• The Argument

  • A Gripping Psychological Thriller with an Incredible Twist
  • By: Victoria Jenkins
  • Narrated by: Alison Campbell
  • Length: 7 hrs and 52 mins
  • 3.9 out of 5 stars (289 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Argument  By  cover art

The Argument

By: Victoria Jenkins
Narrated by: Alison Campbell
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

It happens to every mother. One day, the daughter whose whole world you once were, becomes someone you barely know. And you don’t know the secrets she’s hiding....

One hot summer night, 15-year-old Olivia comes home late from a party she was strictly forbidden from going to, and she and her mother, Hannah, start arguing. Soon Olivia speaks the words that every parent has heard from their teenage child:

"I hate you. You’ve ruined my life. And I’m never speaking to you again."

Olivia has never been an easy child, a sharp contrast to her easy-going, happy-go-lucky little sister. But Hannah thinks Olivia’s outburst is the end of a normal family argument. In fact, it’s only the beginning of a nightmare....

After one day of silence, Hannah thinks Olivia is taking a teenage sulk too far. After two days, she starts to feel anxious that something more serious could be going on. After a week, when her daughter still hasn’t spoken, Hannah knows that Olivia is hiding a bigger darkness - something that could threaten to tear their precious family apart....

The Argument is a psychological thriller that asks how far we can push our families before they finally break. Perfect for fans of Gillian Flynn, The Woman in the Window, and The Silent Patient.

©2019 Victoria Jenkins (P)2019 Bookouture

What listeners say about The Argument

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    106
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    70
  • 2 Stars
    20
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    36
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    89
  • 4 Stars
    71
  • 3 Stars
    61
  • 2 Stars
    21
  • 1 Stars
    12

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Different!

I love when my jaw drops and stays that way. Did NOT see that coming. I can't say much, don't want to spoil that feeling for anyone else. The Story was great, it was a fast easy read. Great narrator. Can't decide if I was a fan of the short and simple, not too many details writing or not. I can't tell you where the main characters live, work or what their hair color is, so there isn't a good picture in my mind, but I guess I didn't need those details to enjoy the story.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Initially gripping thriller

I really enjoyed the fast-paced, engrossing content of this "gripping psychological thriller" until I reached the "incredible twist" around the 6-hour mark. At that point, the storyline seemed to change direction so abruptly that I felt disengaged. The remaining tale exceeded my ability to suspend disbelief. Victoria Jenkins, you're a gifted writer--why spoil your work with a silly twist? Overall rating: 3.5 stars rounded up.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

meh ..good twist half way through, but...

just so-so. ok story but wish I would've spent my credit on something that was deeper, Twist was OK but not stunning

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

Another amazing book by this author!!! Loved it as much as The Divorce!! Great book!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

a good choice

with a run the of just over 7 hours this was a book we finished in three sittings.
The beginning of the book was a little hard to follow with multiple secrets being kept from the reader. Not until over halfway through the book did any of the set up start to pay off.

The end twist is quite good but could be seen once the secrets were clarified.
All in all a good choice.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Nothing - It was Nothing

I can't give away any spoilers because there weren't really any to give away. It could have been a good story - the idea was there for a good story, but it just didn't try. It was odd and not in a good way. I felt sorry for the story because it really had the chance to be great, but it gave up on it'self.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Whoa, that ending!

Love Allison Campbell- great narrator!! The story drags on a bit at first. The ending was shocking and not predictive! Great book!!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

6 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

really different!

I didn't know what to expect with this book but it far exceeded my expectations! Not your typical physco thriller. Great character development and the ending tied up things nicely.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

14 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

What was the