1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Last Wife  By  cover art

The Last Wife

By: Nicola Marsh
Narrated by: Patricia Rodriguez
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Trusting his family was her first mistake.

All Ria ever wanted was a family. Growing up alone in foster care, she imagined just how it would be. So when she fell in love with Grayson and had their daughter Shelley, she was determined to make his family love her too. She knew she’d never fit in with her glamorous sisters-in-law, or at the exclusive picture-perfect Chicago parties her mother-in-law threw, but with Grayson’s arm around her waist she tried her best to be a Parker. 

Everything changed when Grayson disappeared.

Until one morning, Grayson leaves the house for work and never comes home. Left to raise Shelley alone, Ria is forced to turn to her husband’s family, to let her intimidating mother-in-law into her life, allow her to babysit Shelley, and accept her financial support. She tries to ignore the feeling that her sisters-in-law never thought she was good enough. They say they have no idea what happened to Grayson, and she tries very hard to believe them. 

But Ria is about to learn that every Parker wife has secrets. 

And protecting her daughter might come at a terrible price....

Utterly compelling, The Last Wife is an emotionally-charged novel about what one woman will do to survive. Perfect for fans of Liane Moriarty, Kerry Fisher, and The Other Woman.

©2019 Nicola Marsh (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Last Wife

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    27
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

hmmm so so

ok story, maybe a pool side read. not really intriguing or mysterious. not really satisfying but not horrible. I will never think of these characters again or the story line.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

I really enjoyed this! Her vast vocabulary is demonstrated beautifully and she really developed the characters well. I loved it!

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

The title does not do it

remember going to the grocery store and seeing those outlandish books with the male hero and the damsel in distress, soft porn was another term. that was this book and more. I'm into mysteries myself so this book had nothing to offer me. Just chose the wrong book.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for christine young
  • christine young
  • 10-22-19

Kept hoping it would improve

Story line was confusing & a weak plot. Ending was pathetic. Perhaps if the narrator had been engaging then the story might have felt better but the accent & drawl was irritating. I don’t us

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Una
  • Una
  • 03-18-20

Trite and awful grating narration

The book might have been ok if it hadn’t been for the dreadful narration. All the characters sounded the same and they all sounded whiny as hell.

Gave up half way through and read the book instead. Wasn’t much better but at least that god awful voice was gone.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimber
  • Kimber
  • 11-22-19

A waste of credit

I have never heard a more irritating narration! The story is so predictable, boring characters.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Christine Brennan
  • Christine Brennan
  • 06-05-21

Kept waiting for it to get better

The narration was grating. The story was mediocre. I was thinking there must be a twist to make the whole process worthwhile. There wasn’t and it wasn’t.