adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT
adbl_ms_membershipImage_includedwith_altText_B076FLV3HT

1 audiobook of your choice.
Stream or download thousands of included titles.
$14.95 a month after 30 day trial. Cancel anytime.
Buy for $19.95

Buy for $19.95

Pay using card ending in
By confirming your purchase, you agree to Audible's Conditions of Use and Amazon's Privacy Notice. Taxes where applicable.

Publisher's Summary

Be careful what you wish for.

When no-nonsense retired Army colonel James Fletcher starts seeing his recently deceased wife around the house again, his friends and family are more than a little worried.

But when James turns up dead, and the accident that killed him is found to be anything but, DCI Harry Grimm and his team must uncover the grisly truth before anyone else falls prey.

In a house torn in two by ghosts and betrayal, Harry may soon find that death isn’t always the end. Sometimes, it’s only the beginning...

Restless Dead is the fifth book in the DCI Harry Grimm crime thriller series, set in the Yorkshire Dales, and perfect for fans of L. J. Ross, J.R. Ellis, Margaret Mayhew, Jeanne M. Dams, J. M. Dalgliesh, Roger Silverwood, J. D. Kirk, Adam Croft, and Simon McCleave.

©2021 David J. Gatward (P)2021 David J. Gatward

What listeners say about Restless Dead

Average Customer Ratings
Overall
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    19
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    2
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0
Performance
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    22
  • 4 Stars
    2
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    1
  • 1 Stars
    0
Story
  • 4.5 out of 5 stars
  • 5 Stars
    18
  • 4 Stars
    6
  • 3 Stars
    1
  • 2 Stars
    0
  • 1 Stars
    0

Reviews - Please select the tabs below to change the source of reviews.

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars

Just superb… again….

The DI Grimm series won me over from the very first line of the very first novel…. I feel invested in these characters and am so pleased to have found this author, this narrator and this series… The settings, the personalities and the storylines are intriguing and only build upon my devotion to them after each… I have relistened to each a few times over and just cherish them all. A narrator can make or break a audiobook for me (well-written or not) and Mr. Parsons does such an incredible job of bringing these characters to life…
Highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars

I love this series

I'm flying through this series. I love the characters. I think I've said that in almost all my reviews of the books in this series. I keep coming back for more about, Harry, Jaden, Matt, Liz, Jim, Fly and Rachel. Small town mysteries. This one has an edge of a ghost story to it.
Harry may have made his decision on whether or not he's going to stay in Wensleydale.
The end is kind of a cliffhanger, but I have the next book ready!

Sort by:
Filter by:
  • Overall
    3 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    3 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Alan Walker
  • Alan Walker
  • 08-11-21

Disappointed

I loved the first 4 books in this series, but found this one very disappointing. Guessed the end very early on, but the whole team failed to spot obvious clues. Written in a hurry maybe? It needed more time and a better plot. Will still look forward to book 6 though.

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Ronnie Ingledew
  • Ronnie Ingledew
  • 07-05-21

Excellent once more

Love these books can’t wait for the next one.
Brilliantly narrated by Aubrey Parsons excellent highly recommended

1 person found this helpful

  • Overall
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    2 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    1 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Jean Mc
  • Jean Mc
  • 09-17-21

Such a disappointment

Having listened the other Grim up North books and loved them I couldn't believe how bad this one was. Unbelievable characters and a tedious plot even the narrator seemed to be struggling more than usual with the Yorkshire accent and managing to mispronounce some quite standard words. The level of idiocy from the young constable would have had Grimm from book one strangling him. Lets hope the next one is back to the previous high standard.

  • Overall
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    5 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Meshell S
  • Meshell S
  • 08-31-21

Enjoyed

Really enjoyed this book. Ending a little packed in. Still good and narration fantastic. Can’t wait for the next book.

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for SandraL
  • SandraL
  • 07-27-21

Wonderful Wensleydale

Another fabulous book in this series, this time Harry and his brother have to decide whether to make Wensleydale their home, or go back 'down South'. There are several storylines including sheep rustling, a fatal car accident and some ghostly goings on. As always the characters are engaging, and the story is interesting and the descriptions of beautiful Wensleydale make me wish I was there. I also enjoy David's notes and explanations at the end of each book.

Fab narration by Aubrey Parsons - he really IS Harry Grimm :-)

  • Overall
    4 out of 5 stars
  • Performance
    5 out of 5 stars
  • Story
    4 out of 5 stars
Profile Image for Kate
  • Kate
  • 07-18-21

Grimm by name but adorable by nature

Another charming trip to the Dales to spend time with Grimm and his colleagues. My only gripe is that I felt it was a bit short. It feels like part one of a two part story. I feel as though I have skipped a few explanatory chapters here and there🤔 But I still enjoyed it.
Oh, and it needed more fruit cake and Wensleydale cheese (other treats are acceptable).
Much as I love the writing, it's Aubrey Parsons narration that makes the books for me! Such a range of accents and tones from gravelly ex soldier, through to cut glahss ladies (spelling mistake was deliberate)and
Get the next one recorded please Aubes 😉😄