Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts - even as she falls in love with a faerie prince - in this gorgeous debut novel.

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love - and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: For the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

©2017 Margaret Rogerson (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    158
  • 4 Stars
    75
  • 3 Stars
    59
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    181
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    17
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    137
  • 4 Stars
    69
  • 3 Stars
    55
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

Definitely for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black - it reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses crossed with The Darkest Part of the Forest. The romance was definitely rushed, as was the plot, but I loved how much worldbuilding managed to fit into such a short book! The characters were interesting even though some of them fell a bit flat, but overall, I definitely enjoyed this book.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

felt empty and landed flat

I originally bought this book because of the preview and I wanted to know more about the character. However, it was difficult to get through and the main character was tedious at times by trying to "not be like other teenage girls" while still swooning and not doing much that would make a protagonist fall in love.

Overall, the book felt like it lacked more world building and character development/character. I couldn't connect with the hero who felt very flat. While I enjoy a good fairy fantasy, and the premise for describing faries as something outside of the norm, I would have enjoyed a richer story development.

Story overall was at least well written and had a good premise.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended

Fantastic story brought alive by very talented voice actress. I purchased this book after reading Black Witch

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Read!

I haven’t listened to a book that I loved this much in a very very long time. It is an excellent portrayal of Faeries and their mischief and is supported by a wonderfully written, colorful cast of characters. Add on top of that a well paced, well written plot line, and richly Illustrated environments, and you will be in love . I never take the time to write full reviews, but this book is an exception. Julia Whelan does an excellent job narrating, and with such a rich storyline, it was easy for me to fall into the book. I am definitely recommending this book, and I am excited to see what Margaret Rogerson comes up with next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

stunning novel glad I picked it up

such a great listen to only wish that it was longer. Really enjoyed each character as an individual. Not a huge Fairy fan so to have devoured this was huge

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bleeding hearts of the world unite

it was slightly better than what I expected.
A young adult heart throb kind of book.
I like the audible, but not enough to buy the physical book.it was more like giving it a 3.7 star.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Love the characters

This is one of those books I wish I had read instead of listened to. The narrator had a great voice for audiobooks but the voice for the main character in the book, Rook, was pretty bad. Also, the setting was so creative and unique that it requires ALOT of description - sometimes a bit too much.
However on the positive side it was a good story! Creative scenery and I loved the main couple! They had great bantering the story was overall good.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

wonderfully enchanting

I have to say, I am not one for clique romance novels ( especially that of the teen section). However, I found this book yo be captivating and was immediatly drawn into it from chapter one. I adored the fairfolk and their nature, despite being vain and manipulative. And the story was so well described I felt I could see everything that happened as the book went alone. Isabelle's strong, stubborn, yet practical nature left me satisfied since I have quite a hard time listening to heroines make immensely stupid decisions because of love rendering them helpless and useless. Isabelle's character was not that and it left me refreshed to finally meet a female character I could relate to. The only reason I downrated the story to 4 stars was because I felt the ending to be a bit cut off. I would have liked to know how the pair would deal with Isabelle's inevitable mortality but that is just me. I highly encourage young people to read this book (or listen) and see that heroines do not need to be damsels who make stupid mistakes because they are infatuated with another.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

I loved this book, but it skips.

I listened to this book twice. The narrator was amazing, the story unique. But the audible skipped in places.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Fantastic story full of beautiful descriptions!

Would you listen to An Enchantment of Ravens again? Why?

Why I chose this book:
I’ll be honest, I’m totally a “judge a book by its cover” girl, and that cover art is gorgeous. Also, as a person who has a strong interest in European mythologies, particularly Irish, Celtic, and Scottish myths, I was not about to pass this book up.

My Bookish Thoughts:
I will say that I enjoyed parts of this book. I thoroughly enjoyed her writing style. It was quite beautiful and lyrical without wandering into purple prose. Her descriptions were defamiliarizing which created a completely different world for me as a reader.

Even so, I thought this book was a decent attempt for a debut author. The plot was very simplistic—almost painfully so. Maybe it’s because I’m used to reading complex narratives or books with multiple subplots, but An Enchanment of Ravens was a very straight forward story with straight forward characters.

I listened to this book via audio (the narrator is fantastic!), and I finished it in 2 days. I don’t normally finish books that I don’t somewhat enjoy in that small a time period. With that being said, I don’t want to completely crush this book. I will most likely read the next book she publishes (with hopes that it is better than this one), but I can’t bring myself to give this book more than an average rating.

What was the most interesting aspect of this story? The least interesting?

The beautiful descriptions! I will read whatever she writes because of her descriptions alone.

Which character – as performed by Julia Whelan – was your favorite?

Isobel

Was there a moment in the book that particularly moved you?

When the MC was painting

Any additional comments?

Totally worth buying!!!