adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $15.48

Buy for $15.48

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

This is New York Times bestseller Alex Berenson's eighth gripping spy novel featuring ex-CIA agent John Wells, for fans of Robert Ludlum and David Baldacci.

In an Istanbul hotel, a source warns that Iranian forces intend to kill a CIA station chief. Ex-CIA agent John Wells is called in to investigate, but before he can get very far, the tip comes true. Which means the next warning the source gives will be taken very seriously indeed. And it's a big one: A radioactive package has been put on a ship from Dubai to the United States.

As the threat level jumps and the government mobilises, Wells is sent on a private mission to find out the truth. From Guatemala to Thailand to Hong Kong to Istanbul, he uses every skill he has, including his ability to go undercover, in the Arab world, to chase down leads. But will it be enough to pull the United States back from the brink of war?

©2014 Alex Berenson (P)2014 Penguin Audiobooks

What listeners say about The Counterfeit Agent

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    13
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    10
  • 3 Stars
    4
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

No Reviews are Available
Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for George A Bear
  • George A Bear
  • 09-16-20

OK, not great

John Wells is called in to investigate a newly developed CIA source in Istanbul. The source warns of a number of attacks, which happen, and of a forthcoming greater threat to mainland of America itself - a radioactive one.

Wells working 'off the books', tracks down a lead.

This is definitely the first book of '?' as the end leaves the reader hanging with Wells in the middle of the hunt for truth - there is no resolution.

Overall just an OK listen. I would have purchased the next book but it is not currently available on Audible (Oct 2020).

George Guidall's narration is excellent.

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Amazon Customer
  • Amazon Customer
  • 03-24-14

a letdown

If this book wasn’t for you, who do you think might enjoy it more?

The story started well , interesting story well read. Ran out of pace and story 15 mn before the end. In fact I had the impression that the book has not ended. The author just left his desk and forgot to come back? Is he intending to write a sequel? It was all very hurried and unclear in the last 15minutes !!!!very disappointed.

Would you ever listen to anything by Alex Berenson again?

No

What do you think the narrator could have done better?

Finish the book

You didn’t love this book--but did it have any redeeming qualities?

yes, the narrator is good

Any additional comments?