adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Baby born September 5th 1934, approximately. Place of birth, unknown; father, unknown; mother unknown.  

Present day. Sarah Jennings knows there’s one place she can go to find some peace and quiet during her difficult divorce. But arriving at her beloved father’s home in the countryside, she finds him unwell and hunched over boxes of files, studying the records from Cedar Hall, the crumbling orphanage in town. He says that hidden behind the wrought iron gates and overgrown ivy are secrets about their family, and he asks for her help. 

Sarah goes to speak to Connie Burroughs, the only person left alive who lived at Cedar Hall. Her questions take Connie from the comfort of her nursing home right back to a chilly night in 1934, when as a little girl she saw her own father carrying a newborn baby, bundled in rags, that he said he’d found near the broken front gate. The day Connie began to protect his secrets. 

But just as Sarah begins to convince Connie that the truth can set her free, she realizes that unlocking the past might have heartbreaking consequences...

An emotional and uplifting reminder that incredible acts of courage can change the course of history, Ann Bennett’s powerful tale is inspired by the lives of the children who lived at her great-grandfather’s orphanage. Fans of Before We Were Yours, The Orphan’s Tale, and The Orphan Train will be hooked. 

This book was previously published as The Foundling’s Daughter.

©2020 Ann Bennett (P)2020 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Orphan House

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    514
  • 4 Stars
    184
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    527
  • 4 Stars
    121
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    446
  • 4 Stars
    164
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

The Orphan House

I loved this book. I couldn't put it down. I stayed up most of the night listening to it.

19 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

BEAUTIFUL STORY

Hard to put down. Gripped me from the first chapter. A well-developed plot, interesting characters, mystery, romance and intrigue made for a five-star novel.
Narrator 5 + Stars

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

The writing and performance way above average
Historically on spot
I listen to audible books religiously and this in top 10
Don’t miss “Giver of the Stars” JoJo Mayes either

10 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

great story

a bit predictable but a good book. my 12 yo daughter loved it as well.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unforgettable Story

This was a sad and moving story. So many lives affected by treachery. Loved the gentle ending.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Loved it

It is a well written story. Although sometimes predictable and has many coincidences I found it charming and relaxing especially after reading the vanishing half

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Ending could have been better

The story itself was pretty good. However, the ending left me wanting more. It felt like it ended abruptly. Overall, a pretty good book. It didn’t leave me upset that I spent a credit on it.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Boring story, poor narration.

this was hard book to finish. the narrator uses upspeak, so regular sentences some like questions. also very little inflection, so just a long monotonous not that interesting story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Meh

I couldn’t handle the clicking in the background, and the story seems unfinished. It wasn’t a bad book, just not my favorite.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

perfect historical worth listening to

this is my favorite book that I have listened to in a very long time. But at first it was slow but then once I settled down to really listen I couldn't put it down I am pretty much bed ridden and completely listened all at once by my standards it was wonderful. finally something worth staying awake for.

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pamela c.
  • pamela c.
  • 05-02-20

Beautiful

A beautifully read and riveting story, I was unable to stop listening, I listened to it a second time so that I didn’t miss any of the intricate details, it made me feel like going to India to see what was beautifully described

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mrs jane kennedy
  • mrs jane kennedy
  • 09-15-20

The Orphan House

Beautifully written, beautiful story ... history so much learning
Loved it .
Thank you so much.
Recommend.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for D. J. Brown
  • D. J. Brown
  • 12-18-20

interesting listen marred by the reader

the story was quite gripping apart from what I felt was a ridiculous ending . Overuse of sentimentality and the narration was annoyingly ponderous , over emphasising certain phrases. I wont listen to any more by this narrator or author

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 04-02-20

Intricate Detail Uncovers Intriguing Plot

Ann Bennett's beautifully written "Orphan House" weaves a fascinating and plausible tale of human emotions which span the generations and culminate in a rewarding conclusion. Naomi Frederick's reading gives each character clear definition which enables the listener to extract all the necessary characterisation to understand the subtle nuances influencing the story.
This is a satisfying "Audible" and makes me hungry for the next book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharon Vickery
  • Sharon Vickery
  • 04-05-20

Enthralling

iIthoroughly enjoyed frim beginning to end. The story tellers voice weaving an incredible story of
love and loss from India and beyond.
Well worth reading.