the book it has a great storyline. This is one of my favorite Jeanne birdsall books.I highly recommend it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sweet fun

What a sweet, fun, joy-filled story! Great narration maximizes the enjoyment, bringing forth the individuality and personality of each character.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Amazing❤️❤️❤️❤️❤️

Very good and wonderful. I loved it❤️ the narration was great!!❤️❤️ I give it 100 stars

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

excellent

Great story, family friendly, just plain fun. The whole series is fantastic and I recommend them.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Penderwicks on Gardam Street

I love this book so much !!!!!!i love every one in this series but this one the best !!!!! I especially like Sky in this book because she is loves math and Science

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love this series!

My 8 yr old boy, 9 yr old girl, and 11 yr old boy and I are listening to this series together. We all love it. My 16 year old boy even gets sucked into the story when he's around.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVEEE!!

love this book SO much! such a cute read! it was so exciting and the adventures the girls take you on are incredible!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very funny

Whoa. I never suspected that this book would have such plot line! It is amazing and I would recommend this book for ages 8 and up. Scarlet

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Penderwicks on Gardam Street

This is officially one of the best books ever written! My sister reads them first, then gets them on Audible, then she listens to it. And listens to it, and listens to it, and... well, you get my meaning. I loved them and so did my brother, but my sister tops love by far!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!

very funny great sense of humor I have listened to it 3 times highly recommended 🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈🌈

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Caron Chester
  • Caron Chester
  • 03-01-20

A beautiful, gentle tale....

Loved this (and I am definitely an adult!). Lovely characters, great story and beutifuuly narrated. Highly recommended!