Regular price: $19.95

Membership details Membership details
  • 30 days of membership free, plus 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals to get you started.
  • After trial, you'll get 3 titles each month: 1 audiobook and 2 Audible Originals of your choice.
  • Don't like your audiobook? Swap it for free.
  • Cancel anytime and keep your audiobooks.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
  • Get access to the Member Daily Deal
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Conor Maguire nearly lost his daughter Barb when she was three years old, injured by the drunk driver that killed his wife. When the justice system failed him, Conor - the son and grandson of IRA bombers - retaliated against the driver in dramatic and gruesome fashion. While an ironclad alibi prevented the police from pinning the murder on Conor, it did not prevent a covert agency within the US government from recruiting the talented young bomber and machinist.

For over 25 years, Conor designed and built custom weapons of death and destruction at his compound in the mountains of Virginia. Then a series of devastating terror attacks brought down the United States. Conor and Barb assumed they were safe in their secure compound. They had food and a water source. They were armed and highly-trained. Then Barb was kidnapped.

The kidnappers, needing slave labor for their farm, didn’t know why Conor was known as "The Mad Mick". They didn’t know the fear and respect his name invoked in the shadowy world of covert operations. They didn’t know that when it came to protecting his family, he was without conscience, without compassion, and without equal.

But they would soon find out.

©2018 Franklin Horton (P)2018 Franklin Horton

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    288
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    286
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    266
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another winner from the dynamic duo

Another winner from the dynamic duo Franklin Horton and Kevin Pierce. The first book in Horton’s new Mad Mick series is another original perspective in post-apocalyptic fiction. As prolific as Horton is, I’m always impressed with his talent for creating unique stories in a genre saturated with derivatives, but he once again proves it’s possible in The Mad Mick.

Book One feels almost like a prequel, as it focuses primarily on character development in preparation for what I anticipate will be a multi-book series. There is certainly enough action to keep it interesting (in fact, most of the book is a chase, as two main characters track the kidnapped third main character), but the action is a slow burn that culminates with the confrontation in the last several chapters. Even without the constant, edge-of-your-seat tension typical of most PA novels, Horton manages to keep the reader’s attention as he reveals the backstories of his characters and lets them unfold. My attention didn’t waver as I listened, and I was surprised when I realized the book was nearing its end, because the hours passed quickly. Of course, Kevin Pierce’s narration was a big factor in maintaining energy and excitement in this character-focused story, and without him, I would not have enjoyed listening as much as I did.

I appreciate Horton’s originality, but I still enjoy the elements of the tried and true PA story (modern conveniences abruptly disappear; people scavenge; gangs and/or government enslave/terrorize; heroes emerge to fight the bad guys and survive in the new world). I suspect (and hope) this series will move in that direction, but I think it will maintain a fresh perspective.

I gave this book 4 stars, because I reserve my 5 star reviews for books that I can’t put down. Because this one is more character development than edge-of-your-seat action, I wasn’t compelled to stay up all night listening to it; however, I think the next volumes in the series will move in that direction. I also gave Kevin Pierce a rare 4 stars (instead of the usual 5), only because his Irish accent was inconsistent and occasionally absent. Since two of the three main characters have Irish accents, this was a little distracting. I would actually give him a 4.5 if I could, because it was not that big of an issue.

I definitely recommend this book for fans of Horton, Pierce, and apocalyptic fiction in general. I received a copy of the book in exchange for an honest review. Like you, I rely on the reviews of others when selecting books from Audible, so I always give a frank and honest description in every review I write.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Darlene
  • CHICO, TX, United States
  • 10-29-18

Mad Mick is fierce!

I loved this character in Grace Under Fire and now I know more of his story. His daughter Barb is another of those strong females that Franklin Horton writes that would make any woman want to be her. I hope to hear more from Conor, Barb and Ragus one day. Thank you Kevin Pierce for another wonderful narration!

3 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I can't wait for the next one!

Wow, what a great start to a series. The book itself was a great story but also laid the foundation for a series with post apocalyptic themes, a rival power, roots in the clandestine services, and the IRA!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Franklin does it again.

Mad Mick is one of his best novels. New characters and new adventures but enough from previous books to make it feel like I am reading about old friends. dangerous old friends.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A complete story

It's great to read a complete story in this genre for a change. This story is obviously contrived to maximize the action, but at least it's finished. There were a few points in the story where I thought to myself: "Alright, already. I get the picture. Now let's move on." But there's plenty of action and suspense, albeit a bit unrealistic.

Kevin Pierce delivers his customary solid performance.

NOTE: I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Wrong Narrator!

Kevin Pierce is my least favorite narrator - ever. Usually I can lose myself in the story and ignore Mr Pierce’s monotone. This particular Audible book, however, has two main characters who are supposed to have an Irish accent or at least Irish inflection. Mr. Pierce occasionally gives the voices a German flavor but never Irish. So disappointing.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great listen

Mr Horton has done it once again! Bet well written and performed, absolutely recommend this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait for more in the series!

As with all of Franklin Horton's books, this one was amazing. Kevin Pierce's performance was equally fantastic.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Mad Mick is awesome!

I first met The Mad Mick in Grace Under Fire, an excellent sequel to Locker 9. Hortons storytelling keeps you on the edge of your seat with great characters painting the picture.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

awesome

great book. I can't wait for the next one to come. the borrowed world series was awesome too.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • John G
  • 12-01-18

Mad Mick is not a hero

Ragus, was the real hero in this story, not the IRA terrorist murdering scumbag portrayed as a decent familyman. If you got rid of that connection to the murdering filth portrayed as freedom fighters, you would gave a great story.