Your audiobook is waiting…

The Blinds

A Novel
Narrated by: Stephen Mendel
Length: 10 hrs and 46 mins
4 out of 5 stars (87 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

For fans of Cormac McCarthy, Jim Thompson, the Coen Brothers, and Lost

Imagine a place populated by criminals - people plucked from their lives, with their memories altered, who've been granted new identities and a second chance. Welcome to The Blinds, a dusty town in rural Texas populated by misfits who don't know if they've perpetrated a crime or just witnessed one. What's clear to them is that if they leave, they will end up dead.

For eight years Sheriff Calvin Cooper has kept an uneasy peace - but after a suicide and a murder in quick succession, the town's residents revolt. Cooper has his own secrets to protect, so when his new deputy starts digging, he needs to keep one step ahead of her - and the mysterious outsiders who threaten to tear the whole place down. The more he learns, the more the hard truth is revealed: The Blinds is no sleepy hideaway. It's simmering with violence and deception, aching heartbreak, and dark betrayals.

©2017 Adam Sternbergh (P)2017 HarperCollins Publishers

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    24
  • 4 Stars
    37
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    32
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    12
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    26
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    1
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

What a find!

Great yarn! After ten years and hundreds of stories, I was beginning to think there were no more good books to be found here on Audible. It's so good to be proven wrong.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Get the print edition

I have no idea how he managed to do it, but the narrator gave everything but dialogue inflection. Pretty much all spoken dialogue was said flatly with no care to circumstance or emotional state, making every character sound drugged and boring. tense arguments where lives are on the line, moments of panic and anguish are stated the same way as talks of the weather. I'm sure the story would have come across far better with even a little animation to character voices.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Sternbergh is 3 for 3 with me

A really cool blend of mystery, noir, thriller with some neat psychological Prisoner-esque mind “buckery”.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic! Wonderful.

Great audiobook! Kept listening and listening. Hard to put down. Great performance and solid story.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful