adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.67

Buy for $22.67

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

The Kingdom of Delain is at stake when King Roland is murdered and his son and rightful heir, Peter, is framed for the crime. Plotting against him is the evil Flagg and his pawn, young Prince Thomas. Yet with every plan there are holes - like Thomas's terrible secret. And the determined Prince Peter, who is planning a daring escape from his imprisonment.

Stephen King has taken the classic fairy tale and transformed it into a masterpiece of fiction for the ages.

©1987 Stephen King (P)2010 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Memorable, suspenseful, brimming with action." ( Chicago Sun-Times)
"King has done a masterful job - beautifully told and beautifully illustrated." ( The Cincinnati Post)
"Compelling - his most powerful storytelling." ( The Atlanta Journal-Constitution)

Featured Article: We're Your #1 Fans—A Stephen King Character Guide


With a mind-boggling portfolio of 62 novels and more than 200 short stories (and counting!), Stephen King undeniably reigns supreme over literary horror. From Danny Torrance to the dreaded Pennywise, check out some of his most iconic characters with this comprehensive look. (But beware: there are spoilers ahead! So, much like when you press play on a Stephen King audiobook, you should proceed with caution.)

What listeners say about The Eyes of the Dragon

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,874
  • 4 Stars
    868
  • 3 Stars
    265
  • 2 Stars
    62
  • 1 Stars
    16
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,885
  • 4 Stars
    530
  • 3 Stars
    217
  • 2 Stars
    69
  • 1 Stars
    51
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    2,603
  • 4 Stars
    754
  • 3 Stars
    300
  • 2 Stars
    50
  • 1 Stars
    23

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Great Place to Start

If you haven't read Stephen King and you've been meaning to start, this would be an excellent book for you. It's also appropriate for younger readers. Featuring a villain familiar to anyone who's seen or read The Stand, or The Dark Tower series, this story stands alone and is a favorite of many of King's constant readers. Fans of Ronnie James Dio, and Game of Thrones should enjoy this.

38 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Nice change of pace as I read all things dark tower

I'm currently reading through the dark tower series, including some of the books that tie into it. Before this I had just read:

Salems lot
The gunslinger
The drawing of the three
The stand

I've liked each book so far, but this one was very different from the others. The book is told as a bit of a fairy tale, with the narrator stopping to comment on the story, teasing what will happen next and asking you to stop and think about how you would feel if you found yourself in the story.

I very much enjoyed the narration, and while the story was simple, it was a short and pleasant change of pace.

While the book does tie in strongly with a character found in other king books, you don't need to have read anything else before this one.

If you're like me and still early on your journey through all things dark tower, I think you'll look back on this one as a nice little side vacation.

52 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

King pulls a Tolkien

Eyes of the Dragon is Steven King's first departure from Horror into the realm of Epic Fantasy. It is different from King's standard fair and I admit I only picked this up because the book's principal antagonist, Randal Flagg, later reappears in King's Dark Tower series. That said, I was very impressed with what I found here. Eyes of the Dragon is fantastic and stands as a great novel all on its own.

Also, Bronson Pinchot's narration is absolutely terrific. The echo he uses when voicing the dark wizard Flagg is particularly bone chilling. Highly recommended!

23 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a performance!!!

I have listened to dozens and dozens of audiobooks in my life, but I have to say Bronson Pinchot’s performance on this book was just incredible and was very possibly the best I’ve ever heard. Plus the story is great. Having read most of King’s books, this one is easily one of my favorites. All around, great. Very different from King’s typical horror realm. I really enjoyed his take on a fantasy story. You should definitely give it a try!

17 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wow

I don't believe I've ever before heard a narrator so good that I could, as they say, listen to him read the phone book. That it's Bronson Pinchot, who I've known for his many well-remembered silly-voiced characters is amazing. I'm going to go and look for more that he's done.

20 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic

Mr. Pinchot did a wonderful job telling the story. Stephen King never disappoints. It was a wonderful read!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Fun story, tough narration to listen to

I read this book to catch up on books that relate to the Dark Tower series. I have now read quite a bit of Stephen King, and this was totally different than any I've read to date. He dedicates this to his daughter, and the book reads like a story that he's writing for a young child. It's very well written and a very fun story, especially if you enjoy Medieval Time stories.

The story gives a very good description of Randall Flagg, even better than The Stand, in my opinion. It definitely makes sense why this is a story to read before the DT series, and it's pretty short, so I would recommend.

The worst part about this audiobook was the narrator. This is only the 2nd audiobook that I've really disliked the narrator, and I don't remember for certain the other. His voice for Flagg is horrendous and for some reason all the drunks and poor people have Irish accents.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Bronson Pinchot is amazing!

At several points, I had to remind myself that it was only Bronson. It has the feel of a full cast recording, great work.

Occasionally, the audio clips off half a word at the end of a chapter.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A nice tale

I have to admit, the last part was not my favorite, but I do enjoy this story. It used to be my favorite King novel when I was young, though I don’t think it still is.
Wow for the narrator, though. A few times he managed to startle me so much I nearly dropped my phone. He really got into it! Well done!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stephen King's foray into medieval fantasy is a w

inner. Listen to it with your children.

Many great memories of this book.

I am trying to make the 15 word minimum at this point.

2 people found this helpful