1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
The Family Gift  By  cover art

The Family Gift

By: Cathy Kelly
Narrated by: Caroline Lennon
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An uplifting story about one mother trying to hold it all together - told with Cathy Kelly's trademark sparkling warmth, humour and honesty.

Freya Abalone has a big, messy, wonderful family. She has an exciting career as a celebrity chef. She has a new home that makes her feel safe.

But behind the happy front, Freya feels pulled in a hundred directions. Life has thrown Freya some lemons - and she's learned how to juggle! But she's keeping a secret from her family, and soon something is going to crashing down...

All families have their struggles and strengths. So can Freya pull everyone - and herself - together when they need it most?

You'll love Cathy Kelly's feel-good, relatable stories of family life! Escape with this comforting, relatable and funny story about real family life - perfect for fans of Marian Keyes, Milly Johnson, Shari Low and Ruth Jones.

©2019 Cathy Kelly (P)2019 Orion Publishing Group

Critic Reviews

"Honest, funny, clever, it sparkles with witty, wry observations on modern life. I loved it." (Marian Keyes)

"This book is full of joy." (Milly Johnson)

"A lovely story of life and change." (Prima)

What listeners say about The Family Gift

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    16
  • 4 Stars
    3
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonder book loved it

Really enjoyed this one.
Light hearted funny/ serious story.
The Narrator has a great Irish accent.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Delightful, witty and charming book!

Worth the listen, the narrator's voice is wonderful and the story has heart. The characters are mostly relatable, kind and fun.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Funny and insightful

Will recommend this to my friends. The characters were vivid with distinctive personalities which made them appear so realistic. You rooted for the protagonist in her vulnerability. A story with substance, not all fluff and romance. The narration was easy to listen to and had a lot of emotion in it.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Book reader
  • Book reader
  • 12-30-19

Cathy Kelly at her best

This book made me laugh & cry, the characters were so real. need part 2.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Paula Knapman
  • Paula Knapman
  • 04-21-20

Brilliant as always

A great story very true to the demands of everyday life and family, you feel for Freya and I’m sure quite a few will easily relate to her a great story to become absorbed in. Would thoroughly recommend. Cathy Kelly at her best.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-05-20

I now speak with perfect Irish accent

loved it and enjoyed the Irish narrator and story. I now speak with an Irish accent of sorts. he he

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for JBTCon
  • JBTCon
  • 12-06-21

thoroughly enjoyed this book .. lots of giggles

A feel good book. easy to listen, no trauma per se, loved the nareator easy twisted to.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Аmazon Customer
  • Аmazon Customer
  • 07-08-21

excellent book to listen to.

I like these book's. as you can always see someone who has normal problems and they help you through

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kimberly
  • Kimberly
  • 05-12-21

Loved it.

I loved everything about it, the story and the narration were both excellent! I definitely want to read more by this author.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Hilde
  • Hilde
  • 03-24-21

hard to get into

this book was a bit meh... I've enjoyed the previous books by Cathy Kelly, but this was very hard to get into. The story in it self was good, but the flow of it changed pace and a bit rushed in places.

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MS P FALLOWFIELD
  • MS P FALLOWFIELD
  • 03-20-21

Not the best book

Hard work, just plodded along. I was waiting for something exciting to happen!! Very disappointing 😕

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for neville
  • neville
  • 01-23-21

Good listen

Although slow to begin with as it was Cathy Kelly stuck with it. Once I engaged with the characters the enjoyment kicked in. Cathy Kelly always gives an excellent insight into how the mind works. Excellent narration by Caroline Lennon.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue Dobbing
  • Sue Dobbing
  • 12-21-20

a family story.

A very gently narrated yet whitty book.
Quietly telling the story of one woman's journey as she faces the aftermath of a mugging & how she makes sense of it in the wider context of her family life.
That sounds rather solemn, which this definitely isn't.
Altogether a good listen.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Sue
  • Sue
  • 11-17-19

Disappointing

I have read every Cathy Kelly story and was really looking forward to hearing this one. Had to return it as it was so cumbersome and well boring. I hope she listens to her feedback!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 11-06-19

Disappointing

Normally love Cathy Kelly but this was so dull I just couldn’t finish it .. returned it

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Susan M
  • Susan M
  • 11-02-19

Not the usual standard from Cathy Kelly

I absolutely love Cathy Kelly however this book wasn’t up with her usual standard. I enjoyed it but wouldn’t say it’s a must read.

1 person found this helpful