We are currently making improvements to the Audible site. In an effort to enhance the accessibility experience for our customers, we have created a page to more easily navigate the new experience, available at the web address www.audible.com/access .
 >   > 
Anna and the Swallow Man Audiobook

Anna and the Swallow Man

Regular Price:$28.00
  • Membership Details:
    • First book free with 30-day trial
    • $14.95/month thereafter for your choice of 1 new book each month
    • Cancel easily anytime
    • Exchange books you don't like
    • All selected books are yours to keep, even if you cancel
  • - or -

Publisher's Summary

Winner of the 2017 Odyssey Award for Excellence in Audiobook Production
A New York Times Bestseller
A Booklist Editors' Choice Audio
An AudioFile Best Audiobook of the Year
A Publishers Weekly Best Book of the Year
A Shelf Awareness Best Book of the Year
A Bulletin Blue Ribbon Book
Winner of the Indies Choice Book Award
Winner of the Sydney Taylor Book Award

"Exquisite." —The Wall Street Journal

"This is masterly storytelling." —The New York Times Book Review

A stunning, beautiful, and ambitious debut novel set in Poland during the Second World War perfect for readers of All the Light We Cannot See and The Book Thief.

Kraków, 1939. A million marching soldiers and a thousand barking dogs. This is no place to grow up. Anna Łania is just seven years old when the Germans take her father, a linguistics professor, during their purge of intellectuals in Poland. She's alone.

And then Anna meets the Swallow Man. He is a mystery, strange and tall, a skilled deceiver with more than a little magic up his sleeve. And when the soldiers in the streets look at him, they see what he wants them to see.

The Swallow Man is not Anna’s father—she knows that very well—but she also knows that, like her father, he's in danger of being taken, and like her father, he has a gift for languages: Polish, Russian, German, Yiddish, even Bird. When he summons a bright, beautiful swallow down to his hand to stop her from crying, Anna is entranced. She follows him into the wilderness.

Over the course of their travels together, Anna and the Swallow Man will dodge bombs, tame soldiers, and even, despite their better judgment, make a friend. But in a world gone mad, everything can prove dangerous. Even the Swallow Man.

Destined to become a classic, Gavriel Savit's stunning debut reveals life's hardest lessons while celebrating its miraculous possibilities.

©2016 Gavriel Savit (P)2016 Listening Library

What the Critics Say

"Allan Corduner's deep voice pairs well with the graceful, intelligent prose in this mesmerizing account.... Corduner's elegant, discreet voicing and measured pacing keep listeners focused on the three main characters in a wrenching coming-of-age story that will appeal to adults as well as thoughtful mature teens." (AudioFile)

What Members Say

Average Customer Rating

4.2 (713 )
5 star
 (347)
4 star
 (239)
3 star
 (97)
2 star
 (18)
1 star
 (12)
Overall
4.1 (658 )
5 star
 (296)
4 star
 (214)
3 star
 (106)
2 star
 (29)
1 star
 (13)
Story
4.6 (653 )
5 star
 (474)
4 star
 (135)
3 star
 (37)
2 star
 (3)
1 star
 (4)
Performance
Sort by:
  •  
    LOVE_Reading_LOVE_Audiobooks! 02-09-16

    Cassie Martin

    HELPFUL VOTES
    22
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    70
    5
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Depressingly beautiful as WWII stories have to be"

    Depressingly beautiful in the way the best novels about WWII have got to be. The writing is exquisite and the friendship between Anna and the Swallow Man is endearing and the whole language he teaches her in order to survive is a wonderfully clever metaphor for the horrors he fells Anna is still too young to fully comprehend. Actually, when it comes to the Holocaust, no one is older enough to fully comprehend that horror, but we still need to talk and read about it. The new generations can never be apart from it; everyone needs to be reminded of it on a constant basis in order to prevent it from happening again. Especially important in a time when we are seeing all too familiar speeches gathering sympathetic ears around the world, when Hitler-like figures are rising or trying to rise to power in some nations. It is never enough to read about WWII and the toad language may be a good way to approach young minds and bring them to the right side. To make them forever against not only the war but the idea that any human life is better than other or that any group can ever decide who should live or not.

    This is a novel full of surprises, so don't think that it's just another WWII story. There are elements here that are very peculiar, very specific to this setting, to these characters. It is gorgeously written, lyrical and poetical. The audiobook is exquisitely narrated.

    I just felt a bit lost at the end but it's probably my fault. I have some theories about the Swallow Man's identity and importance that I like, so that might be enough. I truly recommend this novel.

    15 of 16 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Cheryl 06-10-16
    Cheryl 06-10-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    8
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    12
    3
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Maybe I'm not smart enough..."

    The ending wasn't an ending - it was like the author just shut off his computer with a "I've done enough" attitude. I prefer to have books with an ending - either good or bad, but an ending

    7 of 7 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Kathleen Cincinnati, OH, United States 03-04-16
    Kathleen Cincinnati, OH, United States 03-04-16 Member Since 2011

    webkat7

    HELPFUL VOTES
    87
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    186
    54
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    7
    12
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Fairy Tale in Hell"

    This book's been hyped pretty hard, and I must say for the most part it deserves it. It's a fairy tale told in the Hell of WWII Poland. Allan Corduner's narration absolutely MAKES the book, especially with the voice of the Swallow Man. I really, really enjoyed this, and while initially the end left me saying "Wait. WHAT?!", the more I think about it, the better I like it.

    12 of 13 people found this review helpful
  •  
    kathleen 02-16-16
    kathleen 02-16-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    85
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    109
    82
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    3
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    " very uunique tale "

    I highly recommend this book. it's kind of a folk tale, exploring the ways humans thrown together bond, lovr and survive., and the grey areas of morality and necessity.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Prettytoyz 02-06-16
    Prettytoyz 02-06-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    10
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    4
    4
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Engrossing"

    This story held me from the very beginning. It's a most wonderful adventure in the darkest of times. And in no small part it was made all the more wonderful by Allan Corduner's fabulous voice and command of languages.
    I was very sorry when it ended. You get very invested in Anna and her Swallow Man. It was tearfully difficult for me to let them go.

    9 of 10 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Ruth Bain 02-11-16
    Ruth Bain 02-11-16

    RueRue

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1521
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    581
    574
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    73
    1
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "another WWII drama"

    The use of WWII as a backdrop is getting a little old ( for me, anyway ) and this well written but rather plotless story isn't really anything new. There are some touching moments, the prose is nice, and the (3) dominant characters are each interesting. Excellent narration. However, there's nothing exceptional, and if you've read " All the Light We Can Not See" this book will be a let down.

    8 of 9 people found this review helpful
  •  
    A. Lindsey 12-20-16
    A. Lindsey 12-20-16 Member Since 2016
    HELPFUL VOTES
    21
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    64
    38
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Well written but plotless and without an ending"
    What did you like best about Anna and the Swallow Man? What did you like least?

    There were some lovely moments, there was some touching prose and the three main characters were engaging.<br/><br/>But, for me, the WWII story is nothing new. It's a very important time in history (we should never forget), but I have read many and will not forget. So, it holds little interest. I had hoped for something with a new perspective, deeper experience.


    What was most disappointing about Gavriel Savit’s story?

    The "none" ending was very unsatisfying.


    Any additional comments?

    The narration was excellent.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Emily - Audible NJ, United States 12-03-16
    Emily - Audible NJ, United States 12-03-16 Member Since 2010

    As an Audible Editor I listen for a living! British classics, YA novels, speculative fiction, and anything quirky, fascinating, or heart-wrenching.

    HELPFUL VOTES
    1480
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    200
    42
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    677
    114
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "Quiet, lovely, and fiercely intelligent"

    When Anna’s father (a linguistics professor in Krakow) is taken by the Nazis, Anna is left to fend for herself. Forming a sort of partnership with a man who like her also speaks innumerable languages, Anna and "the Swallow Man" take to the woods, trying to stay under the radar while the world self-destructs. Comparisons have naturally been made to The Book Thief, and with Allan Corduner at the narrative helm it hits many of the same notes, but Gavriel Savit’s gorgeous debut is perhaps a more finely formed thing. Unlike Zusak’s Liesel, Anna is on the run. While most young girls are trying to find themselves, Anna has learned from the Swallow Man that "to be found is to be gone forever". While a stunningly profound meditation on language as both identity and disguise during wartime, Anna and the Swallow Man also perfectly captures the simple poignancy of a child’s vantage point. This is one of my favorite books.

    3 of 3 people found this review helpful
  •  
    Elizabeth Garber 01-31-16
    HELPFUL VOTES
    7
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    7
    1
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    0
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "one of the best books ever. a new classic!"

    The narrator's voice brought all the languages and characters magically to life. The story unexpectedly surprised me again and again. I couldn't believe someone created so fine a story.

    7 of 8 people found this review helpful
  •  
    James 02-16-16
    James 02-16-16 Member Since 2015
    HELPFUL VOTES
    6
    ratings
    REVIEWS
    20
    2
    FOLLOWERS
    FOLLOWING
    1
    0
    Overall
    Performance
    Story
    "If you loved The Book Thief, you'll enjoy Anna's Story!"

    Impressive debut novel!! I read several reviews that complained about "no plot" - but I disagree whole-heartedly! There is PLENTY of plot & story here ... You just have to know where to looks or it.

    6 of 7 people found this review helpful

Report Inappropriate Content

If you find this review inappropriate and think it should be removed from our site, let us know. This report will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.

Cancel

Thank you.

Your report has been received. It will be reviewed by Audible and we will take appropriate action.