Sample

Prime logo Prime members: New to Audible?
Get 2 free audiobooks during trial.
Pick 1 audiobook a month from our unmatched collection.
Listen all you want to thousands of included audiobooks, Originals, and podcasts.
Access exclusive sales and deals.
Premium Plus auto-renews for $14.95/mo after 30 days. Cancel anytime.
Rock Paper Tiger  By  cover art

Rock Paper Tiger

By: Lisa Brackmann
Narrated by: Tracy Sallows
Try for $0.00

$14.95/month after 30 days. Cancel anytime.

Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.
activate_primeday_promo_in_buybox_DT

Publisher's summary

American Iraq War veteran Ellie Cooper is down and out in Beijing when a chance encounter with a Uighura member of a Chinese Muslim minority at the home of her sort-of boyfriend Lao Zhang turns her life upside down. Lao Zhang disappears, and suddenly multiple security organizations are hounding her for information. They say the Uighur is a terrorist. Ellie doesn't know whats going on, but she must decide whom to trust among the artists, dealers, collectors, and operatives claiming to be on her side - in particular, a mysterious organization operating within a popular online role-playing game. As she tries to elude her pursuers, shes haunted by memories of Iraq. Is what she did and saw there at the root of the mess she's in now?

©2010 Lisa Brackmann (P)2011 Audible, Inc.

Critic reviews

"[T]he book's exotic setting and tough heroine will definitely appeal to fans of John Burdett and Stieg Larsson." (Publishers Weekly)
“Lisa Brackmann’s novel gets off to a fast start and never lets up…Ellie is a perfect spunky heroine…Be prepared for a wild ride." (The New York Times Book Review)
“Lisa Brackmann’s timely and hip debut novel is a thriller with a plucky heroine, locales actual and virtual, and grounding in the Abu Ghraib scandal… Brackmann can write.” (Boston Globe)

More from the same

What listeners say about Rock Paper Tiger

Average customer ratings
Overall
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    53
  • 4 Stars
    56
  • 3 Stars
    49
  • 2 Stars
    10
  • 1 Stars
    9
Performance
  • 4 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    66
  • 4 Stars
    39
  • 3 Stars
    24
  • 2 Stars
    4
  • 1 Stars
    6
Story
  • 3.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    38
  • 4 Stars
    42
  • 3 Stars
    40
  • 2 Stars
    11
  • 1 Stars
    9

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars

Rock Paper Tiger

Would you recommend this book to a friend? Why or why not?

This is an interesting read, but throughout I just wanted more detail, for the story to go deeper. Such remarkable detail in the "surface" elements, but I would have liked the story to probe the art world, the politics in relations to artists, and how that related to the parallel war story. Fast wrap-up at the ending attempting to tie up all the lose ends.

Not sure I would recommend this book--I just kept wanting more.

If you’ve listened to books by Lisa Brackmann before, how does this one compare?

Very well told in the audio form...

Could you see Rock Paper Tiger being made into a movie or a TV series? Who should the stars be?

Only if they really probed more deeply--I just wanted more--that unfortunate situation where you keep waiting, but it never happens.

Something went wrong. Please try again in a few minutes.

You voted on this review!

You reported this review!