Regular price: $17.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

A skilled painter must stand up to the ancient power of the faerie courts - even as she falls in love with a faerie prince - in this gorgeous debut novel.

Isobel is a prodigy portrait artist with a dangerous set of clients: the sinister fair folk, immortal creatures who cannot bake bread, weave cloth, or put a pen to paper without crumbling to dust. They crave human Craft with a terrible thirst, and Isobel's paintings are highly prized. But when she receives her first royal patron - Rook, the autumn prince - she makes a terrible mistake. She paints mortal sorrow in his eyes - a weakness that could cost him his life.

Furious and devastated, Rook spirits her away to the autumnlands to stand trial for her crime. Waylaid by the Wild Hunt's ghostly hounds, the tainted influence of the Alder King, and hideous monsters risen from barrow mounds, Isobel and Rook depend on one another for survival. Their alliance blossoms into trust, then love - and that love violates the fair folks' ruthless laws. Now both of their lives are forfeit unless Isobel can use her skill as an artist to fight the fairy courts. Because secretly, her Craft represents a threat the fair folk have never faced in all the millennia of their unchanging lives: For the first time, her portraits have the power to make them feel.

©2017 Margaret Rogerson (P)2017 Simon & Schuster, Inc.

More from the same

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    173
  • 4 Stars
    92
  • 3 Stars
    62
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    202
  • 4 Stars
    84
  • 3 Stars
    19
  • 2 Stars
    9
  • 1 Stars
    1

Story

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    151
  • 4 Stars
    85
  • 3 Stars
    60
  • 2 Stars
    14
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

For fans of Sarah J Maas and Holly Black

Definitely for fans of Sarah J. Maas and Holly Black - it reminded me of A Court of Thorns and Roses crossed with The Darkest Part of the Forest. The romance was definitely rushed, as was the plot, but I loved how much worldbuilding managed to fit into such a short book! The characters were interesting even though some of them fell a bit flat, but overall, I definitely enjoyed this book.

4 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

felt empty and landed flat

I originally bought this book because of the preview and I wanted to know more about the character. However, it was difficult to get through and the main character was tedious at times by trying to "not be like other teenage girls" while still swooning and not doing much that would make a protagonist fall in love.

Overall, the book felt like it lacked more world building and character development/character. I couldn't connect with the hero who felt very flat. While I enjoy a good fairy fantasy, and the premise for describing faries as something outside of the norm, I would have enjoyed a richer story development.

Story overall was at least well written and had a good premise.

6 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Highly recommended

Fantastic story brought alive by very talented voice actress. I purchased this book after reading Black Witch

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Wonderful Read!

I haven’t listened to a book that I loved this much in a very very long time. It is an excellent portrayal of Faeries and their mischief and is supported by a wonderfully written, colorful cast of characters. Add on top of that a well paced, well written plot line, and richly Illustrated environments, and you will be in love . I never take the time to write full reviews, but this book is an exception. Julia Whelan does an excellent job narrating, and with such a rich storyline, it was easy for me to fall into the book. I am definitely recommending this book, and I am excited to see what Margaret Rogerson comes up with next!

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

stunning novel glad I picked it up

such a great listen to only wish that it was longer. Really enjoyed each character as an individual. Not a huge Fairy fan so to have devoured this was huge

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

bleeding hearts of the world unite

it was slightly better than what I expected.
A young adult heart throb kind of book.
I like the audible, but not enough to buy the physical book.it was more like giving it a 3.7 star.

5 of 7 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

beautiful light airy fantasy

This was my first return to fiction in a long time. It was a delightful escape. The characters were charming and sweet. The imagery was stunning and wonderful to contemplate. I hope I get to see it on the big screen some day.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Favorite book ever

This book is amazing. It’s got a good pace, and makes the reader think hard about what they’re reading.

The performance was not bad. I wish there was a little more distinction between the voices, however, I totally understand that the narrator is only one person, with one set of vocal folds.

I doubt there will be one, but I would spend good money for a sequel. Or even a book that talks about the fair folk’s history.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Some damn fine trope subversion

I approach all YA books involving faeries and love interests with a healthy dose of caution- they so often end up trite and repetitive. This book had me pleasantly surprised from start to finish. Very often I found myself having to hold back from frantically Googling and spoiling it for myself just so I could know everything right away because the suspense was killing me. Isobel and Rook were refreshing takes on lead characters- neither perfect, but their flaws both believable and varied. While some elements of the plot did feel slow at places, and there is definitely a point at which the audiobook skips and you have no way of knowing whether or not you missed important information, I still quite enjoyed the experience.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A gentle romance in a fantastical world

I am fine with love-at-first-sight. This is romance in fiction after all. What I don’t like, even in fiction or fantasy, is a ditsy, silly little girl. On the other hand, I am also not a fan of sword wielding, foul mouthed hell cats. No fear in this story on either account. The male protagonist is a gentle soul to boot. Not a lot of action. But the characters keep you intrigued. And the romance is truly heart warming. Feels like they actually care for each other. Since I am reviewing an audiobook, I’d like to confirm that the narrator is exquisite. Unlike a lot of women I’ve heard trying to imitate male characters, she's done a commendable job, and so when things are getting warm between our 2 main characters, one doesn’t cringe listening to the male as though he were in the throes of a bad cold. Perhaps, I wouldn’t have been able to enjoy this type of story as much as I really did, if it hadn’t been for Ms. Whelan’s narration in an audiobook. Nope, I don’t think I would have relished the hard copy as much. Even so, it’s a sweet romance.