• The Cartographer's Secret

  • By: Tea Cooper
  • Narrated by: Casey Withoos
  • Length: 10 hrs and 2 mins
  • 4.0 out of 5 stars (3 ratings)

1 title per month from Audible’s entire catalog of best sellers, and new releases.
Access a growing selection of included Audible Originals, audiobooks and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
Your Premium Plus plan is $14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $22.81

Buy for $22.81

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A young woman's quest to heal a family rift entangles her in one of Australia's greatest historical puzzles when an intricately illustrated map offers a clue to the fate of a long-lost girl. A mesmerizing historical mystery set in the Hunter Valley from best-selling author Tea Cooper for fans of Natasha Lester and Kate Morton.

1880, the Hunter Valley.

Evie Ludgrove loves to map the landscape around her home - hardly surprising, since she grew up in the shadow of her father's obsession with the great Australian explorer Dr. Ludwig Leichhardt. So when an advertisement appears in The Bulletin magazine offering a one-thousand-pound reward for proof of where Leichhardt met his fate, Evie is determined to figure it out - after all, there are clues in her father's papers and in the archives of the Royal Geographical Society. But when Evie sets out to prove her theory, she vanishes without a trace, leaving behind a mystery that taints everyone's lives for 30 years.

1911

When Letitia Rawlings arrives at the family estate in her Model T Ford, her purpose is to inform her great-aunt Olivia of a bereavement. But Letitia is also escaping her own problems - her brother's sudden death, her mother's scheming, and her own dissatisfaction with the life planned out for her. So when Letitia discovers a beautifully illustrated map that might hold a clue to the fate of her missing aunt, Evie Ludgrove, her curiosity is aroused and she sets out to discover the truth of Evie's disappearance. 

But all is not as it seems at Yellow Rock estate, and as events unfold, Letitia begins to realize that solving the mystery of her family's past could offer as much peril as redemption.

©2020 Tea Cooper (P)2020 HarperCollins Publishers

What listeners say about The Cartographer's Secret

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    0
  • 4 Stars
    1
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    1
  • 4 Stars
    0
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So tedious...

I couldn't finish this. Inane detail on unimportant things, no clear indication of who is who or where you are at any given time, no following up hinted details... I got frustrated at this wandering tale.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another Triumph by Tea Cooper

I just love Tea’s books, the history is mixed perfectly with the fiction, and this is a tale that dragged me in so that I sat up late listening when I should have long been in bed. The only thing I found a bit off putting was the narrator pronouncing local town incorrectly. But it wasn’t so bad as to mess with my enjoyment of the story.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for DebManning
  • DebManning
  • 10-18-21

narration

You'd think that in using an Australian for the narration she would have the manners to learn how to pronounce places in said book.
For those of you not from the Hunter Valley , it is pronounced Scone as in Stone not Scon as in John. Apart from that continual irritant a very enjoyable graphic book.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 12-14-20

Wonderful Book & Amazing Narrator

Really enjoyed this book. The narrator does an amazing job of making each character stand apart and come alive! So happy to have found another great Australian author. Beautiful style of writing. Now I feel like a trip to Wollombi to walk in the footsteps of these characters.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for pcesskaye
  • pcesskaye
  • 12-08-20

Lovely story!

I thoroughly enjoyed listening to this book. Very exciting and interesting story with lovely imagination intertwined with some factual characters. Romantic insights into the past..

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 09-07-21

Great story

Loved this story. i could tell it was a mixture of fact and fiction intertwinned to make a brilliant work of art.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Psalteryschool
  • Psalteryschool
  • 01-24-21

Tea Cooper can write!

I have a friend in Sydney who is an English teacher. Occasionally I send him a book that I think is outstanding. This is one of those books!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-18-21

Mispronounced Town names

Towns' names pronounced incorrectly. Frustrating for book about cartography. Otherwise great story and narration.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Vivian Bugden
  • Vivian Bugden
  • 04-28-22

Fabulous

Did not want this book to finish 👏👏👏
I’m hoping there will be a sequel to follow.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jan Richardson
  • Jan Richardson
  • 03-11-22

Delightful Story

Great Narrator , well presented and great story couldn't stop listening loved the ending

Enjoyed this book

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Mundayk
  • Mundayk
  • 03-10-22

A lovely, well researched historical fiction

This was one of the few books I listened to right through. I really enjoyed following along with Letitia as she learns about Evie and sets out to discover her fate. It was a really well researched fiction based on some historical events/locations even if some places were mis-pronounced but that aside I really enjoyed this book and would recommend it to anyone who likes this genre

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Anonymous User
  • Anonymous User
  • 01-24-22

Good storyline and Australian setting

Enjoyable story. Narrator did a fine job until the last part where main character was screeching a little too much. Disappointing element to an otherwise enjoyable listen.