Regular price: $31.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Lee Child, Terry Hayes, and Laura Lippman comes a blistering thriller in which Vanessa Michael Munroe faces the fight of her life.

Vanessa Michael Munroe, chameleon and information hunter, has a reputation for getting things done: dangerous and not quite legal things that have taken her undercover into some of the world's deadliest places. Still healing from a Somali hijacking gone wrong and a brutal attack that left her near death, Munroe joins her lover, Miles Bradford, in Japan, where he's working as a security consultant protecting high-value technology from industrial espionage. In the domesticity of their routine, she finds long sought-after peace - until Bradford is arrested for murder, and the same interests who targeted him come after her, too.

Searching for answers and fighting to stay alive, Munroe will soon discover how far she'll go to save Bradford from spending the next 20 years in locked-up isolation; how many laws she'll break when the truth seems worse than his lies; and who to trust and who she must kill. Because she's a strategist and hunter with a predator's instincts, and the man she loves has just stabbed her in the back.

With break-neck pacing, incendiary prose, and an unforgettable cast of characters, The Mask features Vanessa Michael Munroe: a brilliant, lethal heroine who will stop at nothing to find the truth, no matter what it may cost.

©2015 Taylor Stevens (P)2015 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"Munroe is a sensational character and Stevens is a sensational writer." (Lee Child, New York Times best-selling author of the Jack Reacher series)
"Stevens excels at depicting pulse-pounding danger, and her prose and plotting are spectacular....Only Dan Brown and Lee Child come close." ( Dallas Morning News)
"[Munroe is] a protagonist as deadly as she is irresistible." (Vince Flynn)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    54
  • 3 Stars
    15
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    111
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    94
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    16
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Joanne
  • Burlington, Ontario, Canada
  • 07-06-15

Very good

Would you listen to The Mask again? Why?

Yes. The book started off a bit slowly - building a sense of place and leaving this reader as off-balance as a "domesticated" Munro. As the story progresses, the pace picks up and the early "lull" makes complete sense. I would listen again in order to be more respectful of the the writer's perfect sense of timing.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Vanessa/Michael continues to be my favorite character in this series. Taylor Stevens describes the experience of a survivor of extreme trauma without flinching - while compassion and love can exist, the skills and mindset acquired to make survival possible have a life of their own.

Which scene was your favorite?

The scene where Vanessa/Michael organizes her contract with Capstone for Miles' rescue is one of my favorites. On the surface, it seems wrong for Vanessa/Michael to ask for payment; however, she is doing what she must do to surface the skills that will ultimately set Miles free.

Any additional comments?

Several plot lines were woven into the story, not all of which felt necessary. I would be interested to know more about one of important characters in the story - Munro's "mirror". In all, the story held together very well and it was a very enjoyable "listen".

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another fabulous Munroe story

Did the plot keep you on the edge of your seat? How?

Like each of the Munroe novels since the first one (The Informationist), the plot of "The Mask" is rich, intriguing, keeps you guessing, and makes sense. Having lived in Japan, I can also affirm that the setting is well-developed and authentic. I'm particularly impressed that Taylor Stevens consistently creates stories that maintain this level of quality.

What does Hillary Huber bring to the story that you wouldn’t experience if you just read the book?

I mostly listen to audiobooks for convenience, so I can listen while commuting, running, etc. But there are audiobooks and there are audiobooks, and Hillary Huber's are definitely in the highest class.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Japan interest

So glad I found this series. Strong woman. Read the first book to help shape the relationship first

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Nikki
  • Lafayette, LA, USA
  • 07-21-15

Love Vanessa Michael Munroe

Awesome series!!! Love narrator as her voice represents Michael perfectly!
The characters and adventures are spectacular with each new book. Can't wait for the next one.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

She has done it again

The Mask is perhaps my second favorite next to The Informationist. The protagonist is so frustratingly good and she is her own best friend and worst enemy. Stevens books give me strength.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Love the writer, Love the reader and love the book

Any additional comments?

This book can be read as a stand alone novel but it is the story of a strong female protagonist carried through several previous books.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Gypsy
  • Cincinnati, OH USA
  • 09-08-16

Wow. Just Wow.

Seductive is the best word I can use to describe Taylor Stevens writing. Her ability to pull you into an experience that is so far out of the norm is phenomenal.

Hillary Huber's languid style turns every word into an event.

I'll be coming back for more.

0 of 1 people found this review helpful