Regular price: $39.13

Membership details Membership details
  • A 30-day trial plus your first audiobook, free.
  • 1 credit/month after trial – good for any book, any price.
  • Easy exchanges – swap any book you don’t love.
  • Keep your audiobooks, even if you cancel.
  • After your trial, Audible is just $14.95/month.
OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

Destined to become a modern classic in the vein of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Sapiens is a lively, groundbreaking history of humankind told from a unique perspective.

One hundred thousand years ago, at least six species of human inhabited the earth. Today there is just one.

Us.

Homo Sapiens.

How did our species succeed in the battle for dominance? Why did our foraging ancestors come together to create cities and kingdoms? How did we come to believe in gods, nations, and human rights; to trust money, books, and laws; and to be enslaved by bureaucracy, timetables, and consumerism? And what will our world be like in the millennia to come?

In Sapiens, Dr. Yuval Noah Harari spans the whole of human history, from the very first humans to walk the earth to the radical - and sometimes devastating - breakthroughs of the cognitive, agricultural, and scientific revolutions. Drawing on insights from biology, anthropology, paleontology, and economics, he explores how the currents of history have shaped our human societies, the animals and plants around us, and even our personalities. Have we become happier as history has unfolded? Can we ever free our behavior from the heritage of our ancestors? And what, if anything, can we do to influence the course of the centuries to come?

Bold, wide-ranging and provocative, Sapiens challenges everything we thought we knew about being human: our thoughts, our actions, our power...and our future.

©2017 Yuval Noah Harari (P)2017 Penguin Random House Canada

Critic Reviews

"Here is a simple reason why Sapiens has risen explosively to the ranks of an international best seller. It tackles the biggest questions of history and of the modern world, and it is written in unforgettably vivid language. You will love it!" (Jared Diamond, Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Guns, Germs, and Steel, Collapse, and The World Until Yesterday)
" Sapiens is the sort of book that sweeps the cobwebs out of your brain. Its author, Yuval Noah Harari, is a young Israeli academic and an intellectual acrobat whose logical leaps have you gasping with admiration...Harari's writing radiates power and clarity." ( The Sunday Times)

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    236
  • 4 Stars
    28
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2

Performance

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    215
  • 4 Stars
    27
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Story

  • 5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    212
  • 4 Stars
    23
  • 3 Stars
    8
  • 2 Stars
    2
  • 1 Stars
    2
Sort by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

The tree of knowledge

Enlightening, scary, fascinating and humbling. I could go on but there is no point. This book covers so much and yet given the time it covers... Is a precise of humanity. Very well read this should be a text book and required reading for all.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

brilliant

this is one of the best books i have heard. the perspective was refreshing. wonderful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Better if Yuval read it (or read the book yourself

Really great details and insights, if a bit on the dark side. The reader I felt put a spin on the words sometimes that seemed to inject too much of his own opinion. I've heard Yuval speak on these topics before, even the darker comments are supposed to have an earnest energy to go with them, which imparts alarm but also hope. This narration I found instead almost sounded sardonic at times, like coldly flaunting horror over the masses.

Overall still worth a read, but read it yourself I'd suggest.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Very Informative

My wife and I listened to this on a recent road trip and really enjoyed it. It was really informative and covered a lot of interesting material.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Fantastic book.

I loved it. It is hands down the best book I have read/listened to so far

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Every human should read this

This book really does make so many things in our human history very clear and simple and mostly unbiased. I am grateful for having listened to it and I recommend to everyone!

Definitely read this!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Will change your perception on everything

Life as you know it will forever change. Prepare to finally learn the true meaning of life.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

A meta-history of us

I will be digesting this book for years to come. A deeply compelling analysis of our species.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

This is a must read!!

Should be required reading in all schools in all nations. Extremely insightful and thoughtful. Please share!!

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Incredible Book

I picked up this book because it was recommended by Bill Gates on some online website. I didn't expect it to be such a stunning piece of work. The beginning of the book covers an area of human prehistory that is truly fascinating. the latter chapters are not as strong but still great.