Your audiobook is waiting…

The Agora Letters: 19th Century Historical Murder Mysteries

Narrated by: Clay Boutwell
Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
4 out of 5 stars (12 ratings)
Regular price: $19.95
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

Carl Brooke, a scholar of ancient Near Eastern languages, now spends his twilight years chronicling the adventures of his youth as a leading member of the Agora Society, a society dedicated to the betterment of man.

Fans of Sherlock Holmes or Hercule Poirot will enjoy Carl Brooke and his Agora Society in these five very different cases.

This collection includes five complete stories in the Agora Mystery Series:

1) Two Tocks Before Midnight
The Strange Affair of October 24, 1859: When a flurry of forgeries appear in museums and among collectors, the members of the Agora, a society dedicated to the betterment of man, take it upon themselves to stop the rogues.

2) The Penitent Thief
A string of thefts ends in a grisly murder. Certain evidence leads Captain Barnwell to suspect a former thief, Rutherford Nordlinger, as the culprit. Carl Brooke becomes personally involved as Nordlinger's guilt is questioned.

3) The Peace Party Massacre
Kidnapped! An honorable man has gone missing, and his wife is not in the least helpful. The sheriff dithers, and every day brings death closer to a reality.

4) The Curse of the Mad Sheik
Murder and intrigue abound. At the center of it all appears a mysterious sheik and his cursed ruby.

5) The Captain's Play
Captain Barnwell, a longtime honorary member of the Agora Society, presents to the members a solved case one clue at a time. Three suspects. One murderer. Who is the murderer and why?

©2017 Clay Boutwell (P)2018 Clay Boutwell

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    6
  • 4 Stars
    5
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    8
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    7
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KD
  • Somewhere
  • 11-02-18

Short story collection, goes from good to great.

each story has a varying degree of quality. it is however still collection. None of them are bad infact all of the them are quite goood.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A Good read / listen

The Agora Letters: 19th Century Historical Murder Mysteries.. Great entertainment, a collection of cases from the Agora society. Well written and thought out, though as a Sherlock Holmes fan I do find them a little simplistic. But a great read none the less.
Clay Boutwell the author also narrated this book - and it is excellent and easy to listen to, he is obviously also a talented narrator.
I was given a free copy of this audiobook at my own request, and voluntarily leave this review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Welby
  • Goodyear, AZ, United States
  • 12-18-18

entertaining, not draining

The Agora Letters is written as a collection of short memoirs of Carl Brooke focusing on his work with the Agora Society. The Society is something of a think-tank and gentleman's club, dedicated to bettering humanity, operating around the time of the American Civil War. Each short story works as a stand-alone mystery while also building a cast of characters and a larger story arc. While the mysteries may not have been terribly mysterious, I found the prose and stories to be satisfying and even a bit restorative. I have high hopes for the next volume(s).

Mr. Boutwell read this audiobook himself, which gave me pause. Author narrated books can be pretty dreadful, but I listened to the sample (and then the whole book) and found Clay Boutwell's voice rather well suited to reading these stories.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Agora Leters

This is an excellent collection of short stories written in retrospective sleuth style. Clay Boutwell is a fine narrator as well as author. I was given this book by the narrator,author or publisher free for an honest review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sherlock Holmes-type mysteries!

Brilliantly written! Twists and turns hold your attention through all of the different stories!

Clay Boutwell did an excellent job of narrating. Knew his characters well.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A charming period mystery!

Wow, I am so impressed that the author also narrated this book because he performed it so perfectly that it’s clear he’s an extremely gifted artist in both writing & performing. If you are an Agatha Christie fan (Poirot) you will adore this series. You get 5 stories in this collection & the most charming part of it is that it’s being told by a senior who is re-living stories of his youth as part of the Agora Society. Each story is its own capsule story & is well rounded and jam packed full of intrigue and fun! If you enjoy period stories & mystery then you are in for a real treat with this series! I received this book and gave my honest review.

1 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

5 detective stories

There are 5 short stories in this Volume 1 of the Agora Letters, it is nicely narrated by the author. There is a nice variety of mysteries to attempt to solve, the last one being my favorite. I was gifted a copy of the audiobook in exchange for an honest review.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An enjoyable read

My first read from author Clay Boutwell. I'd gotten this Kindle book a year ago & never got around to reading it, but upon acquiring the Audible edition and being able to read along with the excellent narration I read it. Reminiscent of Sherlock Holmes with voice inflections reminiscent of Sean Connery this was a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable read! Perhaps even better than the first Agora Mystery was my second read from author Clay Boutwell. I'd gotten this Kindle book back in September of last year & never got around to reading it, but upon acquiring the Audible edition and being able to read along with the excellent narration I read it. Reminiscent of Sherlock Holmes with voice inflections reminiscent of Sean Connery this was a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable read!
My third read from author Clay Boutwell I'd gotten this Kindle book back in September of last year & never got around to reading it, but upon acquiring the Audible edition and being able to read along with the excellent narration I read it. Reminiscent of Sherlock Holmes with voice inflections reminiscent of Sean Connery this was a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable read!
Reminiscent of Sherlock Holmes with voice inflections reminiscent of Sean Connery this was a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable read, Mm fourth from author Clay Boutwell I'd gotten this Kindle book back in September of last year & never got around to reading it, but upon acquiring the Audible edition and being able to read along with the excellent narration I read it.
Perhaps the best of the Agora Mysteries this was my fifth read from author Clay Boutwell. I'd gotten this Kindle book back in September of last year & never got around to reading it, but upon acquiring the Audible edition and being able to read along with the excellent narration I read it. Reminiscent of Sherlock Holmes with voice inflections reminiscent of Sean Connery this was a well-written, thoroughly enjoyable read! (RIP Marley January 20, 2014 - July 24, 2018).

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Kira
  • Upstate NY
  • 10-11-18

Great stories, pretty good narration

Great stories, pretty good narration.
I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Norma Miles
  • 10-19-18

Lies, jealousies, death.

A delightful collection of five short mysteries recounted by the last surviving member of the Agora Society, Carl Brooke, of strange happenings in it's history and crimes solved. With a style similar to that of Dr.Watson in the Sherlock Holmes stories, the reader is taken through the processes of describing the crime itself and then the methods of it's solving.

In Two Ticks Before Midnight, Charles Tock, one of the members of the Agora goes missing for a six month period, then returns unexpectedly with a companion and an ancient scroll. It is this that launches the unpleasant and murderous circumstances recorded.

The Penitent Thief has a reformed burglar accused of murder. Everything points to his guilt but he says he didn't do it.

The Peace Party Massacre provides an introduction to Thomas Drake, and a missing man whilst The Case of the Mad Sheik tells the classic tale of transformation after a man comes into possession of a mysterious jewel.

But of all the stories, perhaps this reader's favourite is the final offering, The Captain's Play, in which the police officer who becomes an honorary member of the club, tells the members about one of his cases and invites them, through question and answer, to determine which of the three suspects was the murderer: a great opportunity to match our own detection abilities against those of the society.

Beautifully written in the first person and read with clarity and character by the author himself, this is the perfect book to gently exercise the mind whilst filling in empty hours. My thanks to the rights holder for gifting me a complimentary copy of The Agora Letters, at my request, via Audiobook Boom. It was a pleasure to hear.