1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $28.00

Buy for $28.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

An addicting and twisty debut about an apartment building devastated by the disappearance of a teenage girl - and by the secrets that won't be kept behind each closed door - that will thrill fans of Lisa Jewell and Shari Lapena.

One House. Three Families. Countless Secrets.

From her downstairs apartment in suburban London, Emma has often overheard the everyday life of the seemingly perfect family upstairs - Steph, Paul and teenage daughter Freya - but has never got to know them. Until one day, she hears something that seizes her attention: Freya has vanished and the police are questioning Steph and Paul about their life. Do either of you have any enemies? Anyone who might want to harm or threaten you?

The effects of Freya's disappearance ripple outward, affecting not just her parents, but everyone who lives in the building, including Emma and local driving instructor Chris, who was the last person to see the teenager before she went missing. Each character's life is thrown into sharp focus as devastating mistakes and long-held secrets are picked apart and other crimes come to light - including a child gone missing 25 years earlier, and a shocking murder - that make clear that the past never stays where we leave it, and that homes can be built on foundations of lies.

©2021 Helen Cooper (P)2021 Penguin Audio

Critic Reviews

"Fans of British mysteries will love this debut...It is difficult to put down. This is one that readers may not figure out fully, if at all, in advance of the denouement, but the author ties all the secrets together in a most satisfying reveal." (Library Journal, starred review)

“[A] heart-pounding debut...Even avid suspense readers won't be able to predict all the twists. Cooper is off to a strong start.” (Publishers Weekly

“Cooper skillfully builds a house of cards, demolishes it, reshuffles the deck, and deals an even stronger hand, while keeping a few cards up her sleeve. An emotionally charged domestic-suspense debut, perfect for fans of Lucy Foley and Ruth Ware.” (Booklist

What listeners say about The Downstairs Neighbor

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    280
  • 4 Stars
    167
  • 3 Stars
    78
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    329
  • 4 Stars
    117
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    4
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    248
  • 4 Stars
    130
  • 3 Stars
    80
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    15

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

PLEASE. ignore the negativity and give it a listen

I enjoyed the book. so much was going on in one building. The complexity with each character...like you know ok this person has done this but you think you know why and BAM-WHAM -NO MA'AM!!! You don't. it's just crazy in the best of ways. the suspence. the "Ahaa" and the "awe" moments. it's truly a roller-coaster and I'm glad I got on this ride. like I feel that many of the other reviews are not a good reflection of this novel. just because you personally don't like the way an author chooses to end their work does not make it "awful". . I don't want to give away ant spoilers but every story has its on unique ending. so yeah I'll leave it there. who knows author may suprise us with a sequel. I definitely see where there could be room for one . or a short story to tie up things if she doesn't want to go too deep. because again soooo many layers with the different characters and the aspects to their lives at different points. I found myself wanting to know more :P also SPOT ON NARRATORS. like impressive. just genius. I want to say why but no spoilers but I will say the narration definitely deepened one of the biggest plot twist. so yeah. I never really writs reviews but I was just compelled because I enjoyed this novel so much and wanted others too as well.

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Never a dull moment

Fast paced story with lots of unexpected twists and turns, interesting characters and plot shifts enough to keep you guessing. Very entertaining read

12 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Ridiculously stupid ending

The first 3/4 of this book was formulaic, but very entertaining. However, once all the twists began to unfold the downward trajectory started and it finally crashed and burned.
Based on the ending I won't recommend, unless you don't mind terrible endings.
The narration is well done, but can't save the material.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Great book!

I really enjoyed this book. It was well worth the time and credit investment.
The narrator was great!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

So drawn out

This story was just ok. So many characters made it really confusing sometimes. The last few chapters could have definitely been condensed to tie everything up. Just way too much filler for it to ever get suspenseful.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Beware the twists

Terrific. One of those books you can’t put down. Many characters each with ghosts in their closets. Narration was very good.

5 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Good but a bit much

Three apartments in one house and sooo much drama. I think it would have been better if she cut out at least one of the plot lines and drove deeper into the ones remaining.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

PLEASE READ

without giving too much away I'll say this is one of the worst endings ever. I feel punched in the stomach. Till the very end I was hoping for justice and it never came. I was deeply invested and wanted that vindication moment for the real victims and it never came instead the 4 worst characters (I mean as people) get to go on happily ever after. I've never been so sad and so angry. I feel for the real victim that was put through hell and instead of giving the reader a relief they put that character through even more. Makes me wonder about the authors character if she could come to see this as a suitable ending.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

A roller coaster of twists and turns. The exceptional writing and narration is purely enjoyable.

So many ups and downs. Beware! When you think you have it figured out, it takes you to a drop you’re not prepared for.

The narrator is professional and a pleasure to listen to, in each character.

Enjoy the ride on The Downstairs Neighbor!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

very twisty story.

the pace of this story was perfect. the reveals were timed beautifully and the resolution was satisfying.

2 people found this helpful