The Murder List

Detective Zac Boateng, Book 1
Narrated by: Damian Lynch
Series: Detective Zac Boateng, Book 1
Length: 9 hrs and 21 mins
4 out of 5 stars (16 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The lifeless body sat, hands bound, silver tape over his mouth. Patches of blood had soaked into the cheap carpet around him. Zac had spent years gaining scientific insight into the mind: human motivation and behaviour. And this scene wasn't right...

It's been five years since Detective Zac Boateng's daughter was murdered and her killer was never found. Now Zac is back working for the Metropolitan Police and is more determined than ever to bring the city's killers to justice.

When a man is found brutally murdered in a rundown south London shop, all fingers point to the highly intelligent and manipulative Darian Wallace. Two years ago, the victim helped send him to prison. And he's just been released.

Still grieving, Zac knows it will take everything he's got to catch this dangerously clever killer. But just as he feels he's getting closer, he realises all is not quite as it seems and he makes a devastating personal discovery.

Zac has a choice to make - risk letting this killer escape or watch his daughter's murderer get away again...

An absolutely gripping thriller for fans of Mark Billingham, Peter James and Lee Child. The Murder List is one fast-paced thriller you won't be able to put down.

©2018 Chris Merritt (P)2018 Audible, Ltd
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    10
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    3
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    2

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Engaging

I started listening to “The Murder List” right after I had surgery for a fractured ankle. I am sure the book is good, but I just could not get into it. It started off slow so that might also have been a factor.

The story was about a British police officer whose young daughter was killed in a convenience store shooting five year before. He is on the hunt for the killer. This is book one of a new series about Zac Boateng. In the future I might try to next book.

I read this as an audiobook downloaded from Audible. The book is nine and a half hours. Damian Lynch does a good job narrating the book.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good start to a new series

Also titled BRING HER BACK as well as THE MURDER LIST.

A great beginning. I like DI Zak Boateng, an African-English member of the Major Incident Team. The murder of their daughter several years ago haunts Zak and his wife Etta. They and their little boy, Kofi, are a happy family but Zak is obsessed with finding his daughter’s murderer. This gets him into tough situations not least of which is caused by him going off on his own without sanction or back-up.

I like the police colleagues; I look forward to reading more about them.

An old robbery, a newly released prisoner, an ex-special forces gun-for-hire, and revenge all make for a very interesting book. The narration done by Damian Lynch is first-rate. He brings Zak to live.

I am anxious now for the next book.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

4

Zac and Etta stole the show but there is plenty of room for sequels. The narrator is excellent. I liked hearing about the lives of Africans from different tribes living in South London. In fact there is so much of interest in this book I didn't pay much attention to the crimes though I would have loved to examine all that loot :-)

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent story with great characters!

I found this author as a recommendation and love the book and the narrator. Very believable story and characters are easy to relate to. By chapter one, I was emotionally involved with tears from the story's beginning. From there I was hooked. On to his next book...

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

NOPE

Synopsis said fast-paced, gripping thriller! NOPE, NOPE AND NOPE. seriously. I struggled to get thru it.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Convoluted

This is one of the longest, most boring books I have read. It went on and on. I am going to request a credit for this book. Do not waste your time!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • MC
  • 11-11-18

New series-enjoyable

This is a new series and I enjoyed it, would recommend. Not a lot of action/ violence but intriguing and held my interest. Will order the next in the series as I feel it will get better and better. #tagsgiving #sweepstakes

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Simon
  • Simon
  • 03-25-18

A Start of Considerable Merritt

I'm only too well aware that a single swallow doesn't make a summer so a good first book doesn't necessarily mean this will be a great series. However, with The Murder List Chris Merritt has certainly ticked all of the right boxes and could just be on the cusp of a fine career. A three book deal suggests his publishers think likewise . . . there will definitely be more to come!

His lead, Detective Zac Boateng is a man you can get right behind. A dedicated policeman, a student of the mind and a real family man trying with his wife to hold everything together after the tragic loss of his murdered daughter. Guilt and grief drive him to extremes and feed the flames of this well-paced story.

Merritt draws on his own considerable experience and knowledge having gained a double first at Oxford no less but the writing is sharp and direct. It's not burdened by theory or detail. The depth to the characters, which is considerable, comes instead by thought, action and deed. This is an author not afraid to blur the lines between good and evil, right and wrong as he delves into London gang culture with a hint of political intrigue.

Of course, when you have an audiobook involving tough characters in tough situations Damian Lynch is one of the go to narrators and he delivers with strength and his usual wide range of character voices.

The Murder List is a genuinely fine start to this series, the story forms a complete episode and sets up some potentially exciting strands for future development. I don't see detective Boateng getting an easy ride in the books to come!

22 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Tadhgh
  • Tadhgh
  • 04-01-18

Great paced, perfect for a commute.

Would you recommend this audiobook to a friend? If so, why?

I'd definitely recommend The Murder List to a friend, and already have. It's brilliantly paced and you look forward to the next moment you can pop your headphones in and get back to the story. If you know London, this is a real treat.

What about Damian Lynch’s performance did you like?

He brings a reality to the role and travelling through London on the bus or tube you know he gets everything about the world of the book. Staring out of the bus window, and listening to him - it's like he's narrating the London you're looking at.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Nana Chris
  • Nana Chris
  • 06-05-18

Great listen

Loved this story. The narrator was very good and the characters were believable and sympathetic. Definitely one to watch.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Melanie Preston Lewis
  • Melanie Preston Lewis
  • 05-16-18

Good start

Great first book. Zac is an interesting character. I'm looking forward to reading more from Chris Merritt and following Zac's career. Great narration from Damian Lynch

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sam H.
  • Sam H.
  • 04-20-18

A fluent and beautifully crafted page-turner

This story flows with realism and pathos. It is clear that Chris has researched the subject matter and carries the voices of the characters with depth and believability. Get it, read it, share it!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Michelle
  • Michelle
  • 07-13-18

concentration needed but loved it

loved the book, and you will too. concentrate though!

downloading the next one

Michelle D

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 04-02-18

Brilliant new detective comes to life

If you could sum up The Murder List in three words, what would they be?

Exciting, fast-moving thriller

What did you like best about this story?

I listened to this alongside the kindle version, and Damian Lynch's performance conveyed the different characters from all over south London beautifully. The writing is slick and Merritt keeps you guessing right to the end. You get totally invested in the hunt for Detective Zac Boateng's nemesis, and find yourself rooting for so many different people as the story goes on - even the bad guys....

Which scene did you most enjoy?

There are two that stand out from the Wimbledon dog track. You feel as though you're watching those greyhounds run!

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

Absolutely.

Any additional comments?

I'm preordering the next book in the series as soon as I can.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for mollyeyre
  • mollyeyre
  • 04-24-19

Enjoyable

I haven't read anything by this author before, and although I do have some criticisms, I think that I will try the second in the series.

My criticisms....... The narrator spoke very quickly in some places, and that, together with the strong cockney/Jamaican accents made it quite difficult to understand without rewinding.
Zac behaved very strangely for a police officer, won't specify for fear of making spoilers.

Overall, I am hoping that I have 'found' a new author to enjoy. I liked his characters overall, and that is usually a clincher for me as I need to care what happens to them.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ebru AW
  • Ebru AW
  • 03-31-18

No surprises here

It’s good enough to pass time but grief-stricken-father-detective stereotype can take a detective story only so far. I would have to see the reviews before I can agree to listen to another story starred by this selfish and not-very-smart detective.

1 person found this helpful