adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $18.89

Buy for $18.89

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

In this "sharp, scary, gorgeously evocative tale of love, art, and obsession" (Paula Hawkins, best-selling author of The Girl on the Train), a beautiful young woman aspires to be an artist, while a man’s dark obsession may destroy her world forever.

In 1850s London, the Great Exhibition is being erected in Hyde Park, and among the crowd watching the dazzling spectacle, two people meet by happenstance. For Iris, an arrestingly attractive aspiring artist, it is a brief and forgettable moment, but for Silas, a curiosity collector enchanted by all things strange and beautiful, the meeting marks a new beginning.

When Iris is asked to model for Pre-Raphaelite artist Louis Frost, she agrees on the condition that he will also teach her to paint. Suddenly, her world begins to expand beyond her wildest dreams - but she has no idea that evil is waiting in the shadows. Silas has only thought of one thing since that chance meeting, and his obsession is darkening by the day.

"A page-turning psychological thriller" (Essie Fox, author of The Somnambulist) that will haunt you long after you finish it, The Doll Factory is perfect for fans of The Alienist, Drood, and The Historian.

©2019 Elizabeth Macneal (P)2019 Simon & Schuster

What listeners say about The Doll Factory

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    29
  • 4 Stars
    18
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    36
  • 4 Stars
    11
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    14
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A story of perseverance and love

The author brings each character to life with such detail, taking you through the quest for personal freedom, love, suspense and evil obsession all without getting too wordy. The story revolves around one main character but is told through several, which pulled me in emotionally helping me to have a deeper understanding of each. And because this is set in a time when society was divided into two distinct groups, the haves and the have nots, it makes the personal plight of the main character seem almost impossible at times. The author brings the evil obsession of one to life that you actually understand the thought process and you become almost sympathetic towards him. At the end you are anticipating a knight in shining armor to save the day but surprise, it is not to be. A story of perseverance and love.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Predictable

I found this story to be predictable and frustrating at times. The narrator does a nice job.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

A slow start- keep with it

The beginning of the book goes very slowly. I almost quit. I’m glad I stuck with it. The plot is not original, and at times it’s very scattered and can’t decide what story it is telling. Halfway through it gets its legs and tells the story. I enjoyed the ending. I liked the main character.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Quite awful

I read a really good review of the doll factory so stuck with it all the way through

What a dreadful, hot mess.


Quite awful

4 people found this helpful