Your audiobook is waiting…

The Murder List

Narrated by: Angela Dawe
Length: 11 hrs and 13 mins
4 out of 5 stars (26 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

The Murder List is a new stand-alone suspense novel in the tradition of Lisa Scottoline and B. A. Paris from award-winning author and reporter Hank Phillippi Ryan.

"An exhilarating thrill ride that keeps you turning pages...Ryan deftly delivers a denouement as shocking as it is satisfying." (Liv Constantine, best-selling author of The Last Mrs. Parrish and The Last Time I Saw You)

Law student Rachel North will tell you, without hesitation, what she knows to be true. She's smart, she’s a hard worker, she does the right thing, she’s successfully married to a faithful and devoted husband, a lion of Boston's defense bar, and her internship with the Boston DA's office is her ticket to a successful future.

Problem is she’s wrong. And in this cat-and-mouse game - the battle for justice becomes a battle for survival.

©2019 Hank Phillippi Ryan (P)2019 Macmillan Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Why the low ratings?

As of this writing there are three ratings. One person rated this five stars and two people have rated it one star. I’m not sure why but I’m happy to say I am giving this book a five star review.
The book begins slowly as the characters are developed. Once established the story picks up momentum about the half way point. It vacillates between past and present until the two collide. The publisher’s summary gives enough information that I don’t want to elaborate on the characters. The plot though is very interesting. This is a legal thriller not a court room drama. You’re really not sure who the murderer is until the end and then it’s a bit of a shock. The epilogue is rather weird but fitting.
Angela Dawe does a great job narrating.
I really enjoyed this book and HIGHLY RECOMMEND it.
If you found this review helpful please indicate so.
Thank You.

25 of 25 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Ryan's best book yet

Wowie wow wow! This was a GREAT thriller. So many triangles. So many twists and turns. Nearly every chapter ended with a new shocker. I couldn't put it down.
My only question about the feasibility of this novel's premise is: Would a public prosecutor turn private detective on the cases she works on? Would she show up at the crime scene with the police or before the police? Would she write her own search warrants and interview subjects on her own in their homes? I wouldn't have thought so, but this one definitely does.
Best of all, Ryan keeps it all clean. No sex. No bad language. Lots of excitement!
Angela Dawe did a great job with all of the characters, and although the timeline flips around a bit, her narration kept me sharp to the time.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Such a disappointing listen

I really struggled to find ANYTHING redeeming about this book. Every single character is miserable and unlikeable. The three main characters, The DA, The Defense Attorney and The law student were just horrible people and promulgates the stereotype that lawyers are bad people. Without giving away the story, the ending was totally unbelievable. It is revealed as an epilogue and literally contradicts EVERYTHING we know from the rest of the book. I couldn't be more disappointed in a novel