Your audiobook is waiting…

Tangerine

Narrated by: Barrie Kreinik, Erin Mallon
Length: 9 hrs and 28 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (801 ratings)
Regular price: $28.51
$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Publisher's Summary

The last person Alice Shipley expected to see since arriving in Tangier with her new husband was Lucy Mason. After the accident at Bennington, the two friends - once inseparable roommates - haven't spoken in over a year. But there Lucy was, trying to make things right and return to their old rhythms. Perhaps Alice should be happy. She has not adjusted to life in Morocco, too afraid to venture out into the bustling medinas and oppressive heat. Lucy - always fearless and independent - helps Alice emerge from her flat and explore the country.

But soon a familiar feeling starts to overtake Alice - she feels controlled and stifled by Lucy at every turn. Then Alice's husband, John, goes missing, and Alice starts to question everything around her: her relationship with her enigmatic friend, her decision to ever come to Tangier, and her very own state of mind.

Tangerine is a sharp dagger of an audiobook - a debut so tightly wound, so replete with exotic imagery and charm, so full of precise details and extraordinary craftsmanship, it will leave you absolutely breathless. 

Optioned for film by George Clooney's Smokehouse Pictures, with Scarlett Johansson to star.

©2018 Christine Mangan (P)2018 HarperCollins Publishers

Critic Reviews

"Narrators Barrie Kreinik and Erin Mallon deliver performances to savor.... As well as vivid portraits of the two women, both actors deliver convincing secondary characters, all wrapped in the exotic scents and sounds of Tangier." (AudioFile)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    174
  • 4 Stars
    211
  • 3 Stars
    222
  • 2 Stars
    111
  • 1 Stars
    83

Performance

  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    283
  • 4 Stars
    203
  • 3 Stars
    150
  • 2 Stars
    58
  • 1 Stars
    49

Story

  • 3 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    154
  • 4 Stars
    181
  • 3 Stars
    191
  • 2 Stars
    125
  • 1 Stars
    98
Sort by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Karen
  • Asheville, NC
  • 03-31-18

Goes downhill

Starts out really good, intriguing. But instead of building, it plummets. The narrator's gaspy, trembling voice for one of the characters drove me nuts.

21 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narration for Lucy is completely ridiculous

This is a mediocre story but would have been at least entertaining enough to get through a commute or the dishes if the narration for Lucy hadn’t been so awful. The beginning of every chapter is quite comical with the narrator spitting out the first few lines in her “sinister” voice. I would not recommend this recording.

26 of 27 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Mr Ripley it ain't

rater than this reread Highsmith's The Talented Mr Ripley or if you haven't read it do that instead.. the talented Ms Highsmith knows how to twist and turn and make you feel just a wee bit uneasy and uncomfortable.. this one not so much.. going back

9 of 9 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A stylish slow burn.

For a few gray days this winter, I was catapulted from the Northeastern drizzle to the sultry, swarming streets of 1950s Tangier. It’s not easy to describe such dazzling exoticism (from the midcentury Western perspective, anyway) without resorting to cliché, but nailing the setting is something Patricia Mangan’s first novel does with aplomb. Mangan’s doctoral thesis was in Gothic literature, and that defining sense of romantic terror drives the tale of two young women, Alice and Lucy, who meet in Morocco after a mysterious disaster at their Vermont college rips apart their close friendship. The dual perspectives—of the upper-crust, angst-ridden Alice, and of the pluckier, yet menacing Lucy—are masterfully narrated by Barrie Kreinik and Erin Mallon, making Tangerine especially perfect to devour in audio. Mangan keeps you guessing as identities shift and swap, in the style of Bergman’s Persona, spinning a tale of psychological obsession that’s perfect for fans of The Talented Mister Ripley and Rebecca. More literary noir than explosive thriller, Tangerine is a slow burn with a heart of seduction.

64 of 72 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Ohhh so dreadful

Slow, predictable and boring. Can't believe the hype over this book. Not worth a credit.

20 of 22 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Listened to it all but disliked it immensely

There is not a single likable character in this book. You really wanted to root for Alice but she was so pathetic and pitiful you just could not.... have some backbone Alice.

For me the ending was a huge disappointment.

18 of 20 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Pontificate

The book is the definition for pontification. Talk about over analyzing every thought, every sight, and sound....ENOUGH!

12 of 14 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Better the devil you know, they say. But remember

Any additional comments?

...it's still the Devil.

"Tangerine" has been among my first acquisitions of books I knew nothing about. As a non-native English speaker, I tend to choose my audiobooks based on how familiar I am with the story just to ease my listening experience. I chose "Tangerine" because I liked the premise of it; the idea of an unreliable narrator in an exotic land sprinkled with the promise of Gothic elements was too alluring for me. Having now finished the audiobook, I say that it's been quite a pleasant experience - in fact, I listened to the book in a day. I liked it, yet, to be honest, it has left me somewhat frustrated. It's hard to give further details without giving away parts of the story, but I will say this, some characters seem "to be born" under a particularly lucky star. But maybe it's just me.

The writing is beautiful, don't get me wrong, and the pace of the novel suited me perfectly. I don't enjoy a book that has a murder every ten pages so I took delight in the slow tension rising across the chapters. Christine Mangan's talent and voice as a writer are powerful enough to create a world which is intoxicating - just as the real Marocco seems to get at times, with all its colours, scents and sounds - and which plays perfectly with Alice's story arc throughout the novel. Of all the characters, Alice is the one I like best, in terms of development and everything that comes with it, for she is complete and, at least, for me has very few questions left. The other characters left me wondering and, as I mentioned before, left me frustrated.

One mention I have to add to this review: the narration is superb! It's been quite a pleasure to listen to this audiobook, for every word and every sentence is uttered with so much elegance that kept me desiring to listen to more and more. I will definitely be looking for more audiobooks read by these narrators.

17 of 21 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

ugghhhh

i tried. i started this book 3 different times, thinking “i’ll just keep going. it’ll get better.” sadly, no. i have 2 hours left on this book & i couldn’t care less about what happens. the characters are beyond boring & unlikeable. the acting is terrible. one sounds on the verge of shaky tears the entire time & the other is sensually surprised. the. entire. time.
please pass this up & move on to something else.

2 of 2 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    2 out of 5 stars

Wish it would have been better

Any additional comments?

I was disappointed in the main character, weak and easily manipulated which made her quite boring after a bit. The story had no surprises, no complex characters, no real plot and a disappointing end. Save your credit by skipping this one.

5 of 6 people found this review helpful