Audible Premium Plus

$14.95 a month

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

"She touched the photograph in its gilt frame that was always on her desk, of a young, thin woman with very short hair and a baby in her arms. She had one last story to tell. Theirs. And it began in hell on earth."

It is 1942 and Eva Adami has boarded a train to Auschwitz. Barely able to breathe due to the press of bodies and exhausted from standing up for two days, she can think only of her longed-for reunion with her husband Michal, who was sent there six months earlier. 

But when Eva arrives at Auschwitz, there is no sign of Michal and the stark reality of the camp comes crashing down upon her. As she lies heartbroken and shivering on a thin mattress, her head shaved by rough hands, she hears a whisper. Her bunkmate, Sofie, is reaching out her hand....

As the days pass, the two women learn each other’s hopes and dreams - Eva’s is that she will find Michal alive in this terrible place, and Sofie’s is that she will be reunited with her son Tomas, over the border in an orphanage in Austria. Sofie sees the chance to engineer one last meeting between Eva and Michal and knows she must take it even if means befriending the enemy....

But when Eva realises she is pregnant, she fears she has endangered both their lives. The women promise to protect each other’s children, should the worst occur. For they are determined to hold on to the last flower of hope in the shadows and degradation: their precious children, who they pray will live to tell their story when they no longer can. 

A heart-breaking story of survival, where life or death relies on the smallest chance and happiness can be found in the darkest times. Fans of The Choice and The Tattooist of Auschwitz will fall in love with this beautiful novel.

©2019 Lily Graham (P)2019 2019

What listeners say about The Child of Auschwitz

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    47
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    31
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    170
  • 4 Stars
    36
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful! 10x better than Cilka’s Journey& that was Amazing

This was a very beautiful moving story. Told the ugliness of Auschwitz without the stomach turning nausea of it. It showed the harshness yet the steadfastness of faith and hope these women held onto. The continued to live in the upbringings of the values of kindness and thinking of others before yourself and even caring for your enemies. And the way they spoke to each other! Oh wow it brings tears to my eyes wishing and wishing we people today would stop talking so harshly and ugly and quit cussing with the F words every other word to our parents and elders and at the job or at a cashier. We have become so selfish and self seeking it’s so heartbreaking. This is a lovely book. And the ending was a wonderful surprise that I didn’t see coming! Thank you! Authors- please write without cuss words. It’s so much better! Read this and you will cry!!

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Tears

I'm compelled to write a review for this book, I normally always rate them but not very often write a review. I've been a varacious Audible listener since 2003 and have gone through MANY books, my favorites are books of WWII and again, I've read many. For the most part they give me hope on another level they teach me of the atrocities man kind can bring upon fellow humans. This book takes you through the gammit... how hard it was for the people to believe this could be possible, their belief that their "friends" "their countries" the "allies" of their countries would not possibly allow such atrocities. Believing this all the way marched up to their last train rides ever. Then the fights to stay alive regardless of the cost to their humility, the links one will go through at the hope of seeing a loved one, saving a friend. This book brought tears but it also brings hope. I highly recommend if you too care for any of the above.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just read it

The narration was good as ms Sobey would change her voice to whomever the character should be and she was consistent throughout the story. The author wrote a great story and left me wanting more. It’s a story we all must know of and it’s a hard to take kind of story. It’s truthful.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Wonderful! I love every minute of this book. l wi

Wonderful! I lived every minute of this book. I will be looking up more books by Lily Graham.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Courageous & Inspiring

Well put together and very inspiring. This book tells of a dark time in history, and what love and good has prevailed in that time. It was very heard to put this down. So worth the read. And very well narrated also. Narrator brings the story closer and helps one imagine in the mind.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Moving story

Strength, hope and love abound. Based on true events ... amazing. I didnt feel a deep connection with characters but enjoyed very much.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Well written and well read

Excellent narration. Exceptionally written story. A moving story of bravery and stubborn love. I felt increased emotion for the people and their experience. Unbelievable time in history that should never be repeated in any form.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Beautiful

This book has you crying tears of sadness, anger and happiness. It’s a beautiful sorry that I hope one day is made into a film

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Compelling

It made me feel like I was there. Very compelling. This was a great book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent Story

It caught my attention from the first page until the last. Unique story on a very horrible part of WWII history. We must never forget.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Marion Shepherd
  • Marion Shepherd
  • 01-29-20

Heartbreaking, but not altogether so.

Who wouldn't be moved by this. written with compassion, a heartbreaking story, yet hope prevails.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-11-20

A beautiful story

This book is a beautiful story of love and life in the most horrific time in our history. It was beautifully read and the descriptions so believable you almost could feel the atmosphere.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ali
  • Ali
  • 02-15-20

Wonderful

What a wonderful story. The story of two friends, prisoners in Auschwitz, how their lives led them there and the horrors they endured there. But all through the book runs a thread of hope and love and the ending is fitting and perfect. Loved it and highly recommend.