Sharpe's Enemy

Book XV of the Sharpe Series
Narrated by: Frederick Davidson
Series: Richard Sharpe Novels, Book 15
Length: 11 hrs and 11 mins
4.8 out of 5 stars (611 ratings)

Audible Plus

$7.95 a month

Try our newest plan – unlimited listening to select audiobooks, Audible Originals, and podcasts.
You will get an email reminder before your trial ends.
$7.95 a month after 30 day trial. Upgrade or cancel anytime.
Buy for $20.97

Buy for $20.97

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

A band of renegades led by Sharpe's vicious mortal enemy, Obadiah Hakeswill, holds a group of British and French women hostage in a strategic mountain pass. On the other side of the pass, Napoleon's Grande Armie seeks to smash through and crash the British army in Portugal. Outnumbered and attacked from two sides, Sharpe must hold his ground or die in the attempt.
Don't forget to check out the rest of Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe series.
©1984 Rifleman Productions (P)1995 Blackstone Audiobooks

Critic Reviews

"Frederick Davidson performs superbly. The hardness and hauteur of his syllable - precise delivery render well the rigid hierarchies and varied personalities of military life. For fans of the series, Davidson's readings may be definitive." (AudioFile Magazine)

What listeners say about Sharpe's Enemy

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    504
  • 4 Stars
    91
  • 3 Stars
    14
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    1
Performance
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    428
  • 4 Stars
    50
  • 3 Stars
    11
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    403
  • 4 Stars
    73
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars

All around terrific

Wonderful story [but make sure you read this series in order] with lots of good characters, action and plot. The reader [F. Davidson] is perfect for the story and takes the listener along with him. Definitely worth it.

11 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Battle for Portugal

This is book 15 in the Richard Sharpe series. Frederick Davidson does a superb job narrating the story. In this book Cornwell applied a bit more fiction to events than in the other books in the series. The overall battles between Wellesley and Napoleon's army are true but the battle in this story is fiction as was the rescue of the hostages. The band of deserters made up of all the armies in the area was true. Cornwell is the master of battle scene and keeps you on the edge of your seat listening to the book. Great story.

3 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

For fans, 2and most important book.

I see this book as the emotional climax to the Sharpe series, with Waterloo being the climax of the Napoleonic campaigns. If one is only going to read one sharpe novel, any of them will be great. I believe I have read them all, some, as this, many times. Yet, for fans of Sharpe and Harper this should be the next to the last to be read with Waterloo in conclusion. It maters because a mans relationship to his wife is more important than he knows until she dies. When I first read this my wife was alive. Now that a Hegswil, cancer, has taken my wife, I find Sharpe's actions and responses comforting and instructive. Even if one cares not a wit about emotional connections, this book offers a manly balance to something one is likely to care about someday.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Excellent

I have listened to the series in order and while all have been good to very good, this is - in my opinion- the best.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Another great adventure of Major Richard Sharpe

It's great to see Richard Sharpe rise further in the ranks, this time commanding a rag tag battalion of fusiliers and riflemen. The end, though, is so tragic that it almost spoils your flames for everything that Sharpe gained.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Joy of Loss

I have read all of Bernard Cornwells novels. Of them all this is my favorite. Where the proverbial literary hero is humbled and humanized by loss. Outside of Derfel, Richard and Patrick create the most real of people in this amazing fictional tale.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Best yet

Would you listen to Sharpe's Enemy again? Why?

No. It is not practice to ever read a book for a second time. This not school work.

Which scene was your favorite?

I am hard pressed to answer as many were terrific.

If you could rename Sharpe's Enemy, what would you call it?

Loss and Revenge.

Any additional comments?

I have read several in the Sharpe series and found only two not up to par. This was in my view the best yet. While I have skipped around some, I do recommend reading the series in sequence. But, the author does not retell all as filler and so repetition is avoided skillfully. I will do Sword next and cant' wait, especially if it is 1/2 as captivating as Enemy.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Four battles in one great story

Where does Sharpe's Enemy rank among all the audiobooks you’ve listened to so far?

Bernard Cornwell's Sharpe series is simply the best historical action fiction you will find. Sharpe is a British soldier fighting with the Duke of Wellngton's army in Spain against the French. As with all the other books in this series, the story is fast paced, engaging, and a true page turner. Cornwell does his homework, and his books are factually sound and his plots very exciting. If you love action adventure stories, you will love this book, as well as all of the other books in this series.

Who was your favorite character and why?

Sharpe, he is a great combination of James Bond, Dirty Harry, and Rambo.

Have you listened to any of Frederick Davidson’s other performances before? How does this one compare?

Mr. Davidson's performance is superb. You feel like you are sitting in a British pub and listening to a former British soldier who was an eye witness to the action being described.

If you were to make a film of this book, what would the tag line be?

"Before there was Rambo, there was Sharpe"

Any additional comments?

Buy all the books in the series, start from the beginning, and enjoy!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Major Sharpe, a major book in the series

Sharpe gets promoted. Can't believe his luck and then is sent on a real cool mission with nasty bad guys, nice French, bad spy guy, a fool, his wife who is more than just his lady and of course Shape's wife. Harper, Sweat William and Hogan are all there. What a story with a nice change of pace halfway through then a battle and the first story duck tales nicely with the end of the battle. Sharpe does well in his command but he does suffer a great loss which hits him for a six. Shape's nemesis gets his just deserts but there is little joy in this for Sharpe, for as revenge is a dish best served cold, the taste does not wash away the pain. Frederick Davidson does another excellent job narrating this book.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Each book just gets better and better

While I enjoy the TV series and believe that Sean does a great job, the book is so much better kudos to Bernard Cornwell