Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Assignment  By  cover art

The Assignment

By: Liza Wiemer
Narrated by: Emily Lawrence, Lincoln Hoppe, Julia Whelan, Andrew Eiden, Liza Wiemer, Full Cast
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $22.50

Buy for $22.50

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

A Sydney Taylor Notable Book

Inspired by a real-life incident, this riveting novel explores discrimination and antisemitism and reveals their dangerous impact.

Would you defend the indefensible?

That's what seniors Logan March and Cade Crawford are asked to do when a favorite teacher instructs a group of students to argue for the Final Solution - the Nazi plan for the genocide of the Jewish people. Logan and Cade decide they must take a stand, and soon their actions draw the attention of the student body, the administration, and the community at large. But not everyone feels as Logan and Cade do - after all, isn't a school debate just a school debate? It's not long before the situation explodes, and acrimony and anger result.

Based on true events, The Assignment asks: What does it take for tolerance, justice, and love to prevail?

"An important look at a critical moment in history through a modern lens showcasing the power of student activism." (SLJ)

©2020 Liza Wiemer (P)2020 Listening Library

Critic reviews

“A good choice for fans of Angie Thomas’s The Hate U Give and Nic Stone’s Dear Martin.” —School Library Journal

“A riveting, important, and thought-provoking read. Unputdownable and unforgettable.” —Leah Cypess, author of The Death Sworn series

“This fast-paced novel will keep readers thoroughly engaged. An important plot-driven story about two teens who stand up for what’s right in the face of adversity.” —Kirkus Reviews