The Devil Aspect

A Novel
Narrated by: Julian Rhind-Tutt
Length: 15 hrs and 23 mins
4.5 out of 5 stars (297 ratings)

Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $35.00

Buy for $35.00

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Steeped in the folklore of Eastern Europe, and set in the shadow of Nazi darkness erupting just beyond the Czech border, this bone-chilling, richly imagined novel is propulsively entertaining, and impossible to put down.

Czechoslovakia, 1935: Viktor Kosárek, a newly trained psychiatrist who studied under Carl Jung, arrives at the infamous Hrad Orlu Asylum for the Criminally Insane. The facility is located in a medieval mountaintop castle surrounded by forests, on a site that is well known for concealing dark secrets going back many centuries. The asylum houses six inmates - the country's most treacherous killers - known to the terrified public as the Devil's Six. Viktor intends to use a new medical technique to prove that these patients share a common archetype of evil, a phenomenon he calls The Devil Aspect. Yet as he begins to learn the stunning secrets of these patients, he must face the unnerving possibility that these six may share a darker truth.

Meanwhile, in Prague, fear grips the city as a phantom serial killer emerges in the dark alleys. Police investigator Lukas Smolak, desperate to locate the culprit (a copycat of Jack the Ripper), turns to Viktor and the doctors at Hrad Orlu for their expertise with the psychotic criminal mind. And Viktor finds himself wrapped up in a case more terrifying than he could have ever imagined. 

©2019 Craig Russell (P)2019 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"A seasoned writer, Russell keeps the police case moving at a good clip . . . but nothing to match the ending, which offers more twists than a Chubby Checker album. A smart, atmospheric, and entertaining read but not for the Jung and easily Freudened." (Kirkus)  

"Deep, dark, and twisty, The Devil Aspect will keep you up all night reading . . . With all the lights on. Russell has created a gripping masterpiece of a thriller!" (Alex Grecian, New York Times best-selling author of The Yard

"Steeped in the chilling folklore of Eastern Europe and echoing the dread of a barbaric war to come, The Devil Aspect snatches the reader by the lapels for a thrilling, twisting trip through the darkest corridors of the human mind." (Daniel H. Wilson, New York Times best-selling author of Robopocalypse

"[A] sensational serial killer novel . . . jaw-dropping . . . a mind-blowing story line that will appeal to fans of Caleb Carr and Thomas Harris." (Publishers Weekly

What listeners say about The Devil Aspect

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    172
  • 4 Stars
    76
  • 3 Stars
    34
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    7
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    214
  • 4 Stars
    46
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    78
  • 3 Stars
    31
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Is The Devil Real?

Enjoyable audiobook. The plot was well developed and characters were complex. Getting personal, I couldn’t understand why the asylum, as large as it was with incredible facilities serviced only the Devils Six. The cost per patient must have been extremely high. There’s a surprising twist or two and the psychiatric aspect interesting. If you enjoy this genre, you’ll enjoy this audiobook.

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very good audiobook

This book is engrossing. Excellent job by the narrator. It’s a mix between mystery , and horror. Less gore more suspense.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Disturbingly fun

Russell does a great job painting what feels like an authentic picture of prewar Prague in a rich, well-written suspenseful story full of unexpected turns. Some of the gore is at times a bit excessive for me but it does seem relevant , albeit unsettlingly extreme. Beautifully performed, the narrator plays the many parts with ease
overall great fun, which, given the brutality of some of the content, is a bit disturbing I suppose

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Scary as The Exorcist

Excellent book!! It keeps you involved. Hard to figure out who is the killer. The twist at the end I kinda figured out but still had a gotcha reveal. The narrator was excellent. This books a winner!!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

ooo a twist that makes you look differently

excellent story about a search for the nature of the unknown human connection of the unknown

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Unusual serial killer tale

Czech psychiatrist delves onto serial killers’ psyches in 1930s Czechoslovakia. A real page turner. Better writing than Stephen King. Truly outstanding work of horror. Also a great reading performance. Highly recommended.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

That ending! Didn't see it coming at all!

You know a book is good when you can't stop thinking about it hours after you finished. This was a great historical fiction/thriller that started off a little slow but really picked up. I was totally shocked at the ending. I did not see it coming at all! I was also happy to see the book take place in Prague instead of the boring old England.Julian Rhind-Tutt did a great job with the names and keeping the voices just a little different from each other. Also big time kudos for not using a high pitched voice for the women characters.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Stunning and mind boggling! I couldn't put is down

I loved this story! I was obsessed with it and couldn't get enough! Hold on for a twisted ride down a dark path!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

good listen

good story, happily surprised at some references to Dr. Jung. Excellent voice talent. Highly recommend

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Excellent if you skip the Epilogue

Truly intelligent thriller. A Deeply woven story of horror. One doesn’t usual find horror written so well. The author took his time painting an excellent picture of the time period. The book is written similarly to the Exorcist. Blatty and Russel took the time to develop the fiction into a reality. Creating confusion in the readers mind as to what's real. By demising a fanatical story that one could easily dismiss as nonsense. Russel brings these characters to life and thus you feel their terror. However the Epilogue diminishes the reality. It turns the books into a typical screen play . I wish I had skipped the epilogue. It would have left me feeling the evil is lurking having last been unleashed in the time of WWII.