The Girl Who Cried Werewolf

Of Fates & Fables, Book 1
Narrated by: Caitlin Kelly
Length: 6 hrs and 10 mins
Categories: Romance, Paranormal
4.5 out of 5 stars (19 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Book boyfriends are real. Pass it on.

Professional book blogger Romy Cartelli may have cried werewolf once or twice. Hell, she’s even cried vampire, warlock, and dragon their fair share of times because, as every dedicated reader knows, one book boyfriend is never enough. And her followers love it...until they don’t.

Sure, Romy is being stalked by a sexy werewolf, but she’s got bigger issues to deal with. Like the fact that he might be a murderer. Or worse yet, that she got drunk and told all of her followers that werewolves actually exist. Then she fails to prove it. Cue the trolling and the haters.

Now, Romy’s out to prove she’s not crazy and win back her followers. But as she sets out to clear her name, she’ll discover there are bigger dangers awaiting her than internet infamy.

Praise for the book:

"The Girl Who Cried Werewolf is tantalizing paranormal romance escapism. With an alpha werewolf who oozes sexy-shmexy vibes, an intriguing murder mystery, and three college besties who have each other’s backs, Hildenbrand and Shepherd have created a binge-worthy debut that will hold you captive while you snicker and swoon through the pages. Territorial shifters, fated mates, plenty of hashtags, and midnight kisses? Oh yes! Bring it on! Fans of Jaymin Eve, Ivy Asher, KF Breene, Linsey Hall, and Bella Forest will love this dynamic duo!" (Raye Wagner, USA Today best-selling author of young adult fantasy)

©2019 Heather Hildenbrand & Bam Shepherd (P)2020 Heather Hildenbrand & Bam Shepherd
What members say
Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic PNR opener

Hildenbrand and Shepherd have kicked off a fun and intense new paranormal trilogy that made me laugh out loud. Main character, Romy, is expertly voiced by Kelly who captures both her spunk and pure inner book nerd. The mix of modern social media and college elements with werewolf lore pulled me in immediately and I am dying for book two.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Blogger vs. Werewolf Paranormal Romance!

I fell in love with the cover (because I totally judge books by their covers) and the fact werewolf was in the title (and I am a sucker for a werewolf story). I knew I needed to read this book- and that was before I found out that the main character was a book blogger/bookstagramer who enjoys paranormal romance and is waiting for the supernatural creatures she reads about to come to life (as we all find ourselves doing at some point, right?). Um, yes please! It was if this book was made for me. And now is the part where I turn into a complete fangirl over this story.

The Girl Who Cried Werewolf was just what I wanted to read this weekend. I listened to the audiobook which was well narrated, keeping me easily engaged and entertained. I found the characters to be the perfect kind of quirky and likable, and the scenarios Romy kept getting herself into were equally funny, ridiculous and dangerous and I ate it all up. And it didn't hurt that she found herself stalking (let's call it mutually stalking) a sexy, compelling enigma of a werewolf that I very much rooted for. The added real life of social media pressure and engagement was spot on to make the story current.

Heads up, this had a terrible cliff hanger ending! Bad news, the other books are not on audio yet, but good news is that the complete trilogy is already out so you can read the ebooks as soon as possible (which I now will because I loved this and need more!). This was fun, super campy in the best of ways, had romance and steam, an engaging mystery and all the supernatural I could hope for. If you love contemporary paranormal romances, this is the perfect read for you.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

In Love

I'm so totally in love with these ah-mazing characters!! This is literally laugh out loud hilarious!! I loved the strong female friendship theme which ran throughout. Our alpha is pretty hot too! I can't wait to listening to the rest!! I won't be forgetting these characters anytime soon!!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

a fabulous read

loved it! it has a new age read to it. live the best friend vibe. definitely intriguing and ugh the ending leaves you needing the next book!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Cupkini.

I don’t know if I want to scream or not. And I’m certainly not certain if I loved the book or not. On one hand, I liked the story and the interaction between the girls was hilarious. They were a riot. Kash, at the beginning was great too. I loved the banter and the snark he had. There are quite a few lines that had me laughing out loud and I’m listening at a library. 😝 Let’s not forget the part where the book reviewer main character was reading another one of the author’s previous books. Ha! The adulty parts were perfect too.
On the other hand, speaking of endings, Ugh! Huge cliffhanger. The mother in me cringed every time the girls went to the bar, the frat house, or even the living room. They were drunk more than they were sober and the guys were too touchy. Do I even have to mention the cupkini? I found myself quoting Kash, “It’s too dangerous.” Then I thought back to when I was in college and the descriptions were pretty spot on. I might have mentally blocked them out. Inward cringe.
Regardless, the story was fun and quick paced. I think my favorite part was the deployment of the Home Alone defense.
I definitely want to thank Heather and Bam for the opportunity to listen to the audiobook Arc in exchange for my honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

That ending!

The narrator did a great job. She did a great job with each character. She really added to the experience.

I really liked that the FMC is a social influencer. That was a bit different from other werewolf books I've read. I so called the "bad guy" or one if them. But not sure who is Alpha. And I'm sure Talia is a vampire. Or maybe a werewolf princess. lol.

Her posts and videos on her social media were fun to read about and then the haters.

Her interaction with Cash was hilarious and adorable. I was not expecting the steamy scenes but they were fun to read.

Seriously excited to see what happens next and to see if I'm right about my thoughts.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I absolutely love this

This book is just freaking awesome and amazing. I felt like I was one of Romy's roommates and was sitting there drinking a Midnight Kisses with them. And Kash? OMG, he is just drool worthy and if I lick him can I keep him? Ok, back to the book.... seriously if you start reading this, don't plan on getting anything else done until you get to the last page because you will not be able to stop. It has everything you need in it. I really need more like right now

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for ChaosKay
  • ChaosKay
  • 06-05-20

Fab story and characters.

I won a code for this book in a giveaway and I am leaving this review voluntarily.

Romy is a book blogger who’s cried vampire , warlock and dragons but now it’s werewolves. #bookboyfriendsarereal
On her way home she stumbles across what she thinks is dogs attacking each other she starts to run away but in front of her is the sexiest man she’s ever seen stood there stark naked that’s when she realises werewolves are real.
I loved this story and the chemistry between Romy and Kash was so powerful you could feel the heat between them.
This is the first book by both the authors and narrator I have listened too but will be looking out for more and I am eagerly awaiting book 2 in this series.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Weirdpup13
  • Weirdpup13
  • 06-04-20

💖

This story gives us snark, sexiness and a huge cliffhanger! I definitely want to know what happens next!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for S. Cole
  • S. Cole
  • 06-03-20

Loved it!

I really loved this book! I love the FMC as a bookstagramer. This is a super funny and easy book to listen to. The narrator did a fabulous job. Can't wait for the next book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Karisma
  • Karisma
  • 05-26-20

Loved it!

Bam and Heather did a great job on making this book realistic but exciting. Caitlin’s voice was perfect for this book! Can’t wait to listen to the next one!