• The Agora Letters: 19th Century Historical Murder Mysteries

  • By: Clay Boutwell
  • Narrated by: Clay Boutwell
  • Length: 6 hrs and 54 mins
  • 4.3 out of 5 stars (21 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
The Agora Letters: 19th Century Historical Murder Mysteries  By  cover art

The Agora Letters: 19th Century Historical Murder Mysteries

By: Clay Boutwell
Narrated by: Clay Boutwell
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $17.99

Buy for $17.99

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's summary

Carl Brooke, a scholar of ancient Near Eastern languages, now spends his twilight years chronicling the adventures of his youth as a leading member of the Agora Society, a society dedicated to the betterment of man.

Fans of Sherlock Holmes or Hercule Poirot will enjoy Carl Brooke and his Agora Society in these five very different cases.

This collection includes five complete stories in the Agora Mystery Series:

1) Two Tocks Before Midnight
The Strange Affair of October 24, 1859: When a flurry of forgeries appear in museums and among collectors, the members of the Agora, a society dedicated to the betterment of man, take it upon themselves to stop the rogues.

2) The Penitent Thief
A string of thefts ends in a grisly murder. Certain evidence leads Captain Barnwell to suspect a former thief, Rutherford Nordlinger, as the culprit. Carl Brooke becomes personally involved as Nordlinger's guilt is questioned.

3) The Peace Party Massacre
Kidnapped! An honorable man has gone missing, and his wife is not in the least helpful. The sheriff dithers, and every day brings death closer to a reality.

4) The Curse of the Mad Sheik
Murder and intrigue abound. At the center of it all appears a mysterious sheik and his cursed ruby.

5) The Captain's Play
Captain Barnwell, a longtime honorary member of the Agora Society, presents to the members a solved case one clue at a time. Three suspects. One murderer. Who is the murderer and why?

©2017 Clay Boutwell (P)2018 Clay Boutwell

What listeners say about The Agora Letters: 19th Century Historical Murder Mysteries

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    12
  • 4 Stars
    7
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    14
  • 4 Stars
    4
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    1
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    13
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    0
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

entertaining, not draining

The Agora Letters is written as a collection of short memoirs of Carl Brooke focusing on his work with the Agora Society. The Society is something of a think-tank and gentleman's club, dedicated to bettering humanity, operating around the time of the American Civil War. Each short story works as a stand-alone mystery while also building a cast of characters and a larger story arc. While the mysteries may not have been terribly mysterious, I found the prose and stories to be satisfying and even a bit restorative. I have high hopes for the next volume(s).

Mr. Boutwell read this audiobook himself, which gave me pause. Author narrated books can be pretty dreadful, but I listened to the sample (and then the whole book) and found Clay Boutwell's voice rather well suited to reading these stories.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • KD
  • 11-02-18

Short story collection, goes from good to great.

each story has a varying degree of quality. it is however still collection. None of them are bad infact all of the them are quite goood.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A charming period mystery!

Wow, I am so impressed that the author also narrated this book because he performed it so perfectly that it’s clear he’s an extremely gifted artist in both writing & performing. If you are an Agatha Christie fan (Poirot) you will adore this series. You get 5 stories in this collection & the most charming part of it is that it’s being told by a senior who is re-living stories of his youth as part of the Agora Society. Each story is its own capsule story & is well rounded and jam packed full of intrigue and fun! If you enjoy period stories & mystery then you are in for a real treat with this series! I received this book and gave my honest review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Five Stories, Five Mysteries

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and have voluntarily left this review.

These series of five detective stories in the Agatha Christy's genre, but much more simplistic, are a quick and light read that will not leave you disappointed. The plots are not all of that convoluted but they bring to mind a more direct approach to the detective stories of the the past. I found them refreshing and enjoyed the narrative. An interesting aspect is that while the situations changed with each story, the Agora Society group of characters was a constant. The society's members used their notable intellect and expertise to solve the diverse mysteries. The very last story turns out to be somewhat of a test to their deductive abilities presented by the police inspector. He describes to them a case he was involved in that has already been solved, in order to see if and how they would reach its solution. The author also narrated the stories and for once it did work. A good light listening experience I'm sure you'll enjoy.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Intriguing stories

The Angora Letters was an intriguing collection of stories. I really liked it. It reminded me of Sherlock Holmes stories

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

An interesting collection of period mysteries

The Agora Letters are an interesting collection of period mysteries taking place in the US in the late 1800s. The stories should appeal to fans of Sherlock Holmes and similar mysteries.

The author does a good job narrating his book.

I received a complimentary copy of this audiobook. This is my honest and voluntary review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The Agora Letters, Volume 1

This is a collection of five short mysteries. Each mystery is a stand-alone and kept my interest throughout.

The author, Clay Boutwell, did a nice job with the writing as well as the narrating. I look forward to reading future volumes of The Agora Letters.

I was given this free review copy audiobook at my request and I have voluntarily left this review.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Great Read

The Agora Letter: 19th Century Historical Murder Mysteries: Volume One was a good set of short stories by Clay Boutwell. This box set follows members of the Agora society, a society that is dedicated to the betterment of man. It consists of; Two Tocks Before Midnight, The Penitent Thief, The Peace Party Massacre, The Curse of the Mad Sheik and The Captain's Play. I can't wait to read more of the Agora Society mystery series.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Gorgeous Mysteries

Listening to these stories is a fantastic experience. You can almost feel as though you have traveled back in time, and Carl Brooke himself is telling you his stories. The storytelling is simply fantastic, both from the writing of the stories themselves, and from the author narrating his own brilliant works.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Mashup

If Edgar Allan Poe and Sir Arthur Conan Doyle were to collaborate, one might get the placid nature of Watson, the complex brain of Holmes, and the twisted plots of Mr. Poe nicely wrapped up in this little collection of short stories. The author's own excellent narration brings another level of enjoyment.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!