Regular price: $35.00

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

For readers of Philippa Gregory, Paula McLain, and Daisy Goodwin comes a sweeping and powerful novel by New York Times best-selling author Allison Pataki.

Sisi tells the little-known story of Empress Elisabeth of Austria-Hungary, the Princess Diana of her time, in an enthralling work of historical fiction that is also a gripping pause resister.

Married to Emperor Franz Joseph, Elisabeth - fondly known as Sisi - captures the hearts of her people as their "fairy queen", but beneath that dazzling persona lives a far more complex figure. In mid-19th-century Vienna, the halls of the Hofburg Palace buzz not only with imperial waltzes and champagne but with temptations, rivals, and cutthroat intrigue. Feeling stifled by strict protocols and a turbulent marriage, Sisi grows restless. A free-spirited wanderer, she finds solace at her estate outside Budapest. There she rides her beloved horses and enjoys visits from the Hungarian statesman Count Andrássy, the man with whom she's unwittingly fallen in love.

But tragic news brings Sisi out of her fragile seclusion, forcing her to return to her capital and a world of gossip, envy, and sorrow where a dangerous fate lurks in the shadows. Through love affairs and loss, dedication and defiance, Sisi struggles against conflicting desires: to keep her family together or to flee amid the collapse of her suffocating marriage and the gathering tumult of the First World War. In an age of crumbling monarchies, Sisi fights to assert her right to the throne beside her husband, to win the love of her people and the world, and to save an empire. But in the end, can she save herself?

Featuring larger-than-life historic figures such as Bavaria's "Mad King Ludwig" and the tragic Crown Prince Rudolf, and set against many of Europe's grandest sites - from Germany's storied Neuschwanstein Castle to England's lush shires - Sisi brings to life an extraordinary woman and the romantic, volatile era over which she presided.

©2016 Allison Pataki (P)2016 Random House Audio

Critic Reviews

"Pataki simply stuns me with each new book. I savor each page. Sisi is her best yet!" (Kathie Lee Gifford)
"Readers will enjoy the glorious dilemma of whether to turn the pages swiftly, breathlessly following Empress Sisi from one astonishing, heartbreaking adventure to the next, or to linger and luxuriate in Pataki's vivid, sumptuous descriptions of the Habsburg court." (Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times best-selling author of Mrs. Lincoln's Dressmaker)
"This entire novel is irresistible - completely impossible to put down! Pataki reimagines the reign of the 19th-century Princess Diana in this stunning book." (Michelle Moran, internationally best-selling author of Rebel Queen)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    189
  • 4 Stars
    97
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    4

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    200
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    23
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    4

Story

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    177
  • 4 Stars
    86
  • 3 Stars
    37
  • 2 Stars
    8
  • 1 Stars
    4
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!

First, the narrator, Elizabeth Knowelden is very talented which makes this book much better than the first book. I could listen to her read a phone book her voice is so lovely. And she did a great job of changing voices to suit the character in the book. Second, the book is just as well written as the first and was a joy to learn more about beautiful Sisi. Highly recommend this book. To bad the first one can't be rerecorded using this narrator as it would make all the difference but sadly you'll have to suffer through the first one else you will be confused where this one picks up.

5 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

outstanding in every way

Where does Sisi rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

It was rich and full of depth. I was engaged throughout the story. The narrator was superb. Actually - she was the best narrator of all the books I've listen to so far. She was adept at expressing the tones and nuances of all the characters giving them a unique voice. She brought the story to life. This book was well done and very complete.

What was one of the most memorable moments of Sisi?

Sisi death

Did you have an extreme reaction to this book? Did it make you laugh or cry?

I tear slip out a few times.

Any additional comments?

It's a wonderful book.

7 of 8 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

well told story

never heard the story of Empress Elizabeth. well narrated. I wish the author went into more detail about the current day events that led to WW1 and the class warfare. everything was about Sisi which got tiring half way through.

4 of 5 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • JS
  • California
  • 04-09-18

Excellent!

There could not have been a more perfect narrator for this captivating historical piece. I just wish that the first book ‘Accidental Empress’ had been performed by Elizabeth Knowland. Read through Sisi’s eyes, her story is brought to life in every elaborate detail.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Entranced in the Story

This book is well written and well presented by the reader. You are invited into the inner parts of Sisi's life even more so than in the first book. It's enthralling and I couldn't stop listening. It's sad, and raw, and real.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Sisi

The book was interesting. It has a sad ending but is was well written. Good story.

3 of 4 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Interesting historical perspective

This was historically a good book but the story line is missing a punch line and is a bit dry at times.

1 of 1 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved this!!

Not only is the author amazing, but the narrator as well! Had me all caught up in the emotion and made me feel like I Was actually there!

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Jan
  • San Francisco, CA, United States
  • 06-05-16

It helps to have visited Bavaria and Vienna

I fell in love with Sisi when in Vienna where there is a museum devoted to her life, located in the palace. She was so ahead of her time - her life was very tough despite the money and the royal title. The story of her childhood friend "the Mad King" is fascinating, again, especially if you've seen the castle in Bavaria and heard the stories from Germans.

I think most of this is historically accurate, but it will sound like a romance novel to some.

2 of 3 people found this review helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Slightly Less Excellent

Book 2 was slightly less enjoyable then Book 1 (which I rated as excellent) only because it started feeling long towards the end. Perhaps reading them back to back was not the best way to go.

I’m still immensely satisfied overall, and I would like to read a true biography in order whittle-out the dramatized passages.

I would also like to read the biographies of Emperor Franz, Crowned Prince Rudolf and “Mad” King Ludwig; I have a pretty good tourist-acquired knowledge of their lives, but I’d still like to learn more.

3 of 5 people found this review helpful

Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • sandy
  • 04-23-17

Sisi

The overall enjoyment was enriched by a very good narrative, spoiled slightly by a few jumps in the recording

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • esther curry
  • 01-23-17

great story well rwad

sorry that it came to an end but a satisfactory one though , loved it

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Trudi
  • 04-21-16

Beautifully written stirring book

Gorgeously written historic novel. A wonderful mix of fact with sympathetically added fiction. A guess at what might have transpired between the events we know to be true. A lovely book, the writing is beautifully descriptive and emotive - I cried, laughed, and totally loved Sisi. I got a true sense for who she was and how complicated her life was.

Sort by:
  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
  • John
  • 10-06-16

utter garbage don't waste your time - boooo!

why they have to transform perfectly interesting history into dough eyed garbage I don't know