• The Girl in the Sand

  • Violet Darger, Volume 3
  • By: L.T. Vargus, Tim McBain
  • Narrated by: Kate Marcin
  • Length: 10 hrs and 3 mins
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars (474 ratings)
LIMITED-TIME OFFER

3 months free
Offer ends February 21st, 2024 at 11:59PM ET.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 3 months. Cancel anytime.
The Girl in the Sand  By  cover art

The Girl in the Sand

By: L.T. Vargus,Tim McBain
Narrated by: Kate Marcin
Try for $0.00

$14.95/mo. after 3 months. Cancel anytime. Offer ends February 21st, 2024 at 11.59PM ET.

Buy for $21.99

Buy for $21.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Shallow graves scar the desert landscape. A cemetery in the sand. Some of the lost are never found.  

Thousands of girls go missing every year in Las Vegas. Taken. Bought and sold. Or worse. Now the dead are calling.  

These lost girls summon FBI Profiler Violet Darger to Sin City - a new case. There are fresh dead to sort through - two bodies burned beyond recognition in the trunk of a sedan - and there’s reason to believe there are missing girls waiting to be saved.  

Rumors swirl that a legendary killer is responsible for these crimes: an escaped prisoner with a personal grudge against Darger - one who wants her and her partner dead. One who disappeared for 20 years. But the desert is full of deadly secrets - horrors waiting beneath the sand.  

If Darger finds the killer in time, the girls will live. If not...  

This pulse-pounding thriller will have you holding your breath until the final moment. Fans of John Sandford, Karin Slaughter, Gillian Flynn, and Lisa Gardner should check out the Violet Darger series. 

The audiobooks in the series can be listened to in any order, so grab The Girl in the Sand and get started today.

©2018 L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain (P)2018 L.T. Vargus and Tim McBain

What listeners say about The Girl in the Sand

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    332
  • 4 Stars
    87
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    10
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    343
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    297
  • 4 Stars
    88
  • 3 Stars
    33
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

intriguing to the end

This is a eally a good book that holds your attention to the last page

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Terrible

This is the worst book I have ever listened to. This writer spends 75 percent of the book looking at the story through the eyes of victims in the most morbid and horrible way over and over and over and over. The actual plot and story could have been accomplished in one hour. All of the rest of the book is morbid and horrible. Absolutely terrible book

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful

THIS REVIEW IS FOR BOTH THE AUDIOBOOK AND EBOOK VERSIONS
Great story, really enjoyed these characters and the narration was wonderfully preformed. This was another intriguing book I definitely recommend it and I am anxious for the next book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Unfinished business

I liked the story & characters. However, a lot of answers were not quite finished up. Like how mark was arrested & whatever happened to Claire. What happened to Nicole or Emily at the end. Specifics weren’t cleaned up.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Boring

Too much self analysis. Inner conflict/dialogue. I never thought I would be bored by a serial killer book.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars

Good book

Could not out it down! Read in one night.
It is a page Turner Good read!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I’m hooked

I stumbled on the series by accident and I’m so glad I did. What a great mix of characters. Kate Marcin really brings them all to life.
I’m hooked……

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Really Liked It

I did enjoy the procedural part. My issue is trying to understand why he was so obsessed/consumed with what he did. His violence was tough to listen to but it was realistic and the emotional rage almost dissociation came through. I will probably read more of the series.

Narration was done really well!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Decent story undermined by Narrator

Simple murder mystery. Fairly well-written. But it is performed by a seemingly inexperienced woman. Her style is sing-songy. It is in contrast to the writing. She brings nothing to the story. She just reads. She has no understanding of drama and suspense. Too bad.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Good Story

I loved the story line in this book. I just wished Violet Darger wasn't such a bone head. How did she ever get through the FBI Academy? Honestly this character doesn't use a lick of common sense. No wonder she is always injured!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!