Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

New York Times best-selling author Darcie Chan returns to the enchanting town of Mill River in a heartwarming novel of family, self-discovery, and forgiveness. Perfect for fans of Maeve Binchy.

Josie DiSanti is starting over. Recently widowed, she has fled her New York City home with her two young daughters - spirited Rose and shy Emily - in tow. She takes refuge in Mill River, Vermont, to live with her only remaining relative, Ivy Collard, the local bookstore owner and a woman Josie barely knows. There, the young mother and her girls build a new life for themselves - until a shocking tragedy tears the sisters apart.

Years later, Josie’s still-estranged daughters return to the quiet town for the reading of their mother’s will, which stipulates that they must work together to locate a hidden key to a safe-deposit box containing their inheritance. Even from the great beyond, it seems Josie will do anything to bring about her daughters’ reconciliation. Having no choice but to go along with their mother’s final wishes, Rose and Emily move back to Mill River for the summer to begin the search - discovering that, in the close-knit community known for magic and miracles, an even greater treasure awaits them.

©2014 Darcie Chan (P)2014 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"Darcie Chan paints a vivid and loving portrait of the kind of small town we all wished we lived in. This layered tale of two estranged sisters brought together by a mother’s love will make you laugh, cry, cheer, hug your loved ones a little tighter. An enchanting storyteller, Chan is one of those rare authors who make you feel more fully alive." (Elizabeth Letts, number-one New York Times best-selling author of The Eighty-Dollar Champion)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    15
  • 4 Stars
    16
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • E
  • 09-02-14

Another wonderful book from Darcie Chan

The new book The Mill River Redemption revisits Mill River and some of the characters from the previous novel The Mill River Recluse. We get to see what happened to some of the previous characters while being totally engrossed in the story of the two sisters Rose and Emily. While this is in the same world as the previous novel, it is not exactly a sequel and reading, or listening to it, can be done without confusion.

There is quite a twist at the end of this book, but I think it made for a more interesting and surprising story. The narration done by Amy Rubinate was excellent.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful