adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $29.95

Buy for $29.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this wildly imaginative novel for fans of Dark Matter and Ready Player One, listeners are transported to the near future, and when a young boy attempting to teleport gets lost in transit, his parents will do whatever it takes to find him in “the in between.” 

The year is 2047, and teleportation is the cutting-edge transportation method of choice - Teleportation Services International (TSI) operates facilities in all of the world’s major cities. When Lillian, a TSI employee, wins a once-in-a-lifetime family vacation, she knows it’s just a photo op for the tech giant, but she takes the opportunity and books a trip to Tokyo with her husband Jackson and their six-year-old son Cole. But before they arrive, tragedy strikes: Cole disappears in transit. 

Lillian and Jackson take very different paths to cope: Lillian wants justice for her son's death and attempts to find those responsible by conducting a covert investigation from within TSI. Jackson, meanwhile, is convinced that Cole is still alive somewhere in “the in between” and teleports back and forth from Japan, over and over again, to find him. 

Ultimately, this explosive and thought-provoking story asks ambitious questions about technology, power, and our rapidly changing world.

©2019 Michael Landweber (P)2020 Audible Originals, LLC.

What listeners say about The In Between

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    256
  • 4 Stars
    119
  • 3 Stars
    53
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    3
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    281
  • 4 Stars
    77
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    222
  • 4 Stars
    93
  • 3 Stars
    58
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Promising to Painful

I can't exactly pinpoint the area where this book lost me, but it tumbled into predictability after the first crisis occurred. I was out of credits, so I actually spent money on this and now I'm adding it to my ever expanding list of poor life choices. Save your cash and don't add it to yours.

72 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
  • J
  • 03-14-20

it's ok. dragged on a bit

why have two narrators if they read the same characters?! it's confusing for the listener. how stupid.

26 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Another Engaging Story from Michael Landweber!

This is the second book of Michael Landweber's that I've read/heard, and it doesn't disappoint. This book, like his last, delves deeply into the psychology of his characters and the details of the surroundings to provide an immersive reading/listening experience, but without being pedantic. Flawed characters are often the most interesting characters, and Michael provides his main characters with significant challenges to overcome. The performance of both readers was excellent, with both Mark and Brittany providing an engaging listening experience. I was particularly pleased to hear Mark Boyett's range and versatility in this performance after primarily identifying with his work on BV Larson's novels here on Audible, which is also excellent, but very different in tone. I would have given the story 5-stars, but it felt a bit "rushed" at the end with certain aspects of the story line falling into place a bit too smoothly instead of maintaining a high level of tension all the way to the end. Despite that, I felt that listening to the novel was still well worth the time, and I highly recommend it.

16 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A thought-provoking glimpse into the future!

Michael Landweber's engrossing book quickly transported me to the year 2047, where an energetic group of first-graders were touring the Teleportation Services Center. Hmmm... I was hooked! I started dreaming of teleporting to Paris or Rome. One of the students, Cole, disappears suddenly, and it was interesting to read about how his parents dealt with this frightening situation in very different ways. The book is full of technology: talking walls, teleportation machines, and self-driving cars. Landweber makes good use of foreshadowing to keep the reader engaged, and his writing is fresh and beautiful ("Zippers of light tore the sky open" when describing an oncoming storm.) I loved this book! Sent it as a gift right away!

8 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

FANTASTIC ! Couldn't stop listening!

Fascinating! Every color every word beautifully explained and described. I didn't want it to end!


7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fast, compelling read

This is a fast, compelling read, with a propulsive story and good character development. Highly recommend.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

imaginative science with empathetic characters

I have read/heard all three of Landweber’s books and each time have been amazed by his imagination, creativity, and extension of the science we know into some other time/place where we’ve never been. In “The In Between” he achieves a nice balance of imaginative science with empathetic characters. He creates a world of the near future that seems like it has plausible extensions of our current problems (climate change, pandemic for example), and then also creates his own world somewhere else (the In Between). If I were to criticize, I would mention my frustration with the parents who don’t begin to take any action for a few days. In retrospect, this could be seen as a strength, as my frustration showed that I was invested enough in the family to want to yell at them to do something. They were who they were, and they weren’t me. Eventually they did do something (lots) and success came their way.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hopeful story fits these strange days

Great story -- the pieces fit nicely together (with some extra nice clicking together at the end) and the characters are fun to root for. And as the present moment seems more and more like a sci fi scenario, Landweber's vision of our societal responses to climate change and pandemics was eerily spot-on. I only hope the real future holds as much hope for us all as this book does.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Such a great story

And the timing couldn’t be better for our 2020 world of ever changing reality... a pandemic and massive hurricanes that require new infrastructure - gives us an idea of how we may be able to make a future out of the current chaos.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved the ways the author worked things out in the end.

Fantastic book. Characters are totally believable and are introduced timely. Interesting twists and turns. Entertaining fantasy/science fiction but you don’t feel like that’s what you’re reading. Instead you feel like Your read a novel happening now. Highly recommend!

5 people found this helpful