Your audiobook is waiting…

The Argument

A Gripping Psychological Thriller with an Incredible Twist
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Length: 7 hrs and 52 mins
4 out of 5 stars (117 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

It happens to every mother. One day, the daughter whose whole world you once were, becomes someone you barely know. And you don’t know the secrets she’s hiding....

One hot summer night, 15-year-old Olivia comes home late from a party she was strictly forbidden from going to, and she and her mother, Hannah, start arguing. Soon Olivia speaks the words that every parent has heard from their teenage child:

"I hate you. You’ve ruined my life. And I’m never speaking to you again."

Olivia has never been an easy child, a sharp contrast to her easy-going, happy-go-lucky little sister. But Hannah thinks Olivia’s outburst is the end of a normal family argument. In fact, it’s only the beginning of a nightmare....

After one day of silence, Hannah thinks Olivia is taking a teenage sulk too far. After two days, she starts to feel anxious that something more serious could be going on. After a week, when her daughter still hasn’t spoken, Hannah knows that Olivia is hiding a bigger darkness - something that could threaten to tear their precious family apart....

The Argument is a psychological thriller that asks how far we can push our families before they finally break. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, The Woman in the Window, and The Silent Patient.

©2019 Victoria Jenkins (P)2019 Bookouture

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    44
  • 4 Stars
    35
  • 3 Stars
    26
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    54
  • 4 Stars
    30
  • 3 Stars
    18
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    3

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    35
  • 4 Stars
    32
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    7
  • 1 Stars
    7

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

really different!

I didn't know what to expect with this book but it far exceeded my expectations! Not your typical physco thriller. Great character development and the ending tied up things nicely.

9 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

mmmmmkay

I wanted to like this book.
I’m starting to notice a trend with the “mystery” genre. There’s either mild or dramatic character development and you think something crazy is gonna happen or a wild twist is coming but then it ends.
Hey. Don’t do that. Don’t begin to tell me a story then basically end it with “well anyways, that’s what happened “

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Nothing - It was Nothing

I can't give away any spoilers because there weren't really any to give away. It could have been a good story - the idea was there for a good story, but it just didn't try. It was odd and not in a good way. I felt sorry for the story because it really had the chance to be great, but it gave up on it'self.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whoa, that ending!

Love Allison Campbell- great narrator!! The story drags on a bit at first. The ending was shocking and not predictive! Great book!!

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Another amazing book by this author!!! Loved it as much as The Divorce!! Great book!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Over melodramatic

I could not even listen to the end - this story was over-dramatic, repeative and devoid of any finess! I found it jerky, with the points laboured like an instructional video for identifying abused children!

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

overcharged!!!

Bought the book but did not realize I had to buy audible. Have read book. Do not want to be charged for audible!!!!!!

2 people found this helpful

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Emma Milburn
  • Emma Milburn
  • 01-06-20

very very slow

Was so disappointed with this story. Yes the twist was massive but I think should have been brought out earlier in the story with more detail on the consequences.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Patsy
  • Patsy
  • 01-10-20

slow paced

struggled with the pace of this book and found the ending a bit disappointing unfortunately

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for jayne lewis
  • jayne lewis
  • 12-27-19

Good twist but slow to start

I loved the twist but I spend the first fours hours of listening waiting for something to happen. It took far too long to get going but the last few hours were very good.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jye
  • Jye
  • 12-25-19

Boring!

I persevered until chapter 5 but decided I had better things to do than listen to this book! Dull story,very slow and narrator did not help! Returned .

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for MissyG
  • MissyG
  • 01-16-20

Awful

I bought this as a recommended for you , in a hurry to listen to on a long drive . It was very dangerous for all the wrong reasons I really tried but by chapter 17 I wanted to throw myself out of the car and just wished for another character to come in and kill em all including the narrator whose voice droned on and on and on . Awful story badly put together I want my credit back 😩

1 person found this helpful