Regular price: $24.50

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

At last, the full story behind Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman's epic romance, including stories, portraits, and the occasional puzzle, all telling the smoldering tale that has fascinated Hollywood for over a decade. 

The year: 2000. The setting: Los Angeles. A gorgeous virtuoso of an actress had agreed to star in a random play, and a basement-dwelling scenic carpenter had said he would assay a supporting role in the selfsame pageant. At the first rehearsal, she surveyed her fellow cast members, as one does, determining if any of the men might qualify to provide her with a satisfying fling. Her gaze fell upon the carpenter, and like a bolt of lightning, the thought struck her: No dice. Moving on.  

Yet, unbeknownst to our protagonists, Cupid had merely set down his bow and picked up a rocket launcher. Then fired a love rocket (not a euphemism). The players were Megan Mullally and Nick Offerman, and the resulting romance, once it ignited, was... epic. Beyond epic. It resulted in a coupling that has endured to this day; a sizzling, perpetual tryst that has captivated the world with its kindness, athleticism, astonishingly low-brow humor, and true (fire emoji) passion.  

How did they do it? They came from completely different families, endured a significant age difference, and were separated by the gulf of several social strata. Megan loved books and art history; Nick loved hammers. But much more than these seemingly unsurpassable obstacles were the values they held in common: respect, decency, the ability to mention genitalia in almost any context, and an abiding obsession with the songs of Tom Waits.  

Eighteen years later, they're still very much in love, and have finally decided to reveal the philosophical mountains they have conquered, the lessons they've learned, and the myriad jigsaw puzzles they've completed, in an audiobook. Featuring anecdotes, hijinks, interviews, photos, and a veritable grab bag of tomfoolery, this is not only the intoxicating audiobook that Mullally's and Offerman's fans have been waiting for, it might just hold the solution to the greatest threat facing our modern world: the single life.

©2018 Nick Offerman and Megan Mullally (P)2018 Penguin Audio

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    266
  • 4 Stars
    63
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    3

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    295
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    228
  • 4 Stars
    62
  • 3 Stars
    30
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    6
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Ruthi
  • On a Mountain In Oregon
  • 10-03-18

Perfect comedy memoir audiobook

I think this is by far the best comedic memoir I’ve ever had the pleasure of reading. And in audiobook format it is absolutely perfect; I can’t imagine enjoying this book any other way. Megan & Nick have far too great of chemistry to not hear them narrate. If you need a happy, hilarious book- get this one!! You can’t get any better!

7 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Not sure if I like or not.

It's like listening to a podcast (2 people chatting), more than reading from an already written book. I wonder what's actually in the book? A direct transcripts from their hours of chatting? And this doesn't come with the photos download!

11 of 13 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Seriously SO entertaining!

Listen to this! I am half way through and it is soooo entertaining and FUNNY. It is read by the authors so I highly highly suggest getting the audio book as opposed to reading the paper version. You have to hear this in their voices, with their banter. They are truly just so sweet and in love, it makes for a very fun and happy listen.Very lighthearted look into their life together, their humor with each other and on the screen, how they met, etc. Chapters are broken down well and they ask each other fun questions. You can tell they learned even a lot about each other while writing this bk. Reads almost like a podcast, or as if they are sitting across the table from you. I am sad to be nearing the end and hope for a pt2. Love their story. Reads and flows well.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love!!

Hysterical, touching, fun and a great listen! They are such great writers and entertainers. I thoroughly enjoyed every minute and wish I could be a fly on their wall!!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Heartwarming, thoughtful, fun!

Delightfully down to earth and relatable! This book feels honest and is not "pushy" in it's delivery. Both entertaining and thought provoking. Very enjoyable listen!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

relationship goals...loved this book..sad its over

felt like more of a conversation than reading a book line by line..fun to listen to.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fans of Mullally or Offerman will love this!

I laughed out loud in my kitchen, on the sidewalk, and on the train while listening to this audiobook. It was hilarious, and perfectly inappropriate!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • CS
  • 10-19-18

Great comedy memior

Megan and Nick are the perfect narrators, I wish they could narrate more books. It feels like you're listening to a casual conversation between them as you learn about their lives and love story.

If anyone was a good laugh and appreciates learning about other people, this is a great read!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

My New Friends and Delicious, Fun Read

I really enjoyed getting to know Megan and Nick through this book. Megan and Nick, if you are reading this review, know that if I ever see you in person, I promise to not ask for a selfie (not that I would do that...), but rather introduce myself and truly be interested in YOU. ;) I feel like y’all are friends now with how personable, funny, kind and a little corny. Plus I just spent like 20 hours listening to y’all talk. It must be entertaining to do that. I loved every minute of it and recommend for a lighthearted read.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good, Really Funny. Listen with your boo.

Love their back and forth but wish I knew of this differed from the book (because it was just SO conversational) or if it was spot on. Loved it either way.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Joe
  • 10-17-18

Great Story

This is a great story. It's not life changing. It's fun though. I'm not sure it's the greatest lovestory but it is a lovestory

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Amazon Customer
  • 10-13-18

Couldn't love them more!

A great, feel-good listen. It's nice to hear about how they balance their home life, work life and being regular human beings. It was a gift to listen to.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • K. J. Noyes
  • 10-04-18

Funny couple make for a funny listen.

Showcasing a healthy, happy relationship, a funny audio monologue from a pair of genuinely funny actors.

4.5 stars.

I'll be honest, I clicked on this because my husband has a bit of a 'man crush' on Ron Swanson (whose picture rests next to my own on his desk at work), and Parks and Recreation is also one of my favourites. I was honestly interested to hear about Offerman's and Mullally's lives and loves, knowing the kind of comic characters they've portrayed, how entertaining this was likely to be.

The narrated version is a joy, I love Offerman's rich voice, though I'm afraid Mullally, though very witty grates a little on me (sorry! Personal taste). As well as learning about their own history and lives, they talk about general themes on finding 'a mate' and relationships themselves.

I loved hearing them talk together, clearly scripted at times, but also improvised and making each other laugh at others. A warm partnership that I almost felt jealous of. There were a couple of slightly over-done moments (the chapter on sex was a bit uncomfortable) of lovey-doveyness, but on the whole they stayed on the right side of affectionate.

It's a fairly short listen, I managed it in just a couple of days, and while I probably wouldn't go for a second listen, I would recommend to fans of either actor, to those interested in 'behind the scenes' of TV/film, to those who enjoy comedy and relationship reads.

With thanks to Nudge Books for providing a sample Audible copy.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Anonymous User
  • 10-16-18

Brilliant! 5 gold stars!

Honest, witty and oh so good. i laughed out loud the entire time. so great!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Abby
  • 10-09-18

Love these two, pity there was no PDF

Cute story, felt like they were telling me about their lives over a 6-hour long dinner party. Just wished there had been a PDF of all the photos they referred to.