Sanditon

Narrated by: Alexandra Roach
Length: 12 hrs and 22 mins
3.5 out of 5 stars (60 ratings)

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

OR
In Cart

Publisher's Summary

In the vein of Downton Abbey, Jane Austen's beloved but unfinished masterpiece - often considered her most modern and exciting novel - gets a spectacular second act in this tie-in to a major new limited television series.

Written only months before Austen's death in 1817, Sanditon tells the story of the joyously impulsive, spirited, and unconventional Charlotte Heywood and her spiky relationship with the humorous, charming (and slightly wild!) Sidney Parker. When a chance accident transports her from her rural hometown of Willingden to the would-be coastal resort of the eponymous title, it exposes Charlotte to the intrigues and dalliances of a seaside town on the make, and the characters whose fortunes depend on its commercial success. The twists and turns of the plot, which takes viewers from the West Indies to the rotting alleys of London, exposes the hidden agendas of each character and sees Charlotte discover herself...and ultimately find love.

©2019 Jane Austen, Kate Riordan (P)2019 Grand Central Publishing

What members say

Average Customer Ratings

Overall

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    25
  • 4 Stars
    15
  • 3 Stars
    6
  • 2 Stars
    6
  • 1 Stars
    8

Performance

  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    31
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    7
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    2

Story

  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    20
  • 4 Stars
    8
  • 3 Stars
    10
  • 2 Stars
    3
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
  • KJ
  • 12-14-19

Good narration

The narrator is good. The story is most definitely NOT the Sanditon novel I read years ago and was hoping to find again. It’s still an ok story, but I wouldn’t call it great, and it doesn’t seem very Austen-ish at all.

7 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Revolting

I, too, thought that Riordan had only written an ending to Jane Austen's unfinished manuscript, "Sanditon." So from the first sentence, I was puzzled by the writing, then dismayed, thinking that Austen must have been very ill to write so poorly at the end of her life. After the utterly absurd sex scene in the garden (seriously? In Regency Britain???), it was screamingly obvious that there was no way this was a Jane Austen work. Sure enough, after much digging, and only from others reviewers, I discovered that this edition of "Jane Austen's Sanditon" is nothing but a revolting rewrite loosely based on the basic plot of the manuscript.
Presumably, those who think Austen's work is what they see on television, think this is a great book, but any who admire and even revere Austen's incomparable writing will be appalled by it--more "50 Shades of Gray" than literature--and outraged on Austen's behalf. It's disgusting that her name is on the cover of this poorly written, melodramatic tripe.
The narration is appropriate to the writing--all breathy emoting--and intensely grating to the ear of anyone anticipating that Austen's discreet wit and wry social observations would be read in a dignified manner.

4 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

So disappointed!

It's not fair for me to compare this book to any other Kate Riordan books since I've not read any others. She seems to have a fair understanding of the Regency era, and if this book hadn't been touted as an "Austen" book... I would have enjoyed it more... perhaps. The thing that was most frustrating to me, an Austen fan, was the NON-Austen ending. Anyway... I guess, I could have forgiven some of the other "un-Austen" subject matters... if I had gotten my "Austen ending."
Anyone who compares this to Pride and Prejudice has not read the book (P&P)... there's no comparison.

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    1 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Read this if you want the opposite of Jane Austen...SHAME!

Thank you, Kate for being to total opposite of Jane Austen! I know in our modern time we are no longer allowed to have happy endings, but Jane Austen’s novels were to be that sanctuary of having a happy ending without judgement. I was willing to forgo the fact that you did not sound, nor think like Jane Austen, but to split more than one set of lovers apart and not give the closer of them getting together is too much to bare. I reject this novel and it would have been better left undone!

2 people found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars

Wonderful beginning...horrible ending!

This story was completely different than any other Jane Austin novel I've ever read I was hooked immediately...that being said, Kate Riordan should be ashamed at the way she finished this story. Ms. Austin never let her readers down, she always gave them a happy ending. Riordan does the exact opposite. I was completely disappointed with the ending and even wondered if there might have been chapters missing. Alas, no, the end was in fact the end. It was nothing like what Ms. Austin would have written and I'm pretty sure she's turning over in her grave. I cannot recommend this to anyone who is even a small fan of Jane Austin. Don't waste your time and money on this, it will only let you down.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars

Not true to Jane Austen

the portrayal of the characters are good. But not true to Jane Austen's usual romantic ending. I'm returning the book. Georgianna's character should've improved more and be able to help the Parkers at the end, not at the expense of Charlotte's happiness.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

dont expect Jane. <br />

I enjoyed this take of Sanditon. its definitely not Jane Austen. I dont believe Austen would like her name taged to this revision. But I see why it's so. it would be plagiarized if they didn't give Austen credit. the author.did their best and it was decently done. I applaud them. it was written for the TV show so it's like reading a script. but overall, very enjoyable.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

Engaging, kind of disappointed

I liked the story but the ending through me off. It was bittersweet and unexpected. I’m crying a bit inside tbh.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Most Varied Romance

Not your typical plot. Well written, well read. Can’t tell you how much I enjoyed it.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Hoping for more

Loved the story, but disappointed in the ending..saw the PBS series and then listened to the book. Hoping someone will take up the torch and continue with this story, we need a better ending.