The Girls in the Lake

Beth Adams, Book 2
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Series: Beth Adams, Book 2
Length: 7 hrs and 53 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (65 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Peering over the side of the boat, the glare of early morning sun catches on something pale in the inky water. The boy’s curious fingertips break the surface, pulling up a tangle of long blonde hair from the reeds below....

The discovery of a young student floating face down in Lake Windermere, her naked skin almost translucent in the freezing water, looks like yet another tragic teen suicide. But the victim’s lack of clothes make forensic pathologist Beth Adams want to investigate further. Anything to distract her from the arrival of her abusive ex-boyfriend’s body on the mortuary table that morning. 

With witnesses keeping tight-lipped and any clues washed away by the tides, it’s up to Beth to find the evidence her team needs. But then another girl is found in the lake, this time still clinging to life. She tells them she was at a party on a boat, and that she was pushed....

As more bodies surface, Beth finds tiny traces of boat paint present on each victim. It’s a critical lead that links these attacks back to a tragic accident involving a group of school children years ago. 

Faced with a killer hungry for revenge, and with her own life spiralling out of control, it’s going to take every ounce of skill and determination for Beth to catch this monster before he takes another innocent life. But will Beth realise he’s been right beside her all along? 

A serial killer thriller that will have you sleeping with the lights on. Fans of Patricia Gibney, LJ Ross, and Angela Marsons will have to hold on tight for this nail-biting rollercoaster ride!

©2019 Helen Phifer (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    41
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    17
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Andromeda's Twin
  • Andromeda's Twin
  • 12-14-19

Great thriller

This is a great follow up to book one, The Girl in the Grave, which I very much enjoyed after a rough start.

This story starts with the non couple Josh and Beth having become an actual couple, which surprised me, so early in a series, but it plays a part in the story (not an edifying part).

Beth is still prone to annoying self doubts and mind wandering but overall she's rather a likeable character despite these flaws, so she's rather more human and believeable than some super hero cops/pathologists/psychologists.

I admit to having been totally thrown by the big reveal at the end, I had my suspicions, but I really was surprised when it all came to light, well done Ms Phifer.

I love Beth, I love this series, I will certainly get the next book.

Alison Campbell is not the best narrator for any thriller but she portrays Beth quite well, since Beth is lacking in confidence and generally seems pretty young and Alison is always pleasant to listen to.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Maureen Sutton
  • Maureen Sutton
  • 12-13-19

Good story

Thoroughly enjoyable with a surprise at the end. Look forward to her next book.No more than I can say

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Richardson
  • Jan Richardson
  • 12-29-19

Great Story

Couldn't put this book down loved every bit of it good narrator ....
loved thw twists such a great writer

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sharyn Hutchens
  • Sharyn Hutchens
  • 01-30-20

The Girls in the Lake

I struggled with the narrator's voice so much so I couldn't continue listening to the book

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for eob
  • eob
  • 12-20-19

Good story but narrator’s voice grates

The narrative is interesting and provides lots of twists and well developed characters, but the voice of the narrator can be very grating at times. It’s “little girl” quality is unsuitable for this genre.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 02-10-20

Another Good Beth Adams Mystery

Well narrated, a good story overall. As usual, it was not the usual suspect! Some good twists & turns.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-23-20

Totally disconnected and boring

What a time waster! Spent an hour trying to get into it but the story drifts here there and everywhere you can’t piece together what’s relevant, so not recommending

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Bonnies Book Talk
  • Bonnies Book Talk
  • 01-06-20

Fabulous!

Helen Phifer is one of my favorite authors and this didn’t disappoint it was an excellent read. A cracking start to 2020! Exciting and tense it kept me gripped through the whole book. Totally loved it, it was brilliant.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-28-19

easy to listen to

initially not impressed but it grew on me. listened to the whole book over the weekend.