adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $21.81

Buy for $21.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A beautifully written, sweeping historical women's fiction novel that spans both time and the globe as we follow one woman's journey from simple country girl to global fashion icon. 

I need to tell you a story, ma chère. My story.

Rosa Kusstatscher has built a global fashion empire upon her ability to find the perfect outfit for any occasion. But tonight, as she prepares for the most important meeting of her life, her usual certainty eludes her. 

What brought her to this moment? As she struggles to select her dress and choose the right shade of lipstick, Rosa begins to tell her incredible story. The story of a poor country girl from a village high in the mountains of Italy. Of Nazi occupation and fleeing in the night. Of hope and heartbreak in Switzerland; ambition, glamour and love in Paris. Of ambition and devastation in Rio de Janeiro; success and self-discovery in New York. 

A life spent running, she sees now. But she will run no longer. 

Breathtaking and utterly enthralling, The Dressmaker of Paris is a stunning debut novel that is perfect for fans of Lucinda Riley, Kate Morton and Dinah Jefferies.

©2021 Georgia Kaufmann (P)2021 Hodder & Stoughton Ltd

What listeners say about The Dressmaker of Paris

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    5
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    4
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Booklover
  • Booklover
  • 04-02-21

Enjoyable story with a few niggles

Overall, I enjoyed this story. I love clothes, designing and travelling, so it ticked all my boxes. However, the continuous repetition of ‘Ma chere’ from the start, was REALLY irritating! It would have been far less so if it had sounded even remotely French. Unfortunately, much of the time, the narrator’s style imbued the heroine with an annoying air of self satisfaction, which is a pity. The chapter titles ‘tweezers’, ‘razor’ and others with accompanying descriptions of body hair and personal hygiene did nothing to elevate the story. Nevertheless it was an interesting and enjoyable listen.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate
  • Kate
  • 03-28-21

Fabulous Debut

I really enjoyed this book.
The storyline held my interest and throughout with enough twists and turns to make me keep reading.
I read it quickly and thought about
the many moral dilemmas war must have created for so many people on both sides.

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for haztaz
  • haztaz
  • 02-26-21

Lovely narration. Boring, fluffy, story with an extremely shallow main character.

I really struggled to finish this book. The main character is a self-serving, vain, name-dropper, and I found her irritating. She purports to have dragged herself up through the ranks of society but bar an awful event in her teens (won’t spoil it), this does not come across. Obsessed with image, make up, and clothes to the point of idiocy, I hated her by the end. Would not recommend, I’m afraid, and I rarely give bad reviews as I can normally find something good in every story. This just made my teeth itch.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Gail Link
  • Gail Link
  • 02-01-21

Sensational

What an absolutely moving and poignant book. I just could not put it down and how many boxes of tissues I got through I don't know. I have never been so engrossed in a book for a long time-just wondering what would happen next. I do hope you continue with your audio books and can't wait for another book.