Sample
  • Secrets of the Dead

  • Detective Robyn Carter Crime Thriller Series, Book 2
  • By: Carol Wyer
  • Narrated by: Emma Newman
  • Length: 10 hrs and 22 mins
  • 4.4 out of 5 stars (502 ratings)

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Secrets of the Dead  By  cover art

Secrets of the Dead

By: Carol Wyer
Narrated by: Emma Newman
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $24.95

Buy for $24.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

Three murders. Three innocent victims. What secrets did they share with their killer?

A bottle of bubble bath and colorful, plastic boats were scattered in small puddles on the floor. In the bathtub lay Linda Upton, fully-clothed, her lips a shade of blue, and her bloodshot eyes wide open.

When a young mother is found drowned in the bath, clutching a receipt saying 'all debts paid', Detective Robyn Carter knows it's just the beginning of a harrowing case. She recognizes the signs of a serial killer, and when a second victim with a receipt is found, her worst fears are confirmed.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

With the local press whipping the public into a frenzy, Robyn is under pressure to solve the crime yesterday. But her team can't find a link between the two bodies, and the cracks are starting to show.

The press call him The Leopard for his stealth, speed, and brutality. Can Robyn stop the most twisted killer of her career before it's too late?

A heart-pounding, toe-curling, one-sitting serial killer thriller that will hook you from the first minute till the last. Perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Rachel Abbott, and Karin Slaughter.

©2017 Carol Wyer (P)2017 Bookouture

What listeners say about Secrets of the Dead

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    276
  • 4 Stars
    157
  • 3 Stars
    50
  • 2 Stars
    15
  • 1 Stars
    4
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    288
  • 4 Stars
    115
  • 3 Stars
    39
  • 2 Stars
    13
  • 1 Stars
    10
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    249
  • 4 Stars
    144
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    16
  • 1 Stars
    5

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Narrator emotes too much

I've probably listened to 20 books read by Scott Brick, and at this point I think I'm done. His style of reading takes me out of the book. He over emphasized too many words and his voice typically rises at the end of sentences. A couple years ago he seemed to have overcome the sing song reading style, but now it's back. I had to return the book and intend to read it instead.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I liked this story

This was not a gripping story but it wasn't gruesome either. A nice narration as well

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

A Bit Wordy & Drawn Out, but a Good Story Overall

The basis of the story has many twists, and comes at the reason for multiple murders from a unique perspective. DI Robyn Carter brings her considerable talents to solving this case, but it becomes more and more difficult to make headway.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Loved it!!!

Another great book from Carol Wyer. She is officially one of my favorite authors. It's not about figuring out who is doing the killing in this book, it's the how and who's next that keeps you intrigued.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Narrator makes book less enjoyable

This is my second Carol Wyer book and is as good as the first--not spectacular, but solid. I love police procedurals set in England and this fits the bill. The detective and her colleagues are believable and for the most part likable; the others who are not meant to be likable are indeed off-putting. But the entire experience is marred by a dreadful narrator. She has the softspoken voice of a kindergarten teacher, not a good fit for reading a police procedural with a reasonably tough female detective as the protagonist. But worst of all is her unfathomable habit of pronouncing the article "a" as a long a (to rhyme with day) the way an insecure second grade reader might. She is capable of using the more typical schwa and does this part of the time as well. I could find no rhyme or reason for her choices and it became quite distracting and annoying. Don't think I can bear another book read by this woman, who otherwise has a pleasant voice, just mixed with bad casting here and a peculiar pronunciation habit.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

LOVE listening to my audible books at night

Love listening to my audible books at night, while in bed. It's like having a bed time story readto you.😊

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Carol Wyer does it again

I am impressed by Wyer’s believable heroine and the web she weaves for her audience that helps you see her as a whole person and the other characters are introduced so well into the story!! Loved it!

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Emotional rollercoaster

This was probably my favorite book of the Robyn Carter series so far. The story is gripping with twists and turns that you won't see coming.

Audible 20 Review Sweepstakes Entry

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars