Regular price: $24.95

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Perfect for fans of Philippa Gregory and Alison Weir, The Boleyn Reckoning heralds the triumphant conclusion of Laura Andersen’s enthralling trilogy about the Tudor king who never was: the son of Henry VIII and Anne Boleyn - Henry IX - who, along with his sisters and those he holds most dear, approaches a dangerous crossroads.

The Tudor royal family has barely survived a disastrous winter. Now English ships and soldiers prepare for the threat of invasion. But William Tudor - known as Henry IX - has his own personal battles to attend to. He still burns for Minuette, his longtime friend, but she has married William’s trusted advisor, Dominic, in secret - an act of betrayal that puts both their lives in danger. Princess Elizabeth, concerned over her brother’s erratic, vengeful behavior, imperils her own life by assembling a shadow court in an effort to protect England. With war on the horizon, Elizabeth must decide where her duty lies: with her brother or her country. Her choice could forever change the course of history.

©2014 Laura Andersen (P)2014 Audible, Inc.

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    107
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    9
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    114
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    3
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Series is magnificent!

This was a fabulous conclusion to a great series. The story line was suprising at times but very satisfying. I find myself wanting a sequel just concentrating on Elizabeth's reign.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Kristine
  • Webster, MA, United States
  • 04-18-15

Amazing story, fantastic end

Great story, love the alternate Tudor ending. Kept you on your toes until the very end. Highly recommend for any Tudor fans.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Deborah
  • PERU, NY, United States
  • 01-31-15

Delightful

Great performance, wonderful story. Satisfying ending to a really interesting trilogy.

I enjoyed the last book even more than the others!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Real "Page-Turner!"

I wish there were more books in this series. I will definitely be listening again!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Simply Perfect

First of all let me tell you how great the narrator Simon Vance is. I'm very picky with narrators and from the first minute hearing his voice I knew I found a new favorite. He is quite talented and sucks you in. The story was addicting. I'm obsessed with the Tudor history so easily fell in love with this trilogy. Action, mystery, romance, suspense. Not a stone unturned 5 stars. Excellent book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Can't wait to read the new series!

I loved the story! Laura Andersen wove a wonder ful alternative to the history of England's most interesting family. Present monarchy excepted.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great trilogy enjoyed it thoroughly

Nice twist at the end. Has you asking for more
Love the setting and speculation in tumultuous times

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Catherine
  • Decatur, IL, United States
  • 08-01-14

Royals Behaving Weirdly

Usually, I like alternative history. One of my favorite "what ifs" concerns Henry VIII. What if Catherine of Aragon's son had lived, etc. This is a lousy trilogy. I agree with the review who said the author suffers from Mary Sue syndrome: the lead character is her wish-fulfillment. If the story had been about four random people it would have been silly enough. To have Henry IX suffering love-madness and ruining his kingdom for this Mary Sue is ridiculous. Side characters behave in unnatural ways and the author makes the Odyssey seems sane by comparison to her lovers' travails. Anyone who gives this 4 or 5 stars is an idiot. I will never trust reader's reviews again. I trusted the ones who said "the third book of this trilogy is the best". Boo Hiss!

2 of 4 people found this review helpful