adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $17.00

Buy for $17.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this intricate and enthralling domestic drama, perfect for fans of Big Little Lies and The Affair, the internationally best-selling author of the “gossipy page-turner” (Glamour) The Perfect Neighbors goes deep into a marriage in crisis, peeling back layers of secrets to discover where the relationship veered off course - and whether it is worth saving.

Josie and Frank Moore are happy...at least Josie thinks they are. As parents of two young girls in the Chicago suburbs, their days can be both busy and monotonous, and sometimes Josie wonders how she became a harried fortysomething mother rather than the driven career woman she once was. But Frank is a phenomenal father, he’s handsome and charismatic, and he still looks at his wife like she’s the beautiful woman he married more than a decade ago. Josie isn’t just happy - she’s lucky. 

Until one Saturday morning when Josie borrows her husband’s phone to make a quick call - and sees nine words that shatter her world. Now Josie feels as if she is standing at the edge of a sharp precipice. As she looks back at pivotal moments in the relationship she believed would last forever, she is also plunging ahead, surprising everyone (especially herself) with how far she will go to uncover the extent of her husband’s devastating secret. 

With her “conversational writing style and a knack for making readers care about her characters” (The Washington Post), best-selling author Sarah Pekkanen paints a vivid, kaleidoscopic portrait of a marriage before and during a crisis - and of a woman who fears that the biggest secret of all may be the one she’s hiding from herself.

©2018 Sarah Pekkanen (P)2018 Simon & Schuster Audio

What listeners say about The Ever After

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    32
  • 2 Stars
    18
  • 1 Stars
    21
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    42
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    27
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    11
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    29
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    29

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Snooze....

I had to quit after the first few chapters. So boring and topic has been done a thousand times over. Disappointed cause I have enjoyed author in the past. Skip this one.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not a very good story line

Don’t waste your time. The boon climaxes within the first chapter, and is stagnant throughout. I checked out several times while listening. The ending was disappointing. There’s not much to this but a boring plot.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Slow, tedious and uninspired story of a marital crisis

I usually enjoy reading about the difficulties arising in long-term marriages. However, I was not impressed by the book. The characters are not very interesting. Josie, the wife, seems to overreact to a simple flirtation (no sex). She whines about her inability to forget the deception. Frank goes at great lengths to fix the problem but seems lame. The flashbacks to earlier stages of the relationship are useless.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A different outcome than expected.

Based on the few books I've read from these co-authors, I was anticipating a different outcome. Initially, I was disappointed. But, after thinking about it, it was more realistic to marriages in many ways. The story kept me intrigued and interested.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

siri sound alike

I didn't like the storyline as much as I have in other books by this author. I absolutely didn't like the narrator as she sounded almost monotone and like siri. It made it hard to enjoy the story.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Writing wasn’t bad but it was boring .

I’m not sure why I finished this. I was very tired of listening to Josie whine and over think everything. Maybe because I’ve never been through this, but I thought the book was awful. It just went on and on...

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not worth the credit

The whole book talks about an affair which is ok- it’s the story. But it’s boring, childlike writing. Immature. I’ve read other books by this author that were 100x better. Narrator was great- story was just lacking

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

It was just okay......

kinda disappointing, nothing to dramatic happened. I was excited to read another book by this author, as I LOVED The Wife Between Us, so I was kind of let down with this...maybe its because I couldn't relate much to the characters or the plotlines

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

it was sorta dry

I liked it but it was slow to build up to nothing. i thought it would be more action

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Touched a nerve

As a 40-something mother of two I can see how a marriage breaks down in this way and found the story to be realistic and thought provoking. My husband and I often watch separate TV's at night because we have different interests and life as parents of small children is absolutely chaotic. There is nothing exciting or especially interesting about this story other than it rang very true for me personally (minus the cheating) and I enjoyed listening to it.