Regular price: $17.00

Free with 30-day trial
Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts - even as she falls in love with a faerie prince - in this gorgeous debut novel.

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love - and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: For the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

©2017 Margaret Rogerson (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.2 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    108
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    46
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    126
  • 4 Stars
    60
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    5
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4.1 out of 5.0
  • 5 Stars
    95
  • 4 Stars
    52
  • 3 Stars
    43
  • 2 Stars
    12
  • 1 Stars
    3
Sort by:
  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

felt empty and landed flat

I originally bought this book because of the preview and I wanted to know more about the character. However, it was difficult to get through and the main character was tedious at times by trying to "not be like other teenage girls" while still swooning and not doing much that would make a protagonist fall in love.

Overall, the book felt like it lacked more world building and character development/character. I couldn't connect with the hero who felt very flat. While I enjoy a good fairy fantasy, and the premise for describing faries as something outside of the norm, I would have enjoyed a richer story development.

Story overall was at least well written and had a good premise.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Highly recommended

Fantastic story brought alive by very talented voice actress. I purchased this book after reading Black Witch

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Wonderful Read!

I haven’t listened to a book that I loved this much in a very very long time. It is an excellent portrayal of Faeries and their mischief and is supported by a wonderfully written, colorful cast of characters. Add on top of that a well paced, well written plot line, and richly Illustrated environments, and you will be in love . I never take the time to write full reviews, but this book is an exception. Julia Whelan does an excellent job narrating, and with such a rich storyline, it was easy for me to fall into the book. I am definitely recommending this book, and I am excited to see what Margaret Rogerson comes up with next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

Definitely for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black - it reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses crossed with The Darkest Part of the Forest. The romance was definitely rushed, as was the plot, but I loved how much worldbuilding managed to fit into such a short book! The characters were interesting even though some of them fell a bit flat, but overall, I definitely enjoyed this book.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

stunning novel glad I picked it up

such a great listen to only wish that it was longer. Really enjoyed each character as an individual. Not a huge Fairy fan so to have devoured this was huge

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

bleeding hearts of the world unite

it was slightly better than what I expected.
A young adult heart throb kind of book.
I like the audible, but not enough to buy the physical book.it was more like giving it a 3.7 star.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Liked it!

Overall I really liked it! It seems somewhat incomplete at the end as if setting up for a second book. I read some other comments that the characters were a little under developed and would agree. The adventure is quite long and could have been broken down into multiple books to allow for development. Great pace, reader as good. If it doesn't have a sequel I will be really disappointed!

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

An entertaining fae story

What did you love best about An Enchantment of Ravens?

I loved the concept of fae not being able to create anything, and that being a solely human power. It added an interesting element to the power dynamics between the two species.

What did you like best about this story?

The writing was gorgeous, very detailed and atmospheric. This made me very happy to round the rating up. The audiobook narrator did a fantastic job in this as well.

Which character – as performed by Julia Whelan – was your favorite?

I thought that the main character was incredibly well portrayed by the narrator.

Any additional comments?

The romance was cute, but very cliché I must say, which made the plot pretty predictable. All the characters were very interesting and had strong voices.

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Interesting Take on an Old Concept

What did you love best about An Enchantment of Ravens?

There have been a lot of Fae/Human love stories written and they are very often similar in the telling, or at the very least predictable. And while this one did have some of that, there was enough here to make it fresh and interesting.

The author did a nice job of weaving in some of the things we expect from Fae lore while putting her own spin on it. I really enjoyed the idea of craft and how that effects the Fae. I enjoyed how she portrayed the different courts which also felt familiar and yet new. But most of all, I enjoyed the less glamorous portrayal of the Fae and how a human really would interact with them if they were in that situation.

The very basic human needs of Isobel being a completely foreign concept to Rook and how that was dealt with were some of the best moments in the entire book.

At times the love story felt a bit forced, but overall, the discovery of the two characters and the realism of how they had to learn about one another and to trust one another to survive was enough to give this four stars.

What did you like best about this story?

See above

Have you listened to any of Julia Whelan’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

No

Was this a book you wanted to listen to all in one sitting?

No, but I enjoyed it

  • Overall
  • Performance
  • Story

Great story but mediocre performance

The story is very good. I really loved it. The person who read it though was not so good. She made every male character sound almost exactly alike. It was hard to imagine the main male character with the voice that was used cause it really just did not fit at all with how the character was described. I wish I had read it on my own cause it really did ruin the character for me. Other than that, fantastic story!